We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Heritage Hotel
Ranked #10 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Location- city centre but still accessible to every part of Cape town
Rooms- Stayed in 2 different rooms as was there over 10 days at 2 seperate times. Even though room 115 has a Bath Tub in the room it is still a great room but Rooms 116 and 117 is really great with access to two balcony areas which overlook the restaurant /cafe .
Staff- Simply the best hotel staff I have ever encountered to my experience.
Being with a group of 7 people , we had a lot of questions and requests and the staff always had an answer for us and were very helpful through out.
I had to leave quickly for the airport after the last football match and this was arranged as well and I didn't miss my flight.
After 7 days there, It felt very cosy and comfortable and the staff also figured my breakfast after 2 days when they saw me entering the breakfast room.
Overall I have to admit that even though that there may be one or two things that can be improved such as the internet but overall my experience at Cape Heritage was amazing and I will definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daanishc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

987 - 993 of 1,288 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2010

I've been meaning to review this hotel since I got back from beautiful cape town ( dec 09). Staying there made our experience in cape town even better. The courtyard for coffee and toast in the morning, we even ate at the resturant twice both times very good. Love the location we walked to bars in the neighborhood easily and felt very safe. We were 3 girls in our late 20's and heard cape town can be a dangerous city. The staff helped us along the way every morning and planed some activities. Wine tour was the best! Over all I wasore than happy with our stay at the hotel and the artwork alone in the halls and rooms are worth the stay

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dotave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

a truly unique hotel with 5 star service without the stuffiness. just enough to make you feel pampered and at the same time feel very comfortable. the place itself is beautiful and i wish i had to chance to stay in each unique room. the location is central to where i wanted to go in cape town. a 10 min walk nightlife/bars yet far enough to have a peaceful and quiet night. its also a 10 min cab ride to the waterfront/convention center area.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letsgoawaynowplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2010

Centrally located in the hustle and bustle of Cape Town, Cape Heritage provides calm and character in a period building with an eclectic mix of furniture and art. And as a couple who generally do prefer hotels to guesthouses, it offered the charm and friendliness of a guesthouse with the benefits of a hotel environment - Sam and her lovely team were attentive without being overbearing and helpful with any requests or queries.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Sasha045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

Centrally located in Cape Town in a renovated historical block full of pleasant bars and restaurant, this small hotel is set in a beautiful historical palace. It is beautifully decorated in a personal, cozy way and offers an amazing level of service. Staff is friendly, easy-going and yet very professional. An excellent experience, warmly recommended to woever travels to Cape Town, be it for work or on holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

Lovely individually decorated room each with a quirky theme. Very helpful staff. Lovely courtyard for breakfast, lunch and the evenings.
We were offered a choice of rooms and were pleased we staying here rather than the artifical Waterfront area.
We were surprised how quiet central Cape Town was in the evenings, and at the weekend during the daytime. Whilst we had no safety problems whatsoever it is probably advisable to use a car to travel around after dark. The car park next to the hotel is very handy and was free.
We used the local restaurants on Heritage Sq some nights and they were fine.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian581951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Cape Heritage is in a great location near the centre of Cape Town, and we were very happy to explore the surrounding areas on foot. The hotel has a courtesy car and a friendly driver who will take you where you want to go in the city within reason - a real bonus! There are restaurants in the square the hotel is situated in if you don't want to go far - the Savoy Cabbage almost next door was excellent!
The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful, and this even extended to a most lovely gesture when we returned from a meal out on Valentines Day to find a card and bottle of champagne in our room from the staff on reception. The rooms were all individually decorated, the bed was very comfortable, and we had a great shower in the well equipped bathroom. A very good breakfast was served in the open, internal courtyard which made a great start to the day.
Hotels in Cape Town seem quite pricey compared to a lot of other things at today's exchange rates, and Cape Heritage was quite expensive by UK standards, but we felt it was well worth it and would definitely go back if in Cape Town again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,422 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,073 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,856 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#41 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,329 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Heritage Hotel

Address: 90 Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $130 - $618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Heritage Square in the heart of Cape Town, the Cape Heritage is a boutique four star hotel that is historic and contemporary; intimate and lively; and stylish and cozy. Originally built in 1771, the hotel has 17 individually decorated bedrooms, which not only retain the charm of the past but are also equipped with an array of modern comforts. The hotel opens out onto a courtyard that houses the oldest living grapevine in South Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cape Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing