We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED Cape Heritage Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Heritage Hotel
Ranked #11 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2007

My wife and I spent a week of our honeymoon in (and around) Kruger Park and then we spent a week here. Our experience was terrific and echoed that of many other reviewers on this site. The staff was extremely attentive and the accomodations fantastic--clean, comfortable, secure and charming. The breakfasts were terrific and nutritious (far better than the average "price includes breakfast" hotels) and the cappuccinos outstanding! There's even a nice little theatre down the street where one can grab a bite and see a show. It's not Broadway but it is fun. I won't repeat the glowing reviews but I will say that you cannot go wrong if you choose to stay at Cape Heritage Hotel!

4  Thank salserochinito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,279)
There are newer reviews for Cape Heritage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,094 - 1,100 of 1,280 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2007

We stayed at this hotel last year as a 30th birthday surprise for my boyfriend. We'll never forget that birthday ! From the moment you arrive until you leave you are taken care of as if they've known you for years. The staff are simply amazing, (Sam for president!). Breakfast is an event of note. When I think of the Cape Heritage I can only smile and agree with all the other reviewers. We cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank AliceWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2007

This place is as near to perfection as I've found. To begin with, the location is right near all the goings-on of downtown Cape Town, yet as soon as you step inside you feel like you're been transported to a private, stately home.

The service is impeccable, top-notch, and genuinely care about each visitor. The rooms are breath taking-- each one has so much detail and the beds/furniture look like something out of a design magazine.

The hotel has a charming courtyard with delicious restaurants in it--right in your own backyard.

Free DVDs, excellent free breakfast, a bed that looked like something out of a castle...I keep going back and please, if you stay anywhere--YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED.

*There is one bedroom that is closest to the restraunts which can be loud on weekend nights.

Stayed: June 2006
4  Thank SouthAfricaCharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2007

We stayed at the Heritage after reading the positive reviews on Tripadvisor, we stayed for 4 nights in Feb 2007 and were not disappointed. This was our first time in CT and South Africa. The Hotel location is in the City Bowl (Downtown) area. You can stroll to the city centre shops and markets which are 2 - 15 mins away. We felt very safe walking around CT, and did not have any bother on our 3 week trip. The rooms are decorated very well and everything is to a high standard. It is an old building that has been very well restored. The service was excellent, we checked in early and were given a couple of rooms to look at before deciding on which one to take.

The staff are really helpful if you arelooking for ideas on what to do or see. They will recommend and book places to eat (there are lots nearby) and orgainse tours etc. Breakfast in the courtyard was nice in the mornings.

There are some lovely resuarants next door and it is great to have a nice meal and a bottle of wine then walk 30 metres to the front of the hotel. One of the best Hotels we have stayed at, but by no means the most expensive. Great value. There is a small car park next to the Hotel that we got our hired car into every day, around 20 rand per day. CT is quite spread out and a hired car proved very useful.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank allan-ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2007

We stayed at Cape Heritage in late January for my 50th birthday. Having read such good reviews on tripadvisor I didn't know how the place could live up to our high expectations ,but it does. The building ,rooms,beds are all great as described, but what made the place the best hotel I have ever stayed in was the attitude of the staff. The genuine warmth they displayed for the whole week we were there made the holiday. You might get more facilities in a bigger 5 star hotel but I doubt you would come near this level of personal service. In short if you are looking for a city centre hotel in Cape Town, this is the one. Plenty of good restaurants on the doorstep in the Square. I suspect that if Nick,Sam and the staff could do anything to improve your holiday experience they would spare no effort.
Alan and Jackie.Newcastle,England

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank AlanandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2007

We stayed at the Cape Heritage Hotel for a week in December, 2006. It was, without a doubt, the highlight of our trip to Cape Town! We have stayed in many 5 star hotels all around the world and found Cape Heritage to be very special. This small hotel is located in Heritage Square near the shopping area of CapeTown and is literally steps away from several very good restaurants.
A boutique hotel, Cape Heritage is a beautifully renovated 200+ year old building. Filled with antiques and flowers, it has wonderful wide wooden floor boards and tastefully decorated guest rooms. Our room was very large and had a canopied king-size bed with a mattress so superb that we actually considered ordering one to be shipped home. Breakfast al fresco was outstanding with fresh baked pasteries, excellent individually brewed coffee and hot entrees made to order.
The best part of Cape Heritage, however, is the staff. They all treated us like members of their family and went out of their way to make sure our stay in Cape Town was a memorable one. Nick, the owner and Sam, the general manager, have truly created a gem, a home away from home for anyone lucky enough to stay at Cape Heritage. Ab & Marion, Boston, MA USA

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MarionBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2007

We stayed here for our first night in Cape town prior to travelling upto oudtshoorn.
A great place to stay if you want a city centre stay as its within walking distance of the va waterfront.Teriffic service with friendly staff and a top class owner.
Wholeheartedly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,412 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,846 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,762 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,540 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#35 of 111 in Cape Town Central
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Heritage Hotel

Address: 90 Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $131 - $634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Heritage Square in the heart of Cape Town, the Cape Heritage is a boutique four star hotel that is historic and contemporary; intimate and lively; and stylish and cozy. Originally built in 1771, the hotel has 17 individually decorated bedrooms, which not only retain the charm of the past but are also equipped with an array of modern comforts. The hotel opens out onto a courtyard that houses the oldest living grapevine in South Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing