We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Memorable”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Unbelievable views, great position in the Waterfront, great service, very well appointed rooms. My wife and I had a wonderful weekend at this hotel. The only downsides perhaps were that we were not warned that refurbishments were being undertaken (we booked through TripAdvisor/ hotels.com, so such information would have been useful), even though the specific room we'd requested was affected. Also, eating in the hotel is a pricey affair (but there are plenty of places nearby to get a good meal). It's a good idea to get a mountain-facing room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Andrew

Thank you for your kind review. We do have a notice posted on Hotels.com with regards to the upgrade. That being said we are sorry this affected you. We are certainly looking forward to the amazing new bathrooms in the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back to experience our lovely hotel again.

My very best
Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    451
    136
    26
    24
See reviews for
220
812
76
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Henley in Arden
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We made a last minute booking here for our last night in Cape Town. There is parking out the front and you are made to feel welcome as soon as you pass through the gate. The room was a good size and overlooked the ferris wheel. it was a nice evening so we opened the windows and sat there listening to the music coming from the square and watching the lights come on. We were warned about the building work taking place on the second floor (bathroom updates), which started promtly at 9am. Only bad point was a large brown stain on the ceiling (from an upstairs bathroom leak?) which we informed reception of. Breakfast was one of the best breakfasts I've ever had! the dining room had amazing views and the choice was immense. Champagne and oysters for breakfast anyone?! Would recommend.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hsmith3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Henley

Thank you for your kind review and understanding as we upgrade our bathrooms.

Kind regards
Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

A friend who is South African recommended this hotel for a stay. Our visit to Cape Town was prior to taking a cruise. Our stay was for 3 nights. My wife and I recommended it to 4 other couples that were traveling with us from the US to South Africa. The 10 of us could not have been more pleased with the service we received from the hotel staff. The staff was wonderful. They made us feel that we were truly on vacation. The hotel was centrally located on the waterfront within walking distant to restaurants, shopping and entertainment. We did not use the fitness center or the pool. We were too busy exploring the attractions of Cape Town. Perhaps on another visit. The included breakfast was filling and excellent. It consisted of cold and hot items, healthy and decadent, something for everyone.

We would definitely stay at the V&A again.

Room Tip: The loft rooms facing Table Mountain offer a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Alvin, thank you very much for the lovely review. Our staff are certainly the heart of the business and we are delighted that we could be a part of enhancing your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

best regards
Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte Nc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The Victoria and Alfred is a waterfront jewel in a safe haven in the lovely city of Capetown, SA. Wonderful and accommodating staff ready to meet your every need. Wonderful breakfast buffet and beautifully appointed rooms make for a great stay. It is very conveniently located to good restaurants and the other amenities of the waterfront. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Fred, it is always heartening to receive such wonderful reviews. Thank you kindly and we do hope to welcome you back.

My best
Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
479 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

All the services / attractions / facilities that comprise the V&A Waterfront are within touching distance of this hotel...it's primary benefit ! The usual 'corporate' environment - clean, comfortable and 'fit for purpose' therefore be it leisure or business. The current hotel renovations DO disturb (noise at night for example), but the route returns on this investment will no doubt pay back quickly for both the guest as well as the owners.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nauj63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your review and understanding as we upgrade our bathrooms. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We spent four nights here in a loft room. A bit of a strange layout with the slanted roof....and windows on the ceiling..but worked out ok for us. Great view of the Ferris wheel, excellent location, included breakfast kept us full all day. Pleasant staff, very helpful. Walkable to highlights and HOHO bus. Great shopping. Would stay here again. Loved Capetown !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and of course fell in love with Cape Town. We cannot help but to do that ourselves every day! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights when visiting South Africa. This hotel is in a perfect location at the waterfront. You can walk to the shops, restaurants and take a boat tour all within 5 minutes from the hotel. Tour buses come to the hotel to take you to Table Mountain, Wine Tour, etc. The breakfast was excellent and the room was very clean and comfortable. Would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Jan

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. We are very happy indeed that you enjoyed your time at our lovely hotel.

Kind regards
Rey Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,687 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,997 reviews
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#45 of 109 in Cape Town Central
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Property: Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing