We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent stay with group” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #26 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent stay with group”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

What a great hotel! Fantastic location, nice and efficient staff, very clean. I took a group of 23 to V&A for a week. They arranged group check-in that took almost no time. Very accommodating. Good breakfast. Couldn't ask for a better location.

Room Tip: facing the water has great views with balcony doors/windows-- if you don't like bird/seagull noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Jennifer

We were delighted that you chose to bring your group to stay with us and are overjoyed that your experience was fabulous. Thank you very much indeed

My best regards
Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    429
    129
    25
    23
See reviews for
212
767
73
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Goudhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

First time in South Africa celebrating our wedding anniversary on a DIY holiday; perfect choice to start our holiday for location and ease to get to from airport in hire car. The Waterfront was a great place to walk around in the evening and central for trips out; breakfast good although occasionally staff "forgot" about you but this was really the only very minor negative - definitely go back

Room Tip: Recommend Waterfront facing "Loft Room" with a perfect view to Table Mountain and its &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 1988Graendog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your note on breakfast; this certainly assists us in applying the necessary corrective measures.

Kind regards
Rey Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in glorious room over looking the harbour and Table Mountain. Very comfortable & quiet despite being in the centre of the main tourist area for shops & restaurants. Reception & porter staff were friendly & helpful. So this would have been a 5* review except the service at breakfast, every day, was disorganised and unhelpful. If it hadn't primarily been a buffet would would probably have sat there for a very long time waiting to be served. Plus every morning our table was inadequately set with missing cutlery, plates, napkins etc etc so one had to scavenge from adjacent tables. Not what one expects at such a top-ranked hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starmanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you kindly for you constructive review. We acknowledge your comments on breakfast service and assure you that every possible remedial measure has been taken to address our shortcoming. We are nonetheless very glad you enjoyed your stay.

Best regards

Rey Franco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Great location right in the heart of the tourist area, so easy to walk around the docks, get to all the main tourist attrractions and see Table Mountain from below. We loved our room looking out over the harbour (with seals) and the mountain.

Staff were very helpful, particularly concierge and parking. Great breakfast.

We walked to the pool in the guesthouse across the road one afternoon for cocktails. This is a lovely setting, with personal and attentive service. BTW i looked at the rooms which are very well appointed and designed - our only concern staying there was security and I suspect it could be a bit noisy overlooking the wharf.

We would stay at the V & A hotel again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank peppersnaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Good day

Thanks for the wonderful feedback on your stay at the V&A Hotel. I'm very glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed 5 nights in March of 2014 with my son. The room was spacious - the bathroom was okay - could use with some updating. But the location was excellent - walking distance to many wonderful restaurants, and waterfront activities. The breakfast buffet (included) was great! Add the wonderful views of the harbor and Table Mountain and its a winner.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mftonat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you kindly for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are in fact embarking on a bathroom upgrade program this May so you can look forward to an amazing new look, feel and functionality.

Best Regards
Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Everything perfect except for internet bandwidth. In a hotel of that league I simply expect a bandwidth that is high enough to stream videos.
Especially good is the location direct at the waterfront.
Breakfast buffet is superb. Warm dishes are made to order.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Juergen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Juergen

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have added steps to improve the wifi.

Kind Regards
Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

A lovely hotel right on the waterfront with comfortable rooms. No pool or gym on site and a bit of a trek to the other side of the road for the shared pool which was rather small. Water in the bathrooms only lukewarm.

Room Tip: Overlooking the water or at the end of the hotel as piazza can be a little noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Miriam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Miriam

Thank you for your review. We have rectified the water challenge.

Regards
Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Property: Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, South African Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing