We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where the guest is made to feel #1!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Where the guest is made to feel #1!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have stayed at the Cullinan twice this year for business purposes as part of a Jhb legal team. The service has always been good but this standard of service has been improved to an even higher level than that experienced just 3 months ago. I was made to feel like a VIP whenever I entered the lobby and was always greeted with friendly, interested and genuine smiles from all staff. An experienced travel agent agrees with me that the service levels at The Cullinan are the best in Cape Town, surpassing many establishments with a higher grading.
The highlight of any stay is the superb breakfast and wonderful choice available: vegetarian, lactose- and gluten -free choices are readily available and allefficiently served.
The location is also very convenient with an easy-access pedestrian bridge linking the hotel with the Waterfront.
Looking forward to our next stay here in just under one week!

Room Tip: A Waterfront facing room is nice but early morning traffic might be noisy if you sleep with your win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren123Sha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, your kind words are humbling!
We strive to make all our guests feel like VIP’s and I can assure you that your feedback has been shared with the team!
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    572
    144
    50
    24
See reviews for
279
445
51
604
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel looks old and in need of refurbishment. The hotel rooms and passages smells of stale cigarette smoke. The views are great. The bathroom was full of hair, unassumingly from previous guests. The food was edible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreqBusinessTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. As you can see from all the other very positive comments on this site, your experience was a once off.
We strive towards delivering a world class experience and our guests satisfaction is at the centre of our world.
Sincere apologies for your bad experience, I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I am a US travel agent that recently brought a group of 19 to the Cullinan for five nights. We were welcomed with drinks as the room keys were efficiently distributed. The rooms were lovely, clean, and had plenty of light. I was lucky enough to have a room with a view of the waterfront. The location is within walking distance of the V & A Waterfront, although the hotel offers free transport to and from once an hour.
The staff is friendly and helpful. Service with a smile. The concierge went above and beyond the call of duty when two of my guests sent packages back to the USA. One guest had a problem and the concierge contacted her after we had departed via email to tell her.
The breakfasts were outstanding and gave us all a good start for the day. The music in the lobby and outside of the restaurant always put a smile on my face. Although I never ate other meals in the hotel, I was told that the service in the bar was VERY slow and poor. On the other hand, others told me that the dinner buffet was very good.
Being on a working vacation, I appreciated the wifi and how well it worked.
I hope to bring another group back to beautiful Cape Town in two years and definitely stay at the Southern Sun Cullinan. I HIGHLY recommend it!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a high floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUSAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, your kind words are humbling!
Thank you for the feedback on the bar, we will investigate this matter immediately.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a great team at The Cullinan.
The Staff are personable and caring - they sincerely look after you.
From the flamboyant and friendly Marcel in the Lobby ( love your hat! ) to the local musicians playing - the atmosphere is quite enchanting and unique.
I just love it!
The Hotel's Wi Fi is very efficient and generous.
This is always important for tourists, locals like me and business guests.
Another compliment must go to the punctual return transport service to the V & A Waterfront.
Stayed in March and May and will be back in June.
PS My thanks for the treats to help celebrate our 37 years!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank EJC0551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, your kind words are humbling!
We are honoured that you chose us to celebrate and share your 37th anniversary.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Cullinan could have easily deserved 5 "stars", if it wasn't for the check in issues I had. I stayed there twice in May, and in both occasions I had trouble checking in, as they couldn't find my reservation. In my second stay I didn't even have a room and I was sent to another Southern Sun, where I was given a crappy room (seemed like 40 years old). So, call them before going just to be sure.

Aside from this, I had some wonderful two weeks there. Almost from the first days I felt like home, as the staff was very dedicated (but not pushy), from the reception to the breakfast to the house keeping. Two special "awards": very good concierge (not very common in 4 star hotels) and careful security people. They made everyone in my group feel safe and welcomed (for example, there were apples everyday at the reception, which was a very nice gesture).

The main facilities are quite nice: hall, restaurant, bar, pool (don't expect big swims). Just a tiny gym (I called it the panic room, as it was as big as my room and with no views). Breakfast was quite vast, with people cooking eggs by request. Also had some food at the bar 3 times and it was nice.

The room was quite nice, renovated, with a safe box. Quite nice bathroom with separate shower and bath.

The hotel is very central, close to a hop-and-off bus stop, has an hourly shuttle to and from the Water Front (you'll need it, trust me), and you can run outside in different locations (remember: panic room).

It's clearly a return place. Keep on the good work guys.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSTeixeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, your kind words are humbling!
Sincere apologies for the delays on check in, we were in the middle of upgrading our hotel computer system and during this time we unfortunately experienced these delays. The system is now fully installed and fully functional.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Had a great time here. Awesome brekfast buffet included. Only reason I didn't give room 5 stars is because shower is designed in such a way rhat water gets everywhere. Just have to wipe it up no big deal.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, your kind words are humbling!
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Upon entry into the lobby of The Cullinan you get the immediate sense that it is not a chain hotel. There's a warmth to the service, as opposed to detached professionalism, and character to the architecture and decor. It's walking distance from fabulous restaurants, banks, and a great craft market where you can get locally made souvenirs. Plus there's a small gym and the breakfast buffet was phenomenal. I get tired of eggs when I travel because that's usually the only hot option but after 5 days, I still hadn't tried everything.

I recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustDNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, your kind words are humbling!
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,904 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#23 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,690 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#57 of 109 in Cape Town Central
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun The Cullinan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun The Cullinan

Property: Southern Sun The Cullinan
Address: 1 Cullinan Street | Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8004, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun The Cullinan 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only The Cullinan Hotel offers views of all of the Mother City’s main attractions: Table Mountain, the harbour and ocean, the V&A Waterfront and the city skyline. Marble pillars and floors and lush furnishings, transport guests into a world of luxury complete with individualized four-star services. A pool and gym offer the perfect way to relax after a day of business meetings or sightseeing and the choice of bars and restaurants is sure to meet everyone’s tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun The Cullinan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun The Cullinan Hotel Cape Town Central
Southern Sun Cullinan
Cullinan Hotel Cape Town
Southern Sun The Cullinan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing