We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Waterfront Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterfront Village
Ranked #69 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My family group of 7 spent 5 days on vacation in Cape Town and we were very pleased with the Waterfront Village. It offerred everything including spacious apartments, excellent location (a ten minutes walk to the waterfront), security and even a closeup view of seals playing on the docks. The service was great. We arrived late at night and had no problem checking in. There is internet for fee in the apartments but it is free at the reception office. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 651 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

Perfectly located and beautifully maintained facility in the waterfront area. Alas, the staff members were hard to find and virtually useless in resolving multiple problems with our rental apartment. No heat, no keys, broken television, inept at helping with dinner reservations, and the list goes on. One of of our colleagues left the first night and refused to return; we wish we followed her lead.
Never Again in Scranton

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I came to Cape Town for six days as part of an international professional meeting and booked this site as an alternative to the Westin at the Convention Center. My thinking was that I'd get a good comfortable experience away from the main convention crowd.Six of my colleagues did the same and we had a range of experiences.

The Village is a large cluster of buildings on either side of a canal near the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront. The One-and-Only hotel sits at one end of the property and Cape Grace runs along one side. The V&A waterfront can be reached from both ends of the complex in ten minutes or less.

Many are owner occupied units, and others are apparently rented out by a management company on behalf of absentee owners. A small management office staffed by people of highly variable competence/dedication acts as the "front desk." One colleague and I arrived from the airport at 10:30 pm on a Friday night. The office had only one person on duty. She checked us in and we helped her load our luggage into a car to drive to our rooms. Other guest arrived as she was getting ready to lock the office door to take us to our rooms. We had to wait while she checked them in too.

We were driven to our rooms via an underground garage. My 3 room apartment (G102) included a lounge/dining room (about 20x14 feet) with two sofas, a coffee table, a glass dining table with seating for four. There was a full kitchen with dishes and utensils, dishwasher, clothes washer, and clothes dryer. The bedroom had a queen-sized bed and lots of storage cabinets. The bathroom (6x12 feet) was fairly standard with a tub/shower combo. All the floors were marble, with carpeting in the bedroom. Floor to ceiling windows looked out on a patio (with table and chairs) running the length of the living room and bedroom. The furnishings were tasteful and in good condition (one wobbly leg on one dining room chair), One flat screen TV in the living area had satellite TV with many channels. The bedroom had an electronic safe in a cabinet. Overall, the apartment was very nice although with some challenges in controls that were poorly laid out or not intuitive. For example, in the apartment I had one cannot shut off the bedroom lights from the bed and there were no bedside lamps. I also encounter difficulty figuring out how to turn on the heat as the room temperature dropped to 65F overnight and I found a plethora of small insects on the kitchen floor. The heat and insect issues were taken care of the next day.

The colleague who checked in with me was first taken to a room wit a door that did not lock properly. She refused to accept it and insisted on a different room. She got one with a locking door, but decided to move to the Westin the next morning because her various calls to the office in trying to get matters resolved when unanswered for several minutes. All of us had an assortment of minor problems which seemed related to maintaining and renting a wide range of units with different layouts and equipment.

Security at the facility seems quite solid, with electronic pass cards needed to enter the grounds and all buildings.

The biggest problem overall was the staff, particularly overnight. If you want a full service hotel with a front desk that answers calls quickly, takes reliable messages, and follows through more than 60% of the time upon first request--this is not for you.

On the other hand, if you want a lot of space in a reasonably comfortable, secure, convenient location (including the ability to prepare meals and do laundry in your apartment) for the cost of a first class hotel--this may be for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the ground floor overlooking the canal. Have the person who shows you to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fontek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

After 7 months I am back at this wonderful place. Positioned most excellent and convenient (Palgrave 102). Service is great and the flat is luxurious, stylish and elegant. It is a sheer pleasure to sit on the terrace, overlooking the elegant yachts of the rich and famous in Cape Town and sip a glass of Sauvignon Blanc in the sunset. The only problem is that this cannot last forever. I will be back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Palgrave 102, overlooking the yacht harbour is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SnailNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Despite the excellent location of this property, the quality of staff is really poor.
Unprofessional attitude and worse, no credibility nor reliability.

My stay was really disappointing.. If it was not for the money I paid, I would have left the second day!!

Room Tip: Simply..Don't come here..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fahad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I always enjoy staying here and definitely it is the best place in Cape Town to stay for your visit, holiday, business, etc.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcellica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I've stayed in several apartments at the Waterfront Village and found them without exception to be the perfect functional home-from-home. Juliette 210 where I stayed this week was warm and welcoming, nice views over the canal, sympathetic decor and luxury bedlinen and bathroom. Convenient and affordable, a nice space altogether and the staff are helpful and non-intrusive. Barbara J

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraJonesCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,589 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#62 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,057 reviews
0.4 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#41 of 110 in Cape Town Central
789 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#38 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Village

Address: Mind Pearl House West Quay Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#44 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#60 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $155 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Village 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Village, situated on the water’s edge in the picturesque V&A Waterfront Marina, next to the Cape Grace Hotel and One&Only, offers guests Standard, Luxury and Deluxe apartments offering superior services and facilities. Guests are spoilt for choice with our selection of one to three bedroom apartments, providing a wide selection of accommodation that will suit their individual requirements. Guests will enjoy access to our on-site reception, swimming pools and gym. An abundance of shops and restaurants are available within walking distance. Crafted around tranquil waterways the inspired architecture maximises the panoramic views, creating international desirability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Waterfront Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Village Hotel Cape Town Central
Waterfront Village Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing