We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We felt so much at home, we'd definitely go back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cape Heritage Hotel
Ranked #11 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We felt so much at home, we'd definitely go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed here 6 nights in all, 3 at the start at 3 at the end of what was our honeymoon, so incredibly important. We were not disappointed! From the moment we were greeted on arrival with fresh coffee, to the complimentary champagne in the room the staff, especially Bamford and Renee were so warm and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.
Some of the hotel decor was imaginative and quirky; other parts were just very homely and relaxing; the bedrooms were wonderful. We had different rooms at each stay and while the first was the most spectacular with it's huge bathroom, the second room was still lovely. Each room has a different theme for it's decor so they all have their own character. In- room amenities included plenty of filtered water (which could be topped up at any time) and free wifi.
Breakfast was excellent with wonderful fresh fruit, breads, cereals and a menu of cooked options.
The location was really convenient with the City Centre within easy walking distance and The Waterfront a short taxi ride away. Advice and help was always available for planning our sightseeing trips or making reservations for dinner and in such a cheerful manner.
There are excellent restaurants within a very short distance, especially the Savoy Cabbage just around the corner.
All in all we really were made to feel at home and would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gray_Joybells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    183
    29
    5
    5
See reviews for
151
666
79
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

I read all the wonderful reviews of this hotel before I booked it. It met my expectations. The hotel provided nice comfortable rooms in a warm inviting setting. Staff and service was very attentive.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a part of our honeymoon during the New Year period. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel was lovely and the NYE party was fantastic! We had a balcony overlooking the courtyard which was great. I would definately recommend this hotel for a special occasion as we were spoit with rose petals and champagne on arrival which was a lovely touch. Location was great and the roof top jacuzzi was lovely also.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrMrsD127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

The hip, contemporary feel is subtle but bold, and manages to do great justice to the very historic feel of this tranquil, chic place. This is how it's done, people. Kudos to the designer. Appropriate touches of luxury don't hurt either.
Staff are excellent and delightful. Wifi was easy and fast.
Some of the best restaurants are right here in Heritage Square, as is the excellent "Signal Hill" winery and tasting room (a terrific novelty). This place is a less "trendoid", more sophisticated version of "Cape Quarters" in die Waterkant.
Lastly, this is excellent value for money in a country that is rapidly pricing itself into the stratosphere (Seems that South Africa is more expensive than most of the first world these days).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AntKlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, located near enough to the V & A waterfront and within walking distance to Long St. The staff really made us feel welcome and they were very helpful with pretty much anything we wanted to know. The rooms are very luxurious, and very clean, we would definately go back. Oh and the restaurant adjoining the hotel is excellent.

The free internet was very useful in looking for attractions and talking back home, if we did need any information regarding attractions the hotel staff where allways there to help and book anything we whished to see.

The room mini bar proved to be very useful as well and was very reasonably priced if you needed anything to drink from wine to water.
If you are looking for a short stay to a two week holiday you will not be dissapointed,

Room Tip: book it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clare_roberts9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

Generally a very pleasant stay. The welcome could have been a little more enthusiastic from the reception desk, but it was perfectly polite. The main attraction at this hotel is the stunning decor, style and character (both in the rooms and the public areas). Our room was a little small, but the ambience & unique style is so lovely, the lack of space is forgiven. There was a little street noise during the night, but it was not too disturbing. Having just arrived in south africa we were a bit disappointed that the bar downstairs did not have any local beers, only European imports!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JVTOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

We spent 4 nights here at beginning of a month spent in S.A. And Zimbabwe. The room was excellent, very comfortable, colonial style furniture including kingside four poster with good mattress, pillows and bedding. Staff very friendly and our driver who took us to visit the wine area and our airport runs was highly informative and charming.
In the square behind the hotel, there are a number of eating places, all excellent value and good service. For something special in gastronomy try the Savoy Cabbage, highly imaginative local specialities.
The Green Market square is 5 mins walk away in the old town, excellent for local arts and crafts. Also, tea at Mount Nelson is within walking distance, as is the open tour bus stop.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuzfromCrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Heritage Hotel

Property: Cape Heritage Hotel
Address: 90 Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Heritage Square in the heart of Cape Town, the Cape Heritage is a boutique four star hotel that is historic and contemporary; intimate and lively; and stylish and cozy. Originally built in 1771, the hotel has 17 individually decorated bedrooms, which not only retain the charm of the past but are also equipped with an array of modern comforts. The hotel opens out onto a courtyard that houses the oldest living grapevine in South Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Cape Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing