We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, good hotel for short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Ranked #67 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good location, good hotel for short stay”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is good and adequate for a short stay. I stayed for four nights.

Spur is the hotel restaurant and suffices for the odd occasion that one is not able to explore other culinary offerings of the city. The hotel is located well between the city and Camps bay and so allows one to go to Cape Town for work and leisure and still close enough to explore the rest of the Atlantic Seaboard.

My only gripe is the size of the room I had and the placement of the tv which is placed in a "head-butting" position for someone of my average height.

Other than that I would book the hotel again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TSH010GP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear TSH010GP

Thank you for staying with us and for the review.

The hotel location is ideal to explore Cape Town and surrounds. We have several restaurants within walking distance to cater for every culinary experience.

On your next visit, take a look at the various room types available in order to choose one that best suits your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards
Janneman Britz
General Manager
Protea Hotel Sea Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    152
    49
    17
    16
See reviews for
59
118
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I stayed 1 night and would like to have stayed longer. Recent renovations gives it a sleak look. My room was below average in size not leaving much room if a second luggage bag was accompanied. Manager left a personalized addressed hand written welcome note in room which is a nice taste. Located 1 block from Sea Point promenade.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Paul L

Thank you for choosing Protea Hotel Sea Point and for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

Your reviews on the restaurants in Cape Town is a great help to any traveller coming to explore our city – there are a few more to recommend to you and we look forward to your next visit.

Give us a call and we ensure we get a room that best suits your needs when travelling here again.

Kind Regards
Janneman Britz
General Manager
Protea Hotel Sea Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I visited the sea point protea hotel and the service was terrific the manager left champagne and chocolates in my room it was just that personal touch that me and my wife needed to get our anniversary off to the right start the pool the room service everything was amazing I've visited a lot of hotels but I think the seapoint protea hotel out shines them all

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank godluvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear godluvs

Thank you for staying with us choosing to share your anniversary with us.

We wish you many more happy years to come.

We are always in search of excellence and I will make sure to share your compliments with the TEAM.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Janneman Britz
General Manager
Protea Hotel Sea Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Lovely hotel! Staff were excellent, rooms comfortable and clean. Great view from balcony. You can dine at the Seven Spur right on the premises, one of the few spurs were the food tastes as good as it smells! The hotel is in a great location to explore and go for walks. Nestled between the sea and the mountain, really stunning.

Room Tip: Loved our balcony suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Ann H

Thank you for staying with us and for the great review.

The rooms with the balcony are amazing to enjoy the fresh air and beautiful view. The pool deck on the 4th floor is also a great option and being on the Atlantic Seaboard gives you access to Cape Town and Camps Bay.

There are many more restaurants to choose from within walking distance from the hotel and we do look forward to welcoming you back soon to explore more.

Kind Regards
Janneman Britz
General Manager
Protea Hotel Sea Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2014

11 Jan 2014 , my friends and i celebrated our friendship at the hotel . Everything and everyone was perfect . Room 616 the breakfast and lovely staff we wil never forget there kindness towards us. Indeed enjoyd our stay and will be back very soon . Miss Jacobs

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liezel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Lie88

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your celebration with Protea Hotel Sea Point – we are truly honoured.

We are always in search of excellence and I will share your comments with my TEAM.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards
Janneman Britz
General Manager
Protea Hotel Sea Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Been going to the hotel for 7 years now.Every time my family and I return its like going home, with the warmest welcome and smiles ( yes, Melanie, Avril, Theo and Patrick, those are super BIG SMILES). Great position.Affordable,lovely new rooms,clean,smells of the stunning ocean.Jeremy and Claire are the ones to contact for reservations,they will go out of their way for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Joel H

Thank you for staying at Protea Hotel Sea Point again and for taking the time to write a review.

The TEAM aims to provide the best GUEST service and I will make sure to pass along your compliments. The renovations were certainly a great success and the beach house look and feel have been received very well by regular travellers such as yourself and new GUESTS as well.

We look forward to welcoming you and the family back again this festive season.

Kind Regards
Janneman Britz
General Manager
Protea Hotel Sea Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We booked into the Protea Sea Point over the December holiday and it ended up being a nightmare ! The first day we arrived the air-conditioner wasn't working and so we had workers fixing it for half the day and we had to wait there for them to finish. Then the following day the safe wasn't working with all of our stuff inside it. Once again we had to wait for the hotel staff to come open and fix it - while seeing all of our valuables inside.

The day after that we had a wedding and the gift was in the safe - when we were leaving for the wedding I went to open the safe and once again it wasn't working. The staff came up again to open it - this resulted in us running 45 minutes late for the wedding.

There were also hygiene issues - I found 3 long black hairs on my bath towel and I'm blonde ...

The wood in the bathroom was rotting from being wet and there was a constant smell in the room.

We eventually took it up with management who seemed to be very apologetic and offered us certain compensation, saying they would email us the details. However we didn't receive the email and when we eventually contacted them they weren't willing to give everything that was promised.


On a whole a very very unpleasant stay!!! I would strongly recommend you look else where for accommodation.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank G707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear G707

Thank you for staying at Protea Hotel Sea Point.

Please accept my sincere apologies for your stay experience. This is not the brand experience we strive to deliver. We are in the process of delivering the promises made to you on departure.

I can assure you that we are always in search of excellence and we look forward to welcoming you back to experience true Protea Hospitality.

Kind Regards
Janneman Britz
General Manager
Protea Hotel Sea Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 106 in Cape Town Central
917 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#79 of 106 in Cape Town Central
976 reviews
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#54 of 106 in Cape Town Central
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 106 in Cape Town Central
756 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,653 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#45 of 106 in Cape Town Central
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Address: Arthur's Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REFURBISHED. Located a block away from Sea Point Promenade and the cool Atlantic shoreline, this stylish three star hotel guarantees GUESTS an experience that’s freshly different. Protea Hotel Sea Point is a comfortable oasis for corporate and leisure travellers alike who want to experience the best of Cape Town in a tranquil beach house feel. Protea Hotel Sea Point is Freshly Different. This seaside hotel offers either mountain or sea views from the rooms and the vast range of amenities ensures a home-away-from-home feel. The hotels’ most talked about feature is the individuality of the six Luxury Art Suites and the interactive lobby and lounge area. Minutes away from Camps Bay beaches, V&A Waterfront and the CBD; not to mention the beautiful Cape Town promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Marriott, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Protea Hotel Sea Point
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Sea Point South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing