We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything excellent but un unrequested wake up call at 6,00 am”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #25 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2014

Pros
In the heart of waterfront
Good mattress
Third floor room quite quite (even if you have only velux instead of real windows; but from the velux you can have a great view on water and table mountain)
WI-fi perfectly working

Cons
It is unacceptable that the concierge wake me up at 6,00 insisting that I asked for such call, being part of a group leaving. Yes my dear man, I was part of a very big group: me and my wife!!!
No slippers available

Room Tip: Ask for panoramic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just_Me_Roma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies for the early call. We do provide slippers should any guests wish.
Kind regards
Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

673 - 679 of 1,564 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2014

Wonderful hotel, fantastic location. Buffet breakfast was good but if you like to start the day with bubbly and oysters then I guess it would be amazing. Service at breakfast very patchy when I was there and I felt a couple of the staff in charge felt their job was beneath them which was a great shame as it was the only complaint I had. Location was great to shop and get hop on hop off bus that I took to Table mountain. I also felt very safe as an older woman travelling alone and venturing out at night for a wander round and evening meal. My room overlooking the waterfront was just superb and I did try to purchase the same pillows on my return to Australia but sadly to no avail. Can't wait to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DL1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Thank you kindly for your comments. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and will be returning.

I look forward to meeting you on your next stay.

Kind regards
Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

It was very relaxing, and the staff were very friendly to us. There was a lot to do in the area, and the scenery was fantastic. I would recommend it to anyone. There are many great restaurants on the area too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelTim1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are certainly very proud of our staffs achievements in taking care of our guests and appreciate your acknowledgement.

Many thanks
Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

Our suite at the V&A on the waterfront was just stunning! The view over the harbour and out to Table Mountain is not easily forgotten and was such a treat on the first morning of our arrival in Capetown. The staff were friendly and very willing to help with tourism ideas, tickets etc. Loved the large bath and spacious bathroom with separate toilet, beds were comfortable and no noise near our room; very relaxing in such a lovely old world hotel.

The waterfront is a great place to begin a tour of Capetown - what a gorgeous city!

Room Tip: I suspect most rooms are good however check to see if renovations are over. Our suite was fabulous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank josiePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

We are truly spoilt with such an amazing location and we are very happy you chose to stay with us and enjoy our genuine hospitality.

Best regards
Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2014

This hotel is perfectly situated in the Cape Town Waterfront. The service is impeccable and the quality of the food cannot be faulted... The room was spacious and the king size bed very comfortable! The full english buffet breakfast includes oysters, bubbly, quality meats and fresh fruit - The eggs benedict was the best we have had... Overall a brilliant experience - General Manager Rey Franco runs a tight ship.. Faultless! We will definitely visit again soon!

Room Tip: junior suite with Kingsize bed - mountain facing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaulNinaSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

What a great review! thank you very much indeed. We are absolutely delighted you enjoyed our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back.

Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014

Previous to our holiday, we had heard many good things about the V&A hotel and therefore we were thrilled when our last minute reservation was confirmed. The hotel far exceeded our expectations and vastly added to our whole experience in Cape Town. We only booked for half board therefore only having bed and breakfast, but wow. The rooms were stunning and spotless, but the breakfast... I cannot recommend it enough. The only thing they didn't have, was porridge. We didn't even need the hot breakfast, could have happily had the 'continental' alone. But the hot breakfasts were cooked to order and were so delicious. However, what impressed me most, was the staff. I have never been so impressed with the service of an establishment. The staff were so kind, friendly and just couldn't do enough for you. Always smiling and always helpful. Naturally we didn't spend a massive amount of time in the hotel, but the time we did spend there definitely encouraged and future trips returning to South Africa.

Room Tip: Rooms that don't have a habour view are cheaper and are just as lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freyja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Your complimentary remarks regarding our fabulous team and hotel, the amazing location, the services and facilities are greatly appreciated.

On behalf of the entire team we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Best regards
Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

What an amazing hotel in a brilliant location. It was so close to all at the waterfront. We were also able to park our hire car and so had freedom to drive around. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel as there were so many restaurants around the waterfront to try. Breakfast at the hotel however was fantastic. We sat outside looking over the water and at table mountain. A lovely hotel that I would return to.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Emsussex58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Fab is a perfect description! We really appreciate your kind words, thank you very much.

Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 110 in Cape Town Central
717 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
771 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,074 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $251 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing