We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel to experience Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Heritage Hotel
Ranked #10 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights here in November 2012. The location is good: right in the centre of town and in easy walking distance to the Waterfront (15/20 min walk). The hotel rooms are stunning- beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. The bathroom was modern and luxurious. The staff are all friendly and keen to make sure you enjoy their city, by recommending and booking restaurants and tickets online for city attractions. We went up Signal hill one evening to watch the sunset, and the hotel staff organised a picnic for us. This was a great way to spend an evening and I highly reccomend it. The hotel has a rooftop jacuzzi: a great way to relax after a day of sightseeing! Breakfast in the hotel is served outside in a beautiful courtyard. There was always a good cooked option for breakfast, although the breakfast choice was generally a bit limited. This isn't really a problem though, as the food in Cape Town generally is outstanding! Compared to eating out in the UK, it's so cheap and yet such good quality. Lots of people worry about their safety in Cape Town, but we felt fine walking around during daylight. In the evening we took taxi's from the Waterfront, which were also pretty cheap.
I can't imagine a better place to stay in Cape Town than the Cape Heritage Hotel. It's upmarket, relaxing and full of character. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

810 - 816 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

Located in a building from around 1790, but very tastefully modernised so that the original character has remained, this is one of the most charming hotels we have ever stayed in. The rooms are spacious, with lofty ceilings, and the facilities are spot-on. In our case, the bathroom was huge and had a lovely old-fashioned bath tub as well as a separate very spacious shower cubicle. A simple but excellent breakfast, where things are cooked freshly by order, can be taken outside in the courtyard if the weather allows. In the same building there are four restaurants, which range from top of the range cuisine to simple Thai. The hotel is located close to the main shopping streets and yet is surprisingly quiet: we slept very well. But the real stars of the hotel are the staff. They are unfailingly friendly and helpful; nothing is too much trouble. The staff make you feel at home from the moment you enter until you say goodbye, determined to return here next time you are in town!

Room Tip: It is possible that rooms at the back or side may be even quieter than the one on the front where we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adspharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel is a real find. We have stayed twice now on trips to ride the Cape Argus bike race. They have wonderful attentive staff who make such an effort, and go out of their way make you feel welcome. My girlfiend and i had an unfortunate incident involving a robbery while we were in CT and staff at the hotel could not have been better. they went out of their way to help us witht he police and to help us put everything back together. We would have been lost without their help.

The hotel has loads of pictures and stories from the colonial past of Cape Town. It is also an oasis of calm sophistication in a city that can be crazy. There is a great deck with a Hot tub which is one of my favourite places to hang out. The hotel is part of a square with restaurants and bars attached all of which are very good, but for that reason Friday nights can be noisy until about midnight.

I am sure there are trendier hotels in Cape Town with pools and gyms etc, but i will never stay anywhere else there. They are like and extension of our family and friends in South Africa

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klyndsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We could not recommend this hotel more. We arrived here for the first few days of our honeymoon and they staff were absolutely amazing. All the staff went out of their way to recommend places to go to eat and visit, ringing restaurants and taxis for us. Breakfast was always lovely and the room was beautifully decorated and kept. The staff made us feel very special, leaving us champagne and decorating our room with rose petals for when we came back from our meal out!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I had a wonderful time at the Cape Heritage Hotel in Cape Town last week. This was my second visit at the hotel and it was every bit of as great as i remembered from my first timr. The hotel is fairly small and cozy, the stuff is very helpful and they know you by the name, all the rooms have been decorated individually with very good taste and the restaurant at the courtyard is one of the best in the city. I travel a lot for work and i spend about 200 nights in hotels every year and this hotel stands out of the crowd. I've noticed that often hotels try to add different taxes, resort fees and services charges to your account and it adds up to your bill. There is nothing like that at Cape Heritage. You pay for your room and that's it. The hotel has free WIFI and a breakfast that will start your day with a smile. I'm a fan of Cape Heritage Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank base646fi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I was travelling for work, with my wife and my 15 years old son. The Hotel was a fantastic choice, both for me and for them. The staff is absolutely kind and helpful. The room 101 was large, clean and quiet. The Hotel has its own guides, which are professional, pleasant and enjoyable. Don't miss a visit to the Townships with them - a different way.

Room Tip: The Hotel has few rooms. If you need a triple room, the number 101 is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauro Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We could not have started our Cape holiday at a better place!! This must be one of Cape towns best kept secrets. The Cape Heritage Hotel is really a unique and amazing place to spend a few nights. Each room is unique and the staff is amazing. We were travelling with our one year old boy and when we got to our room there was a baby cot already set up with special baby towels !! This while most Boutique hotels in Cape Town turned us away because we had our baby travelling with us.

What is also very convenient is that five of Cape Towns best restuarants are "inside" the hotel, you litteraly step out of your room, walk into the courtyard and decide on a restaurant!! The included breakfast was also fantastic and served in a very comfy breakfast room.

When we are in Cape-Town again this will be our first choice in a hotel !!

Room Tip: The Junior Suites are top-notch, well worth the money !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kallie3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,461 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,395 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#5 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,904 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,810 reviews
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#6 of 112 in Cape Town Central
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Heritage Hotel

Address: 90 Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $127 - $723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Heritage Square in the heart of Cape Town, the Cape Heritage is a boutique four star hotel that is historic and contemporary; intimate and lively; and stylish and cozy. Originally built in 1771, the hotel has 17 individually decorated bedrooms, which not only retain the charm of the past but are also equipped with an array of modern comforts. The hotel opens out onto a courtyard that houses the oldest living grapevine in South Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing