We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suited our needs”
Review of Waterfront Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterfront Village
Ranked #70 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Perfect for two couples travelling together,2 bed 2 bath,it was well suited for our needs.A manual with instructions for air con,cook top etc would have been useful and time saving. Location and proximity to points of interest and the HOHO bus pick up point was perfect. The only thing that would of enhanced our stay would have been the convenience of WiFi in the apartment.Staff at the complex were all friendly and approachable.Would recommend if looking for the self catering option although as Australians we found Cape Town remarkably inexpensive so eating out was very cheap.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 666 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

I looked at 3 1-bedroom appartments, 2 in Juliet and Helensee 002. I took the latter which was significantly bigger than the 2 in Juliet, which were quite small.

The location is excellent, but unfortunately management is rather poor. Check in took ages, only one key could be found and reception seemed rather chaotic. I was prepared for this from other TRipAdvisor reports, but it was still a little annoying.

However, the appartment was very good; well fitted and finished - and serviced daily, although tea/coffee were not replenished. The TV selection was pretty poor given the price point of the accomodation.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms first if possible. Rooms higher in the alphabet seem to be newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVillage, Manager at Waterfront Village, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time in giving feedback on your experience of your recent stay with us. My apologies for the lengthy check in procedure and also for only getting 1 key. I will inform the owner of your feedback relating to the selection of TV channels as well. We will ensure our staff gets the necessary training to improve the check-in procedure. We do offer a speedy check-in service for clients who pre-book in advance. This might be an option to look at for a future stay.

Kind regards
Johadrie de Villiers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

As previously I was not escorted by the receptionist to my apartment but rather by a security guard.It was already about 11pm and the lights was not properly prepared and checked....light mains were not on, TV was not working, heaters were not switched on. Lamp shades were missing. We had to fumble around for almost 2 hours before getting settled.
The quality of the apartment was poorer than my previous stay. I booked through bookings.com even though it was cheaper through Agoda as I was prepared to pay for the best. I was certainly disappointed by this. We love this place except in future I will make certain that I get the right apartment and price. Overall great and convenient.

Room Tip: Choose the newer apartments..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Royram53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVillage, Manager at Waterfront Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

thank you for feedback on your recent stay with us. The gentleman that took you to the apartment was not a security guard, but our night receptionist. As all our apartments differ in interior furnishings, and the different blocks do offer different views, you are more than welcome to request a specific block or apartment when making your booking with us, and should it not be available, we can accommodate you in a similar property.

Kind regards
Johadrie de Villiers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great location, walking distance to the Waterfront, two oceans and the Cape Town international convention centre.

Staff are extremely good and the unit was clean and well equipped. What was also great is the units come with a full kitchen which is rare for cape town and the price

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riccardo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVillage, Manager at Waterfront Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your last stay with us. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed all the services and facilities provided. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Johadrie de Villiers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I am all praise about the Waterfront Village. We were in a 2 bedroom apartment ground floor, right in the front, over looking the spectacular boats. We could walk easily and safely to the Aquarium, restaurants, the V and A Waterfront and children's play areas. We opted for an upgrade in accommodation as our dollar is so high, and it was worth it. The staff booked any outings we wanted and made enquiries for airport pick up, taxis, High Teas, rental cars and safaris. We travelled as husband and wife with a 4 year old daughter. I loved having the apartment serviced every day and the security guards always on stand by.

Room Tip: We were in the Penrith building ground floor so we had plenty of outside space for our daughter. Pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVillage, Manager at Waterfront Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear valued guest

Thank you for taking the time in sharig your comments about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with your family and that our staff proved helpful in planning your excursions.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Johadrie de Villiers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Location of my apartment was great, could not have been better. I travelled with a group and my apartment was not up to the standard of my fellow travellers. The shower head was not functioning properly, the tiles were in a bad state of repair and the apartment had an awful smell but overall had everything I needed was there, housecleaning was done daily. Short walk to V & A, very high security. This was sold to me as 5 Star so would be poor value for money.The group of women travelling were spread out over several blocks and therefore very isolating, I was the only one in B Block.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVillage, Manager at Waterfront Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on the recent stay with us. We are aware that the group was not situated in the same buildings, as your group was a bit too big, and we don't manage all the apartments in the buildings you stayed in. We therefore accommodated you in the first 3 buildings (Block A,B,C ) which are all next to each other, for the reason to have you all as close to each other as possible. We do hope that you enjoyed your short stay in Cape Town.

Kind regards
Johadrie de Villiers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

the accomodation is ideal for relaxation and sight seeing in capetown. the outside view presents interesting breath taking especially canal which allow for canoeing and sea activities.
the nearby V&A area is within working distance and a place to visit, eating and to see different live band displays by different band groups. this can be accessed on foot through the back entrance to the village.
the surrounding of other hostels and the nearby CBD is makes it quite accessible. the affordable and reliable taxi services readily available adds to staying here interesting.
Sam

Room Tip: rooms more to the south are closer for access to V&A, resturants and other social amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samuel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#22 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,600 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,820 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#46 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#63 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,076 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,806 reviews
0.4 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#43 of 112 in Cape Town Central
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Village

Address: Mind Pearl House West Quay Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#44 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#60 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $185 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Village 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Village, situated on the water’s edge in the picturesque V&A Waterfront Marina, next to the Cape Grace Hotel and One&Only, offers guests Standard, Luxury and Deluxe apartments offering superior services and facilities. Guests are spoilt for choice with our selection of one to three bedroom apartments, providing a wide selection of accommodation that will suit their individual requirements. Guests will enjoy access to our on-site reception, swimming pools and gym. An abundance of shops and restaurants are available within walking distance. Crafted around tranquil waterways the inspired architecture maximises the panoramic views, creating international desirability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Waterfront Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Village Hotel Cape Town Central
Waterfront Village Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing