We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Heritage Hotel
Ranked #9 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have stayed here twice and I enjoyed it both times. The staff are really friendly and helpful and give you lots of good suggestions and advice.
The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. This is a charming property in the city area. We had easy access by car to all the sights and were not far fro the V&A or Camps Bay, so everything was quite accessible.
Breakfast were very good with lots of choices and cheerful service.
The first time I stayed here there were better restaurants attached by the courtyard. This time it looked like some of the better tenants of the courtyard had moved. The only downside is that one of these restaurants run a club/party with loud music on Friday nights and it was pretty noisy, even though the hotel staff try and let you know, the vibrations from the music were frankly a little jarring.
My Husband had to take a rather cold shower as I ran a big, nice hot bath and appeared to have depleted the hot water supply completely.

Room Tip: If you are there on a friday night ask for a room away from the courtyard as its pretty noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPSK_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

746 - 752 of 1,307 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

The cape heritage is nicest most individual and quirky hotel I've ever stayed in,all the rooms are full of character but still very comfortable,the beds are huge and very high quality,breakfast was exceptionally good with plenty of choice and all the staff were extremely helpful and friendly

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a lovely boutique hotel. The decoration is great, it is very comfortable, the restaurants around it are delicious and all of the people who work there are very friendly and will do anything for you. Some friends that where staying at another hotel near the Waterfront said that they wished they had stayed in our hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anasandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I started our honeymoon in Cape Town and I did a lot of research on hotels in the area before booking the Cape Heritage. The hotel did not disappoint. It is a gorgeous old building impeccably restored with unique artwork and playful touches throughout. We had a huge comfortable room with a bathroom the size of my apartment featuring 2 rainfall showers and a stand alone bath tub. Bliss. The hotel is centrally located in the city and also connects to a courtyard with an assortment of restaurants (which is also helpful b/c we were advised not to wander around the city after dark). HQ or Headquarters was our personal favorite. Skip African Cafe and head to Mama AFrica on Long St. instead.

The Cape Heritage Hotel staff was extremely welcoming and courteous at all times. They helped us arrange for a pick up from the airport and day trips with a tour guide. The hotel also offers an incredible breakfast with warm and cold options. I cannot eat gluten and they made special provisions for me by purchasing gluten free bread which I could enjoy with my eggs for breakfast.

On our last night at the hotel we returned to our room after a day of sightseeing and found a beautiful rose petal trail to the bathroom and champagne chilling by the tub. The staff hadn't said anything to us but left this beautiful display for us to discover. So thoughtful!

We hope to return to Cape Town in the future and when we do we will definitely stay at the Cape Heritage again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda31184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

.... for your romantic rendezvous in Cape Town. Quirky, tasteful and interesting decor. If you tackle Table Mountain your weary legs will appreciate a soak in the big baths. The restaurant/bar in the courtyard (HQ) is very good too.

Room Tip: Room 101 is lovely but so were the others that I looked at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MudmanLuanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel is well located in central Cape Town. The staff are extrmemly helpful and helped us navigate the city as first time visitors. As a gay couple we felt really at home.

Breakfast is included and the offerings were more than your typical continental menu.

The hotel rooms are uniquely decorated and bathrooms were well appointed and the bath products were not only amazing but developed specifically for the property.

The only downside we saw, if it is actually a downside, is that due to the historic nature of the building you could hear a lot of ambient noise within the hotel as well as on the street. We're city boys so this didn't bother us at all, but for those who require silence to sleep this may not be your best option.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of a 2 week South African vacation. I can honestly say that this was truly one of the most enjoyable places I've ever stayed. The staff was wonderful and extremely helpful. The property was eclectic, interesting, and full of charm and warmth. The neighborhood was not as nice as the hotel, and we wouldn't have walked around much after dark, but there are a number of good restaurants located in Heritage Square itself. Breakfast was great, especially the french toast. Our family had a little suite which was perfect for us. I can't recommend this property enough.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catbert10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town
1,802 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#41 of 110 in Cape Town
1,532 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town
1,872 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#54 of 110 in Cape Town
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Heritage Hotel

Address: 90 Bree Street, Cape Town 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Town
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town
#13 Business Hotel in Cape Town
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town
Price Range: $118 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Heritage Square in the heart of Cape Town, the Cape Heritage is a boutique four star hotel that is historic and contemporary; intimate and lively; and stylish and cozy. Originally built in 1771, the hotel has 17 individually decorated bedrooms, which not only retain the charm of the past but are also equipped with an array of modern comforts. The hotel opens out onto a courtyard that houses the oldest living grapevine in South Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing