We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service”
Review of Waterfront Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waterfront Village
Ranked #69 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“Terrible Service”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very poor management it was the most unpleasant part of my friends stay from the UK i was extremely embarassed as first of all the rooms were not as the photos advertised we were put right at the back of the canal the continued hinderence from security and false accusations for noise when we were out of our rooms and visting the waterfront It took nearly an hour to check us in and then when we arrived at the security gate we sat outside waiting for someone to show us where to go and everyone looks at us as if we stupid and no one bothered to help us and eventually shome guy who was showing a property who doesnt belong to the waterfront village helped us to find our room. it has honestly been the worst stay i've ever had my advice to future travellers stay at a hotel.This was the first and last time we will be staying at the waterfront village and i highly doubt the UK residents will be recommending cape town waterfront village to anyone in the near future.there was no air conditioning and on one of the days in our stay no hot water the fan in the master bedroom turned so slowly no air movement just overall disappointment

Room Tip: Do not stay at the waterfront village service is shocking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark689_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVillage, Manager at Waterfront Village, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Mark689_12

I'm am sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant stay. I was suprised to read that you saw photos of another apartment, when the apartment you stayed in is specifically allocated to the agent you booked through. I will request our sales department to follow up with your agent to find out why you were not given the correct information.

I have taken note on you comment about the check-in, I will take this up with the staff that were on duty.

As for the complaints of noise and disturbance that were made on the last evening of your stay, I do have the security reports documenting the incedents. Upon your check-in you did sign our Conditions of Occupation that states you will be staying in a residential estate and that noise levels are to be maintained and respected. The estate rules are also visible in all the apartments we rent out, and they also point out that noise levels to be respected. Unfortunatley if the security receives a complaint from one of the other apartments they have no choice but to make contact with the guests in the apartment accused of noise to request them to take the noise level down.

We will take all you comments and do our best to improve our service levels, as we do strive to offer all our guests an enjoyable experience.

Should you wish to contact me directly with any questions you might have on the above said, you can email me on manager@waterfrontvillage.com

Kind regards
Johadrie de Villiers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    199
    69
    45
    36
See reviews for
227
226
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was with a large group and we occupied four apartments. The difference in the apartments was huge. I saw three of them and two of those were beautifully furnished and quite comfortable. The one I stayed in was sparse to say the least. It took forever to check in and when we were shown to our room, we were given two keys, and there were three groups of us, all going in different directions very early the next morning. For security, keys are required to get in or out of the complex through multiple security gates as well as the apartment. No one was able to do anything about an addition key or had any answer as to what we should do to solve the problem! Luckily by the next afternoon when I returned from my outing someone managed to get another key and gate pass for me, but this ate up extra time and running around. We were in a 3 bedroom, 2 bath apartment and there were only 4 sets of towels. No one seemed to know how to solve that problem either! Took a day to get that resolved.
I found it curious that we were told how safe it was to walk to the waterfront where there are many shops and restaurants, but security was extrememly tight for the apartment complex and very visible in the waterfront area. Made me wonder just how safe it really was.
Some of us had late departure flights, so we checked out of our apartments, left our luggage with someone who was staying longer and went to the waterfront, only to find our keys ( including the person not checking out) had been cancelled! Another hassle to get back in to retrive our things and leave. It was a hassle for our tour bus driver, even when LEAVING the complex. Security carried a little too far, perhaps?

Room Tip: A real gamble, each one was entirely different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsNana2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed in a self catering appartment. It was spacious lacked for nothing so far as equipment went and spotless. Great views across the canal network and a few minutes walk from the fantastic V & A Waterfront activities. The staff were friendly and very helpful even on a busy Sunday morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PakNgai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVillage, Manager at Waterfront Village, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

thank you for taking the time to share your comments about our establishment. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the apartment you stayed in as well as the breakfast offered.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Johadrie de Villiers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a self catering apartment ovrlooking the harbour. What a surprise! Usually we get disappointed when we eventualy realise how far removed the actual is from the advert. Huge rooms well appointed quiet and great view of boats and harbour (choose a harbour facing room). Quite pricey but definately worth the cash.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

we stayed here for 5 days, the location is perfect for being in cape town. The apartments come with everything you need including a washing machine and drier and parking. Try breakfast at the one and only near by you can get a discount voucher from reception.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie66Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

First the great stuff....the location is fantastic with views of the canal, the Waterfront and table mountain. The apartments are well looked after and the gym is really good too. I would absolutely recommend this as a place to stay especially if you're not so fond of hotels and want to be free to do your own thing.
The only disappointment was the experience of arriving and departing. The common factor here is the capability of some of the reception staff and the fact that the Waterfront Village Apartments company is not the same as the security company so getting access to you apartment is really laborious. I saw this feedback on Tripadvisor before we left and also saw that on the Waterfronts website that if I completed some forms and sent them in before arrival then it would speed things up....I'm not convinced it made any difference. It took an hour before we accessed the room. Also problems with security keys that didn't work caused problems on the last day too.
The part in between was brilliant though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdurnford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, null, Saint Helena
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have stayed here on a few occasions and have never been disappointed. The apartments are furnished to a high standard and the staff have always been helpful. With just a short walk in front of the Cape Grace the aquarium and Waterfront facilities are readily available. We choose this accommodation rather than the hotels as a value for money way of travelling with a couple of teenage kids where we don't want to be getting under each others feet and it certainly fits the bill. There is no restaurant but there are plenty on the Waterfront but with a well equipped kitchen eating in is an option.

Room Tip: We have a different room each time. One had a view of Table Mountain (and the main road), others lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 109 in Cape Town Central
976 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,506 reviews
0.4 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#43 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Village

Property: Waterfront Village
Address: Mind Pearl House West Quay Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#45 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#59 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Village 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Village, situated on the water’s edge in the picturesque V&A Waterfront Marina, next to the Cape Grace Hotel and One&Only, offers guests Standard, Luxury and Deluxe apartments offering superior services and facilities. Guests are spoilt for choice with our selection of one to three bedroom apartments, providing a wide selection of accommodation that will suit their individual requirements. Guests will enjoy access to our on-site reception, swimming pools and gym. An abundance of shops and restaurants are available within walking distance. Crafted around tranquil waterways the inspired architecture maximises the panoramic views, creating international desirability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Waterfront Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Village Hotel Cape Town Central
Waterfront Village Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing