We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Ranked #23 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good stay, Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel is in a very good location for leisure/holiday and for business. Close to the Waterfront, and the city centre of Cape Town. The staff is pleasant and helpful, the hotel is warm and has a somewhat charming reception area. The rooms are comfortable and clean. A good 4-star hotel. Enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the higher levels of the hotel. Good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlotteMoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. It is only through ongoing feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve on our delivery daily.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun The Cullinan in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    554
    142
    49
    24
See reviews for
271
440
51
576
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

It is extremely comforting to see that The Cullinan is getting back its reputation. Small problems still exist but I am sure that that even that will be rectified. The Cullinan has always been the perfect Hotel to stay during business in Cape Town and I once again experienced some of the Charm and Convenience that made me a Cullinan fan in the past. I enjoyed communicating with Tanya and her immediate rectification of my problems. Some of the staff however still lacks pride and that placed somewhat of a damper with regards to my enthusiasm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francoise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. It is only through ongoing feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve on our delivery daily.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun The Cullinan in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Cullinan Hotel for 3 days in March 2013 and enjoyed our stay there. Our room had two spacious beds and the room was clean and decorated beautifully.We were part of a large group staying at the hotel and I think they managed quite well considering we booked out the whole hotel. Breakfast was a bit of a train smash on the first morning and they opened up a extra room to accomodate the people. The breakfast had a lot to offer and would definitely go back there for a further stay in the future. The hotel is in walking distance to the CTIC which we used quite often for meetings and gatherings. There is a pool in the centre courtyard of the terrace. The lifts were a bit of a challenge as they only could accomodate six people at a time due to weight constraints.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor and did not have any noise problems. We had a view of the hustling bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene261202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. It is only through ongoing feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve on our delivery daily.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun The Cullinan in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently stayed over during the Cape Town Jazz Festival. Check in was efficient, staff were friendly and helpful. They made excellent recommendations regarding restaurants and were happy to make arrangements on our behalf. The rooms were well appointed and neat as a pin. Breakfast provides a lovely view of the pool and the since was prompt and efficient. It is centrally located and thus makes it easy to explore.
It would've been nice if the wifi was free.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PiereClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. It is only through ongoing feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve on our delivery daily.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun The Cullinan in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed there for 5 nights, April, 2013. The hotel is conveniently appointed on the City Tour Bus route and within walking distance to The Waterfront. The hotel staff are without doubt some of the best we have ever come across in a hotel, they were always extremely polite and efficient and could not do enough for us during our stay. The shuttle bus to the Waterfront is a terrific idea at night and was always on time, the drivers in particular were very pleasant. The breakfast was one of the best we have ever had in a hotel and although it didn't affect us, we were impressed to see that diabetics and people with dietry needs were very well taken care of. Overall it was a very pleasant experience staying at The Cullinan and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Waterfront. On a clear day you can see Robben Island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 782David782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am delighted that you had a great experience at our hotel. I have already passed your comments on to our team and this has inspired them to work even harder to create life long memories for our valued guests.
I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed middle of march for 3 nights (3 rooms) on holiday from belgium. Upon arrival in late afternoon we were told only 1 of the 3 booked rooms were available due to late check outs. We were happely surprised to find out we could wait in an upgraded suite and diner was complementary for the burden caused. Our stay went super and due to the central location and free shuttle service are visit was made easy. Special thanks to the GM, Mr.Reed, and the Front office staff for the given attention and making this a trip never to forget. Will be back to stay at the Cullinan again.
Michel Van Molle and party of 6
Brussels
Belgium

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelv994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and feedback. In a world where time is a precious commodity, we appreciate the fact that you have shared your experience with us.
We are committed to create life long memories for our guests and will strive to exceed expectations at any given opportunity.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Excellent location, walking distance to Cape Town ICC, 2kms from waterfront, walking distance to office block in city. Even though is is quite centrally situated, I dont hear traffic at night, very peaceful. Very professional, personal service approach by staff, welcoming, helpful, polite. Food is excellent - including the room service menu. Housekeeping services outstanding (getting ironed clothers back on time etc). Room is very comfortable and clean. Mini bar was not stocked though - not sure why? Excellent call centre central services that handles everything from wake up calls to room service to laundry etc - great follow up to ensure service delivered. Very pleasant stay, highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and feedback. In a world where time is a precious commodity, we appreciate the fact that you have shared your experience with us.
We are committed to create life long memories for our guests and will strive to exceed expectations at any given opportunity.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#24 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun The Cullinan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun The Cullinan

Property: Southern Sun The Cullinan
Address: 1 Cullinan Street | Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8004, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun The Cullinan 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only The Cullinan Hotel offers views of all of the Mother City’s main attractions: Table Mountain, the harbour and ocean, the V&A Waterfront and the city skyline. Marble pillars and floors and lush furnishings, transport guests into a world of luxury complete with individualized four-star services. A pool and gym offer the perfect way to relax after a day of business meetings or sightseeing and the choice of bars and restaurants is sure to meet everyone’s tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun The Cullinan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun The Cullinan Hotel Cape Town Central
Southern Sun Cullinan
Cullinan Hotel Cape Town
Southern Sun The Cullinan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing