We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well kept secret”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Heritage Hotel
Ranked #11 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Well kept secret”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in the Cape Heritage while doing a long weekend in Cape Town. Its very centrally placed and even better theres an absolutely incredible restaurant just in their courtyard. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was lovely in a very cute little room. Our room was beautiful. All in all a fantastic place to stay and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenshieldsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    184
    30
    5
    5
See reviews for
153
677
82
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
343 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Some hotels in Tripadvisor are well reviewed but are disappointing when you stay in it, but Cape Heritage lives up to the reviews, ranking and more.

I had booked the hotel are evaluating a few others and the booking process was unique because a) they were quick to reply, b) they do NOT deduct a deposit, just need your credit card for confirmation and c) they do not lose your booking even though it was done 3 mths ago.

We arrived at the hotel and were quite dismayed to find an old building front, with steps up to an ancient looking door, but once inside the doors, things changed. Welcoming service staff, rooms assigned in a jiffy, porter brought the bags up from the taxi to the room, and what a room. Spacious, balcony overlooking a dining patio, comfortable beds etc. Particular credit must be given to Jeanne Marie and TJ for making us feel so comfortable and at home.

Service: Excellent all round, helpful, thankful for small tips. Faucet repaired on complaint, brought up an electric kettle, tea cups after we asked for it. Smiling.

Value: It was off season and the rate we paid for the room for 3 persons was excellent value, Rand 1700 for 3 pax, with a hearty breakfast every day. The breakfast could last you way past lunch if you started breakfast late enough.

Sleep Quality: Comfortable beds and generally quiet, but be warned that on Friday nights, the restaurant/lounge called "HQ" has a band going till exactly 1230am It's the sort of booming deep noise that keeps you awake. Thankfully there was no noise thereafer.

Cleanliness: Couldn't find dirt, even on the balcony.

Location: I booked this hotel because of the location and it has a great location: Walking distance to the Greenmarket square where a craft market sprang up every morning; walking distance to the red and blue "hop on hop off" bus stops; 20min walk to V & A waterfront; top restaurants round the corner. But always keep safety in mind when returning to the hotel at night - catch a cab.

Rooms: Large, clean, comfortable, wonderful bathtub and bath salts, shower if you do not want to take a bath. White towels.

Swimming Pool: There is a jacuzzi up on a platform, but did not use it as it was cold !

Fitness center: Did not see any.

Room Tip: It's not as well known as the international hotels, the street name is better known that the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weimin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in central Cape Town. We stayed in a standard double and we were on our honeymoon. On the plus side the Wifi was very good and the breakfast was good. It was about a 15 min walk to the waterfront. The majority of staff were very helpful and willing to assist.

On the other hand when we arrived on the Sunday the receptionist basically asked us for our passports and that was it, no further information about the hotel, area etc was given. To me it was poor by that individual. The street was also busy and sometimes noisey outside.

Overall great value for money and the hotel itself is lovely.

Room Tip: It seemed the suites were facing in a d not on the road so I would book those rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieC1244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaCapeHeritage, General Manager at Cape Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Cape Heritage on TripAdvisor. We value your feedback which has resulted in an opportunity for re-training. It is important to us that all of our guests feel like the Cape Heritage is their “home from home” and we will continue to keep improving our standard of service excellence.
We hope that we may welcome you back to the Cape Heritage in the near future.
Our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Very nice room although despite requesting a view we were given a room without one. Clean. Lovely bathroom. Disappointed to see no in room tea and coffee area which is usually expected in any 3 -4 star hotel. Staff friendly and very helpful with tourist information. Breakfasts were decent. The courtyard area and vineyard are a historic touch.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seetal07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1,012 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Beautiful interiors. I had a spacious room (I think it was a suite) with wood floors, artwork, a great bathroom and two big windows over the street. The hotel may have lacked a few big-hotel services but the staff were keen to organise anything for you. If you like boutique hotels, you'll like this place and the prices are reasonable. Small roof deck with a jacuzzi and some views. Convenient yet somewhat quiet location on the edge of the CBD (although I overlooked the street, I never found it too noisy). Breakfast is a good continental buffet. Hard to find things wrong. I had a couple of criticisms on my first day but I'd forgotten them by the end. They do have the most aggressive internet filtering I've seen since Iran (many innocuous news sites were blocked "for my protection") but I was able to get my work done fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

A very nice and comfortable hotel at a very very modest price located conveniently to parking, restaurants, shopping and the green market. Excellent wifii I might add! I would stay here again if ever in Cape Town. We felt most welcome, with very personal service, and were allowed a late check out without any problems.

Room Tip: They are all great! This hotel is an excellent choice to consider!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lherricksnewrrcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great boutique hotel in central Cape Town. Free wifi and breakfast is included in the room rate. There is a public parking lot available across the street from the hotel with free parking for hotel guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safa_in_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,791 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,352 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,653 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,432 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Heritage Hotel

Property: Cape Heritage Hotel
Address: 90 Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Heritage Square in the heart of Cape Town, the Cape Heritage is a boutique four star hotel that is historic and contemporary; intimate and lively; and stylish and cozy. Originally built in 1771, the hotel has 17 individually decorated bedrooms, which not only retain the charm of the past but are also equipped with an array of modern comforts. The hotel opens out onto a courtyard that houses the oldest living grapevine in South Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing