We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Heritage Hotel
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
belgium
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great hotel, wonderful staff”
Reviewed March 30, 2008

This is a great hotel with superlative staff. We stayed 4 nights in March in a suite which accommodated 2 adults and 2 teenage children. This was our first trip to Cape Town and we were uncertain of where best to base ourselves. We were really thankful we did not opt for Waterfront. This is not the real Cape Town. It could be Disneyland. Cape Heritage on the other hand is in the real city. Everything you could want is close by including good restaurants. Taxis are cheap if you want to go further afield in the evenings. But the real plus about the hotel, is the charm of the staff and the enormous efforts they go to to keep the customer satisfied. Sam went out of her way even to ensure that every wish was fulfilled. I travel a lot for business and can only wish there were more hotels like this.

  • Liked — character of hotel and quality of staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Camaderry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,014
    196
    30
    6
    6
See reviews for
165
702
85
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2008

It is so rare for a single hotel to have everything you want in one package but the Cape Heritage manages that and more. Should I list them? Why not! Great location (within easy walk of downtown), amazing personal service, super big room (and bathroom), comfy bed, air con, interesting building, good breakfasts, surrounded by excellent places to eat (the Savoy Cabbage is a delight), cheap chauffeur service (in Mercedes limos, no less), and a bit of a bonus in the enclosed courtyard where you could enjoy a drink or a snack from one of the restaurants or bars in the complex, or simply sit there in the shade and relax. The staff are friendly and helpful, the service discreet but efficient. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer!

  • Liked — Space, service, character
  • Disliked — Lots of stairs!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank manofekent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2008

We started and ended our wonderful 2 weeks in SA at the Cape Heritage, arriving 3 March 2008. The hotel dates back to 1771, is small (only 15 bedrooms) and personal. The staff are super friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The buffet breakfast of cereal, fruit, cold meats, cheese, fruit juice, cooked breakfast (the best scrambled eggs in SA) coffee/tea, toast/croissant/preserves etc is more than adequate and is served either indoors or outside in the courtyard. Some of the bedrooms overlook a main road but didn't prove too noisy and after midnight virtually no noise at all. We were only a short stroll away from the local market square selling a multitude of handmade crafts of varying quality, and a 30 minute walk down to the V&A waterfront (they say 20 mins and 3/4 km but there are quite a number of busy roads to cross and we never made it in under 30 mins-not really a problem-ask the staff to call a taxi for you if you aren't up to it). The hotel is B&B only so we ate next door at the Caveau (access through the hotel) every night and weren't disappointed once. Cape Heritage is due to close for a short time in June this year for refurbishments and will then provide a sundeck (one thing that we missed was having somewhere sit out in the sun with a book/drink after returning from a busy day) but apart from that, can't really fault this hotel at all.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank wendybotecumin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2008

This hotel & is delightful staff show there is still places that have service with a GENUINE smile
Stayed here for five nights in March & what can I say, all the staff know you by name & go out of their way to help you make the most of your stay. Its position is brilliant for in town attractions & the city Red & Blue route bus tours stop two blocks round the corner, two minutes walk to Long Street & Greenmarket Square
Caveaux the wine bar next door is also a delight as is the attached Deli over 600 wines by the glass or bottle.
Rooms are spacious & well furnished & all individual, far nicer than the homoginised Waterfront hotels. We found it perfectly safe to walk out at night so take no notice of the tour bus guides that tell you otherwise I think White Capetownians live in fear of fear. If you get the chance use the hotels recomemdations for tours we used Jamie for a full day to Cape Point , vineyard,osterich farm & Bolders Beach & the Penquin colony, you will not be disapointed, he will take you werever you want & is so informed. Dont miss a trip to a Township either.......WOW

  • Liked — The brilliant personal servivice
  • Disliked — Nil
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank asiasusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2008

A fantastic hotel with delightful staff - a true gem of a place to stay. Highly recommend and will stay there again.

  • Liked — The general ambience and home-from-home appeal of the hotel
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ADSSouthCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2008

We stayed at the Cape Heritage for 3 nights at the end of February during a holiday to Zambia and South Africa. We had booked the hotel after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. The hotel is small, but very comfortable. Our room was large and very well furnished with a separate dressing room and huge bathroom. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. In addition to the continental breakfast you could have a full English breakfast, cooked to order. There are several nice restaurants in the area and while being in the city centre the hotel is in easy distance of the V & A Waterfront. Cape Heritage Hotel has as associate company, Cape Heritage Tours, who supply private tour guides/drivers. We decided to book a private tour of the Cape Point and were lucky enough to have a marvellous guy called Jamie as our guide. In fact we used Jamie again for another tour during our stay. He is a very knowledgeable accredited South African tour guide, but with the added bonus of a delightful personality. We spent two great days with him and for anyone thinking of booking a private tour guide we could thoroughly recommend him. You won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Large, well furnished bedroom with very comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Happytravellers273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2008

Can not sing the praises of this hotel enough. The friendliness that the staff offer is second to none. We had three wonderful days there and can recommend this quirky hotel to anyone who wants to feel like an individual and not a name on a guest register. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable.Breakfast in the courtyard was a good start to the day.It's position is great for walking and is only 2 blocks from main shopping areas and market,The Waterfront is only a gentle 15/20 minutes away with all its attractions too.
Can't wait to go to The Heritage and Cape Town again
Well Done

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Castalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,015 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Heritage Hotel

Property: Cape Heritage Hotel
Address: 90 Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Heritage Square in the heart of Cape Town, the Cape Heritage is a boutique four star hotel that is historic and contemporary; intimate and lively; and stylish and cozy. Originally built in 1771, the hotel has 17 individually decorated bedrooms, which not only retain the charm of the past but are also equipped with an array of modern comforts. The hotel opens out onto a courtyard that houses the oldest living grapevine in South Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing