We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, Stately and in the Heart of the Cape Town waterfront”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Ranked #27 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I recently stayed at The Cullinin and loved it! This hotel is stately without being stuffy, elegant in an understated way and perfectly situated in the center of Cape Town not far from the waterfront. The staff are warm and helpful, attentive and welcoming in a way that will make you feel as though you are their only or most important guest. Rooms are all finished to a high spec, beds are comfy and bathrooms are well fitted with glassed showers and deep tubs. Noise from outside or adjacent guest rooms is muted and never a problem, access to all areas of the hotel is easy and Security is ever-present but unobtrusive. Parking is available beneath the building though you'll hardly need it with the plentiful and inexpensive taxis, of course the hotel also offers a free shuttle service which services many desirable locations and runs frequently so you're never far away from the hotel. Do see the views from Table Mountain while in town, and enjoy the many great restaurants in and around the hotel.

Bottom line: Highly recommended, a beautiful hotel and wonderful staff - I plan to return soon!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,362 - 1,368 of 1,758 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

Exellent location ! Excellent rooms ! Excellent staff ! Excellent food !

Room Tip: Ask for a floor higher up than 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hermann21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Did'nt get the opportunity to stay at the hotel but I attended a dinner as a guest at the the Peach tree restaurant at the Cullinan hotel.
I'm from Durban and love the Elangeni but have to say the service at the Cullinan was better.
Had a chat with a few staff, very friendly, polite and helpful. Thank you to the manager, Erroll, Charlton and leila.
I will be back this time to book in...

Thanking you
Thandiwe

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Thandiwe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I can't fault this hotel. Our room had recently been refurbished and was beautiful plenty of room for us and our son, fab comfy beds
The breakfasts were fantastic with loads of choice
The evening shuttle to the waterfront was reliable and very welcome
Concierge service was very useful for finding out when the cable car up table mountain was operating
Well worth taking the train to boulder beach to sunbathe with the penguins

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed in the Cullinan when I attended a conference in the Cape Town International Conference Centre, which is a two minute walk from the hotel. Every staff member seems to be friendly and customer focused. Check-in was quick and efficient, the room was ultra-clean and everything in the room was in a good working condition. There is a seperate shower, you do not have to stand in the bath to shower. Room service was great and quick to respond. I chose to have breakfast in my room and it was delivered right on time and exactly as I ordered. I think this is a great hotel to stay in and at reasonable pricing. Great location close to the Waterfront and exit routes to the airport. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
Thank JV_ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My first visit to the Cullinan - very nice. Great customer service, tasty breakfast buffet with an array of cereals, hot porridge, grills, omelettes and pastries.........yum. My room was very very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Easy walking distance to the Victoria Waterfront, lots of restaurants and shops with live bands and entertainment in the open square. Lovely bar area alongside the hotel swimming pool.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucrecia1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Wonderfully attentive staff who look after you, plus a lot of little extras (afternoon refreshment when you arrive, little snack plates, fresh fruit at the desk all the time, they remember your name and what you drink when yo go to the lounge) make this a great place to stay.

The hotel has touches of old world charm with modern updates.

Not sure if this is done on purpose, but the pool / lounge area has a very friendly house cat who just wants attention (and not food),

The hotel has a free shuttle to and from the Waterfront area so you can safely get there and back. It also has car service that you can order to pick you up from Capetown Airport.

Room Tip: Stayed in the original part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank howho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,082 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,813 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#28 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#47 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,541 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun The Cullinan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun The Cullinan

Address: 1 Cullinan Street | Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $183 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun The Cullinan 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only The Cullinan Hotel offers views of all of the Mother City’s main attractions: Table Mountain, the harbour and ocean, the V&A Waterfront and the city skyline. Marble pillars and floors and lush furnishings, transport guests into a world of luxury complete with individualized four-star services. A pool and gym offer the perfect way to relax after a day of business meetings or sightseeing and the choice of bars and restaurants is sure to meet everyone’s tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southern Sun The Cullinan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun The Cullinan Hotel Cape Town Central
Southern Sun Cullinan
Cullinan Hotel Cape Town
Southern Sun The Cullinan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing