We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service. Cape Heritage is the home away from home.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Heritage Hotel
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service. Cape Heritage is the home away from home.”
Reviewed July 4, 2007

Cape Heritage is a home away from home. The staff made our family of 4 extremely welcomed from the moment we landed, up till we had to pack our bags and leave. They went out of their way to accomodate our requests (eg my brother wanted to get his hair braided, & most of the salons are already closed but Sam kindly arranged a hair stylist to our room at 6p on Sun evening-Thank you!). When i was ill, they called to make sure that i was fine & brought warm water up to the room. It's one of the finest and most sincere service I've ever received.

Aside from the outstanding service, the hotel location is very central, within walking distance to the shops & perhaps 5 min by taxi to the waterfront. Within the hertiage sq, there are several restaurants such as Africa Cafe (worth the experience). The rooms are also tastefully decorated - I had an african themed room!!

Capetown itself is an amazing place & Lesley/Karen from Amber Tour (referred by the hotel) really showed us the beauty of the city, cape penisula, winelands! The private tour took us to cape penisula on the first day, and the natural beauty of the coast backed by the mountains was picture perfect! In fact, Lesley timed it so well that we caught a really nice sunset setting into the water!! The 2nd day we explored the city & winelands, Karen was very knowledgeable & took time to explain stories behind the 'attractions'.

I definitely recommend cape hertiage as they've taken care of all our needs and made this trip for our family MEMORABLE!!

  • Liked — Outstanding Service
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jlspore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,014
    196
    30
    6
    6
See reviews for
165
702
85
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2007

The Cape Heritage is a tough property to review. It's excellent, no doubt, but in a refreshingly unusual and special way. It's not the piece-parts - room, location etc. - that make this place remarkable (although those things are fantastic). Rather, it's the fact that this is one of very few hotels we've stayed at that has the "whole package" and creates a well-rounded experience.

If you choose the Cape Heritage, you'll find exceptionally comfortable beds (perfect pillows!), interestingly designed and furnished rooms (all unique and well thought out), warm public spaces, and tasty breakfasts each morning.

The defining element, which makes all of these things truly noteworthy, is the staff. The entire Cape Heritage team goes to great lengths to ascertain and deliver on the experience you want to have - not only within the hotel but also in Cape Town. They're not simply accommodating and polite. Rather, they offer very personalized service and attention, making you feel like you are among people who know you and who care about your visit. All of this occurs without it seeming uncomfortable or intrusive.

To be certain, for many people, visiting Cape Town can mean a great deal of traveling. One can be almost guaranteed a spectacular experience at the Cape Heritage.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank TandemWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Cape Heritage for 6 days. From start to finish it was an excellent and refreshing experience. Everything from the original booking, to the ride from the airport to the departure.
Nick and crew were extremely helpful with EVERYTHING. It actually felt like I was at home here.
The hotel is in the city bowl and is walking distance to many things. Great wine bar next door.
Rooms were extremely comfortable and spacious. This hotel gives the best bang for your buck no question.
The only negative - and this is not a big deal - the wireless internet was painfully slow.
We rented a car and drove around the Western Cape. The location of the hotel is so easy to get to when getting on or off the major highways.

I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone who plans to visit Cape Town. Next time I fly in from Canada I'm staying here.

Excellent job.

  • Liked — Service and great size rooms
  • Disliked — Slow internet access
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank momon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2007

Perfection is the only word to describe our stay at the Cape Heritage Hotel. We travel extensively, and have to say that this is one place we will always remember . The property is charming and beautifully maintained. All 15 rooms are different and well designed; each reflects the loving care that the owners have expended.
The very best part was the personnel. We stayed a week, and felt as though we were leaving our family when we departed. Nick and Sam (Semwano) are unbelievable. Absolutely nothing is too much for them. We, too, were without our luggage (for 5 days!) and they helped not only making phone calls on our behalf, but providing loads of consolation and TLC. And they were always a good source of information for everything. The staff are all terrific, and it is clear that they enjoy what they do.
We had one reservation before we booked, and that was whether we might be happier (safer?) at the V&A Waterfront. We were so glad NOT to have stayed at the waterfront. While it is beautiful , and I'm sure very safe, it didn't have the character nor the "real feel" of being in the downtown. We were very glad to have made the Cape Heritage decision . We felt safe at all times, and would(will!) return to the exact same place when we revisit. Most sights are within walking distance, as are a selection of wonderful restaurants , and some of the best shopping in Cape Town. (Green Market Square right there!!)
I couldn't recommend this hotel more heartily. We loved everything!

  • Liked — Everything!!
  • Disliked — Having to leave it
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank WashingtonDCLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2007

Spent 5 nights at the Cape Heritage Hotel earlier this month. The trip started with a disaster in that one of our suitcases went missing. The staff went out of their way to help locate the case, phoning the airport / airline and offering advice, support and sympathy. We couldn't have asked for more help.

The hotel itself is great. The rooms are lovely, nicely decorated and spacious. The place has a wonderful atmosphere and the staff were all very friendly. The location of the hotel is wonderful. It's in the city centre so everything pretty much is within walking distance. Some people say that at night you shouldn't walk around on your own but we didn't find any problems (although having said that we didn't walk very far at night). There are anyway some great restaurants on the same block (the Savoy Cabbage was a favourite). It's easy to get a taxi anyway to the Waterfront (you can walk it in about 15/20 mins during the day). Quite honestly I'd prefer to stay in the city centre rather than in a hotel on the waterfront which is a ncie place but has a "guarded estate" type of feel to it. Bo Kaap and the Waterkant are also only 5 mins walk away .

Breakfast is served in a courtyard under a vine which is really nice. The breakfasts are good with lots of choice

We arranged two (private) tours through the hotel. The first to Cape Point and the second to the Winelands. We did both with Lesley - an English woman now living in Cape Town. She was good fun and extremely knowledgable. She spent a lot of time finding out what our preferences were and tailored the tours around us. So for example finding out what sort of wines we liked and then picking out specific wineries based on that. She also arranged a great place for us to have lunch near Franschoek (La Petite Ferme which has lovely views). Having a private tour was a bit more expensive but was worth every penny. After the winelands tour we came back into town at around 5pm. Most tour operators would drop you off at the hotel at that time but Lesley took us up to Signal Hill to watch the sunset over the city and then did a quick tour of the Bo Kaap area.

To sum up I'd have to say that this hotel is a really good choice. If we go back to Cape Town (hopefully we will) we'd certainly use the place again and get Lesley to organise a tour - perhaps to see the whales :-)

  • Liked — The staff and location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Martin_Thierry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin,
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2007

My family stayed here for 3 nights and we all said it was the
nicest hotel experience we have had. Nick, Sam and the team
were just so friendly and helpful - it makes such a difference
when they take a personal interest in your stay. The location is great with great places to eat in the square, Long St which suited our teenage boys and the touristy waterfront just a short hop in a taxi or walk - which in daylight is perfectly safe as is most of Cape Town if you are sensilble about it. The only disappointment was we didn't get the 'egg song' at breakfast despite eating all our eggs!! Thank you Cape Heritage.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank rattlebag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2007

I recently stayed at the Cape Hertiage Hotel for 10 days and couldn't speak more highly of the property and staff. From the time I walked into the door, I was treated not only as a highly valued customer but also as a friend. Staying in Cape Town as a single, white female could have been an extremely lonely experience, but the staff always brightened my day by enquiring how my research was going and taking time to stop and chat with me. They were extremely helpful in suggesting restaurants and arranging tours of the surrounding area; I particularly enjoyed the Gospel Township Tour.

I stayed in two different rooms, both of which were tastefully furnished and extremely comfortable. The breakfast selection is very nice; although I never ordered a cooked breakfast, they always looked tastey especially since everything was cooked to order. Being in Cape Town's city centre can be less exciting than the V&A Waterfront in the evenings due to security concerns, but the hotel has a car and provides cell phones for you to call the car when you are ready to be picked up. In addition, Heritage Square has lots of lovely restaurants when you don't feel like venturing too far from the hotel.

I really can't speak highly enough of the entire staff, from the doorman to the owner, for making my stay so enjoyable. The hotel itself would be lovely on its own, but the staff made my stay a warm and memorable experience; I will definitely be returning when I next visit Cape Town!!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — I loved everything
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BrennanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,015 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Heritage Hotel

Property: Cape Heritage Hotel
Address: 90 Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Heritage Square in the heart of Cape Town, the Cape Heritage is a boutique four star hotel that is historic and contemporary; intimate and lively; and stylish and cozy. Originally built in 1771, the hotel has 17 individually decorated bedrooms, which not only retain the charm of the past but are also equipped with an array of modern comforts. The hotel opens out onto a courtyard that houses the oldest living grapevine in South Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cape Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing