We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect position for short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
oxon
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Perfect position for short stay”
Reviewed December 30, 2008

we stayed here for 5 nights in early December. Great position on Waterfront and very attentive staff. First floor room overlooking the piazza, large and comfortable with two easy chairs, could be noisy with window open. Breakfast served on the harbourside with great view of Table mountain. Very pleasant pool area up by the Dock House 100 meters away. Some good restaurants within 5 minutes walk, Den Anker especially. Would return.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ironmanOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    460
    137
    26
    24
See reviews for
221
822
76
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2008

We made and payed a reserve for one room with two beds. But, when we arrived, they didnt it. We stayed in a superior room, like a cellar, for 6 days. Then, we reclaim, and they were very rude. After many disgustin, we got the room wich we payed. And the card's room acess didnt working weel, all the time we need to change. Is expensive for this kind of service. Sorry, my English is short.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank cartinacartina789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2008

Unfortunately, we had the very same experience of staying in a superior loft room. We had chosen this hotel for its location, plus requested a room with a view of table mountain.

What did we get - a small room with one skylight - you could see Table Mountain if you stood on a chair and stuck your head out the skylight ! We paid top dollar for a disappointing experience.

We had been travelling for 10 hours and had requested an airport pickup. On arrival at the airport there was no driver and after phoning the hotel were told to wait 30-40 mins for a car. We took a taxi instead to the hotel where the staff tried to blame the 'no show' on the driver, then changed their story and said that in fact, they had forgotten to send a car !

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Wes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2008

My friend and I are two single ladies and worried about coming to Cape Town and after reading reviews and doing my research I found the V &A on the waterfront was the best option . It was 100% correct decision. It is the most friendliest staffed hotel ever! They could not do enough for us. The driver picked us up from the airport (£20!!) and ferried us around (very cheap) and we hada ball. The food and drink is great price for the level hotel it is and the room service is so inexpensive (no extra cost for room service!!!) Included the most fantastic breakfast with the most amazing view of the mountain and breakfast served (if required) outside on the terrace over looking the harbour. The shopping centre is 2 min walk and so many shops, so much to buy and not expensive. Also a indoor market less than 1 min walk away, so many restaurants with bars (no noise!) You must go on CAPE ESCAPE tour (girls /ladies ask for Patrick who is originally from paris amazing blue eyes!!, what a tour guide!!!) which takes you to Cape Hope/Point, see the penguins at Simon Town and the trip is 5 hours of stunning beauty ( not just patrick!!) I was terrified of going up in the cable car to Table Top mountain but would not have missed for the world. I enjoyed every minute from landing and having a 'singing' customs guy check the passports to the south African bag pipe player at arrivals, if could sum up my time there in one word...AMAZING!!!!!!

  • Liked — Position
  • Disliked — could not stay longer!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnederby01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2008

We had an amazing stay at the Dock House (the new annex to the V & A hotel) that was perfect place to get over jet lag and begin our incredible vacation. We were glad that we had arranged for a driver to pick us up at the airport after the long flight. They gave us the option of the Dock House and being the explorer I am, of course we wanted to check it out. They drove us across the street and we were given a full tour by the professional staff. Their long flowing white Victorian outfits made me think that were in heaven and perhaps did not survive the flight. The decor was white, metallic, dark wood, and marble. The over the top features of the room were the lighted closet rod, two flat screen TVs, oversized shower with poof, robes, fresh flowers,apples, free internet, oversized toiletry bottles, extremely comfortable duvet bed, robes, large tub, and fully stocked bar (too big to call it "mini.") I laughed at the items I had brought just in case I did not have some of my comforts of home. How nice it was to have bottled water replaced daily because it is always a chore on vacation to find affordable water. There was a button for 24 hour service that we rarely used. This was our first butler experience and were not sure how to keep him busy. We had chosen the V & A for its proximity to restaurants, shops, and safety on the waterfront. Our doorman would be out as we returned in our rental car which we parked right outside the door for free and opened our door for us and our butler was at the door to see if we needed anything. The location on a bluff was very quiet because we were away from the waterfront noise. The towel and slippers by our bedside with silver tray of pelligrino and fresh confection were over the top. The breakfast room had the same lovely bright, white and metallic decor. The service was attentive and the food was exquisite. There was fresh fruit and pastries if you were in a hurry. On the last day we left very early for a flight to Botswana. Our doorman and staff helped us load the luggage and saw us off. They took the rest of our luggage which we could not bring because of the Cessna weight limit of 26 pounds. Our luggage was held for safe keeping at the V & A until we returned. We were very sad to have to leave this heavenly place and hope to be able to return some day.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CyberFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2008

We stayed at the Victoria and Alfred Hotel from 19th to 29th August 2008. The hotel is in an excellent position, breakfast is excellent with a wide choice of fruits and breads. The cooked breakfast was also excellent. While eating your breakfast you have a superb view of Table Top mountain. The staff were helpful and efficient. With special thanks to Shirley Bolton who with her staff arranged a special treat, and flowers for us on our 25th wedding anniversary which we celebrated while staying at the hotel.
Our room was large and clean. The shower was very good. We arrived at the hotel in the early hours and were delighted to say they had a room available.
This was one of the best hotels we have stayed in.

  • Liked — room size, clean, comfy beds, helpful staff
  • Disliked — need a bit of double glazing!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank screamEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2008

We stayed in a Superior Loft Room for 10 days in March and were left with a general feeling of being ripped off.

On arrival we were told our room was not ready, no apology. The reception staff were abrupt, bordering on rude at times. The loft room was very small and the outdoor tub looks a lot better in pictures than in reality.

A nice touch was a half bottle of champagne in our room but then housekeeping failed to remove the ice bucket and empty bottle for 3 days.

We did not receive one 'complimentary newspaper' throughout our entire stay.

I had to call housekeeping a number of times to request laundry bags.
The food and service in the restaurant were both mediocre.

The bar had very little atmosphere. Although '24 hour' , we arrived back for a drink one evening with friends to find most of the chairs upturned. We were served a drink but felt uncomfortable being there so late.

Internet use was charged at the astronomical rate of 25 euro per day.
I was really annoyed when we were contacted by reception at midday on our last day to 'remind' us to check out. Bearing in mind that we were made wait for our room for a few hours on arrival, we said we would be out by 12:30. Having stayed for 10 days I thought this should be no problem. However, the receptionist's response was 'Can you make it 12:15?'

The hotel was very clean and the buffet breakfast was excellent but anyone expecting an experience that will come close to the 5 star price will be gravely disappointed.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed March 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MollyGuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
687 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
726 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Property: Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing