We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Ranked #23 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I spent two nights at the Cullinan for a recent conference at the CTICC.

The location right next to the conference venue was really convenient and in fact, the general location just at the foot of the CBD is great - not too close to the Tourist bustle of the V&A and an easy walk from Long St.

Breakfast was excellent with enough variety to ensure a week-long campaigner a new dish every day.

The bar food was also very good (the house burger is a monster) and the barman definitely knows how to mix a great Mojito.

All in all, a great hotel for a great city!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelboyZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    563
    144
    50
    24
See reviews for
276
445
51
592
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Southern Sun was the first stop on a two week honeymoon to South Africa, we stayed four nights at the Cullinan and we were not disappointed.
We were greeted at the door by an extremly friendly and attentive staff member and this is what won us over. The concierge service was second to none, booking taxis, restaurants and tours they were on hand to offer the best advice.
The hotel rooms are spacious and very clean. When we arrived in our room there were Rose petals scatted along the floor and on the bed, there was champagne and chocolates left for us also. The beds are really comfortable and the turn down service in the evening was so nice.
The buffet breakfast was great and there was so much choice. The restaurant always had a pianist playing lovely light music in the backgroud and this created a wonderful athmosphere in the hotel.
The hotel is within walking distance to the Victoria & Albert Waterfront however, they also offer a complimentary shuttle service to the waterfront. We took the city bus tour from here and explored the rest of the city and camps bay.
A great hotel to explore Cape Town and a service which will not leave you disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Starinthesky1786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. It is only through ongoing feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve on our delivery daily.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun The Cullinan in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel is feels very welcoming and small enough to feel cosy. The rooms were very clean and the décor fresh and modern. Food was good, although we had large queues for breakfast in the morning - which could be because we were a large group staying at the hotel. Very good location for the convention center. The Wi-Fi connection was terrible and really struggled to get any sort of connection.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is one of those hotels where you know what you're going to get. It is not soulless and staff are friendly and professional. Restaurant is good and not "fussy" so getting in and out for meals is easy. Fare served in restaurant is good too, although buffet dinner is extremely pricey.

Across the road from the Conference Centre and very central to Cape Town central and V&A Waterfront

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. It is only through ongoing feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve on our delivery daily.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun The Cullinan in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

During our honeymoon we stayed three nights at the Cullinan.
The hotel is very well-kept, the staff is extremly friendly and attentive, without being too pushy.
We like to highlight the concierge service. No matter if you need a taxi, any assistance with the luggage, a restaurant booking or transfer to the airport, the concierge team is always there when you need them and you can rely on them. If something needs to be done, they do it and you do not have to care about anything. Great work!
The hotel rooms are spacious and very clean.The beds are really comfortable, we slept very well.
Breakfast is delicious, very fresh and you have a big choice. Again, service is very attentive and friendly. There even is discreet live music.
The hotel is within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront. They also offer a complimentary shuttle service to the waterfront.
The bottom line is that we enjoyed our stay very much and we highly recommend this hotel. We will definitely come back one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Passepartout_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. It is only through ongoing feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve on our delivery daily.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun The Cullinan in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place to stay but a little too far to walk to waterfront. Classy lobby. Great service - personal and attentive. Fantastic breakfast buffet. Hotel willing to call suitable taxis for guests. Front desk had international adapters to borrow.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda_b73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. It is only through ongoing feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve on our delivery daily.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun The Cullinan in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed 3 nights a this hotel. It was very strategically located near the Victoria and Albert Waterfront and they had a shuttle back and forth every 1/2 hour. It was also only a short distance to the city center and town highlights. The rooms were quite spacious and comfortable and the breakfast buffet was very expansive and high quality. The staff was very large and also very courteous and helpful. We enjoyed a great African restaurant on the Waterfront (Karabu); actually went there three times in 2 days because it was so good.

Room Tip: Our room was booked through a group travel agency and was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjonesirv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. It is only through ongoing feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve on our delivery daily.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun The Cullinan in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,869 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun The Cullinan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun The Cullinan

Property: Southern Sun The Cullinan
Address: 1 Cullinan Street | Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8004, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun The Cullinan 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only The Cullinan Hotel offers views of all of the Mother City’s main attractions: Table Mountain, the harbour and ocean, the V&A Waterfront and the city skyline. Marble pillars and floors and lush furnishings, transport guests into a world of luxury complete with individualized four-star services. A pool and gym offer the perfect way to relax after a day of business meetings or sightseeing and the choice of bars and restaurants is sure to meet everyone’s tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun The Cullinan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun The Cullinan Hotel Cape Town Central
Southern Sun Cullinan
Cullinan Hotel Cape Town
Southern Sun The Cullinan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing