We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Ranked #23 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful Experience!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel twice during our stay in Africa. The service was great and the breakfast buffet was delicious! There was a free shuttle service to and from the V&A Waterfront where there are many restaurants and lots of shopping. The concierge was great with suggesting things to do and contacting people to come pick us up. The WiFi is not free, but the hotel gives free time each day if you sign up as a frequent guest member.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smoore227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I am delighted you had a great stay with us and that our team exceeded your expectations. We have been hard at work to improve our guest experience and it is clear that it has paid off.
We have already shared your comments with our staff and they are extremely grateful for your positive feedback.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    584
    145
    52
    25
See reviews for
297
450
54
616
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plovdiv
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Good access to V&A - nice spot to start from. Rooms are clean. Food is good and tasty, but service is very slow.Staff is helpful and friendly. Definitely will visit again. Area is safe enough.
Pool is small but nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JordanBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to give us your thoughts and feedback. We will endeavour to correct the minor issues mentioned by yourself and do hope that on your next visit you will see a remarkable improvement.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Beautiful hotel, lots of help and security, easy to reach V&A area and great breakfast.
What more can one say! I would choose this hotel again. Lovely pool and great pizza!
I agree with all the positive remarks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments and great feedback. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We didnt stay at this hotel .We stayed at the Westin across the street. The food at the westin was not very good. We were having trouble finding food the worked for us.We stopped there one day for lunch and returned the next day for breakfast and lunch .The following day we had breakfast buffet and then dinner in their pub.
The service was great and staff were very pleasant even when they new we werent guests of the Hotel.
the Lobby and poolarea are very nice .
This is where we will stay next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank music-soul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We pride ourselves in our Food and Beverage delivery and I am ecstatic that you experienced it. When you visit Cape Town again, please make use of our world class accommodation facilities, I guarantee you will not be disappointed.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on our first trip to Africa. As it was near Christmas when we checked in we were given shortbread in the shape of a Christmas present - a nice touch! Our room was large and with excellent facilities. Hairdryer could have been better. Probably the best breakfast buffet I have ever experienced. Would thorough recommend as just on the edge of the V&A waterfront (shuttle bus runs every hour) but its not that far to walk. Also just at the end of Long Street so good for the city centre.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor facing down on the pool area. It was quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GFergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your kind comments and feedback. I am pleased that we exceeded your expectations and I do hope that upon your next visit to Cape Town you will once again allow us the opportunity to welcome you back.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Awesome service kids loved it breakfast was excellent shameel was excellent as well as other staff pleasant stay abit pricey but topz wish I cud have stayed longer all the staff are just so good to my kids

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Yousuf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
My team and I are so pleased that your kids enjoyed their stay. They are our future ambassadors. Please do make use of our services upon your next trip to Cape Town.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I recently spent three days at the Cullinan and as usual it was a great experience. The hotel is immaculate and the staff friendly and efficient. I stay in 4 international hotels a month and I really really love this hotel.
The only gripe is the speed of the customer / frequent guest wifi. It is painfully slow and not really suitable for Skype etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeWildeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I am delighted that you once again experienced the warm hospitality we are renowned for. You will be glad to know that we are working on our WIFI delivery and will shortly have that resolved.Thank you for your loyal support and I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,961 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,216 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,517 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,717 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun The Cullinan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun The Cullinan

Property: Southern Sun The Cullinan
Address: 1 Cullinan Street | Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8004, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun The Cullinan 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only The Cullinan Hotel offers views of all of the Mother City’s main attractions: Table Mountain, the harbour and ocean, the V&A Waterfront and the city skyline. Marble pillars and floors and lush furnishings, transport guests into a world of luxury complete with individualized four-star services. A pool and gym offer the perfect way to relax after a day of business meetings or sightseeing and the choice of bars and restaurants is sure to meet everyone’s tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southern Sun The Cullinan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun The Cullinan Hotel Cape Town Central
Southern Sun Cullinan
Cullinan Hotel Cape Town
Southern Sun The Cullinan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing