We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Elegant and Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Ranked #69 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I was there over for 2 nights and 3 days and had a decent and wonderful stay and the Ambience in the room and Reception and restaurant was simply excellent.Had an amazing stay and location of the hotel is walk able to Sea point and easy driving distance to Camps bay, Stadium and waterfront ..

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank handsomerob_mahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janneman B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear handsomerob_mahe

Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Sea Point and for taking the time to write a review. It looks like you and the family had a great stay in Cape Town and enjoyed the fresh air and the new hotel. There are many more activities for you and the family and we look forward to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

256 - 262 of 343 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

I had a very enjoyable stay at the Protea Hotel Sea Point. It is wonderfully close to the beach, which is a definite plus when you're visiting Cape Town for business. Rooms are comfortable, and there are countless restaurants and take-aways close by. The only repeated problem I had was the key cards that just randomly stopped working.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UltraMel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear UltraMel74

Thank you for staying with us and for the lovely review.

The hotel location is ideal for business or leisure visits to Cape Town and you have access to many restaurants, shops and tourist activities. Please accept my apologies for the key cards that stopped working – we are investigating this and can assure you that we will fix this.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Janneman Britz
General Manager
Protea Hotel Sea Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We enjoyed this hotel for it's clean rooms and great proximity to the ocean. Best of all was floating in the pool on the deck and seeing the mountain on one side and the sea on the other. With all the basic amenities you'd expect, this hotel didn't fall short. They were very friendly and helped us arrange transport to table mountain with utmost punctuality and care. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shwamibaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear shwamibaby

Thank you for staying for us and for the review.

The location of our hotel is great to explore the many attractions Cape Town has to offer.

I am glad you had a great visit to our city and hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back and recommending a few more places to visit.

Kind Regards
Janneman Britz
General Manager
Protea Hotel Sea Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

usually stay at their sister property, the President but decided to give this one a try for a short valentine weekender. The room was small, reeked of cigarettes and I needed to provide all kinds of proof of payment before they accepted my cleartrip/expedia invoice. No minibar and very small room.
pool was not worth the mention.

Big plus was on the Sea Point promenade for some early exercise...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Gavj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Gavj11

Thank you for providing us with valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

The entire hotel is non smoking and I apologise for your disappointment. I will certainly be addressing this with the STAFF to ensure this is being communicated to our GUESTS.

Our superior rooms are larger and come with a minibar in the room. Please request this room type on your next stay with us.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our location on the beachfront. I hope you had a chance to visit the outdoor gym on the promenade during your stay.

Kind Regards
Janneman Britz
General Manager
Protea Hotel Sea Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is good and adequate for a short stay. I stayed for four nights.

Spur is the hotel restaurant and suffices for the odd occasion that one is not able to explore other culinary offerings of the city. The hotel is located well between the city and Camps bay and so allows one to go to Cape Town for work and leisure and still close enough to explore the rest of the Atlantic Seaboard.

My only gripe is the size of the room I had and the placement of the tv which is placed in a "head-butting" position for someone of my average height.

Other than that I would book the hotel again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank TSH010GP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear TSH010GP

Thank you for staying with us and for the review.

The hotel location is ideal to explore Cape Town and surrounds. We have several restaurants within walking distance to cater for every culinary experience.

On your next visit, take a look at the various room types available in order to choose one that best suits your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards
Janneman Britz
General Manager
Protea Hotel Sea Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I stayed 1 night and would like to have stayed longer. Recent renovations gives it a sleak look. My room was below average in size not leaving much room if a second luggage bag was accompanied. Manager left a personalized addressed hand written welcome note in room which is a nice taste. Located 1 block from Sea Point promenade.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Paul L

Thank you for choosing Protea Hotel Sea Point and for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

Your reviews on the restaurants in Cape Town is a great help to any traveller coming to explore our city – there are a few more to recommend to you and we look forward to your next visit.

Give us a call and we ensure we get a room that best suits your needs when travelling here again.

Kind Regards
Janneman Britz
General Manager
Protea Hotel Sea Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I visited the sea point protea hotel and the service was terrific the manager left champagne and chocolates in my room it was just that personal touch that me and my wife needed to get our anniversary off to the right start the pool the room service everything was amazing I've visited a lot of hotels but I think the seapoint protea hotel out shines them all

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank godluvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear godluvs

Thank you for staying with us choosing to share your anniversary with us.

We wish you many more happy years to come.

We are always in search of excellence and I will make sure to share your compliments with the TEAM.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Janneman Britz
General Manager
Protea Hotel Sea Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#62 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,007 reviews
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#25 of 111 in Cape Town Central
520 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#46 of 111 in Cape Town Central
803 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 111 in Cape Town Central
361 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#54 of 111 in Cape Town Central
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point

Address: Arthur's Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $129 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a block away from Sea Point Promenade and the cool Atlantic shoreline, this stylish three star hotel guarantees GUESTS an experience that’s freshly different. Protea Hotel by Marriott Sea Point is a comfortable oasis for corporate and leisure travellers alike who want to experience the best of Cape Town in a tranquil beach house feel. Protea by Hotel by Marriott Sea Point is Freshly Different. This seaside hotel offers either mountain or sea views from the rooms and the vast range of amenities ensures a home-away-from-home feel. The hotels’ most talked about is the interactive lobby and lounge area. Minutes away from Camps Bay beaches, V&A Waterfront and the CBD; not to mention the beautiful Cape Town promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Protea Hotel Sea Point
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Sea Point South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing