We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victoria & Alfred Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #24 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Excellent Hotel, very friendly staff, lovely large room only downside, be prepared to wait for service at breakfast. It was wonderful to sit in the arm chairs and watch the dolphins from our window. Lovely experience.

Room Tip: pay the little extra for a dockside / mountain view well worth it.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Sheila

Thank you for taking the time to offer your kind feedback, it is much appreciated. We have noted the breakfast timing and will ensure this is rectified.

My very best
Rey Franco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,540)
There are newer reviews for Victoria & Alfred Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

745 - 751 of 1,540 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

In a word ... Great!

I have high standards and expectations and I have to say I am very impressed with The Victoria & Alfred Hotel.

We always book a Piazza facing room - this may not suit everybody as it can be a little noisy outside, but personally we like this. From these rooms you see the hustle and bustle from the waterfront; the live bands playing outside and you can really soak up the ambience and atmosphere of the beautiful V&A waterfront. If you want a much quieter room then you should opt for a mountain facing room at the back.

The rooms are lovely. Quite spacious and very contemporary in design. The beds are SO comfortable!

Breakfast at the hotel is fantastic! The selection (especially the cold continental choices) is great! You can enjoy breakfast outside on the dock looking up at Table Mountain. Most of the waiters / waitresses are really efficient and pleasant. The odd one walks around looking a bit sour faced, but generally the service is really good. There was just one morning that the service and hot breakfast was disappointing - but I brought this to the attention of the restaurant supervisor and he really went out of his way to resolve the situation. I would like to give him a special mention actually ... his name was ADMIRE, and I have to say, myself and my family thought he was excellent. For the remainder of our stay, every morning, he made a real conscious effort to come and speak to us during breakfast to see that everything was ok. He was so friendly and pleasant and really gave excellent customer service.

I would also like to mention LYN who works on the front desk. I have encountered Lyn on all 3 visits to The V&A Hotel and every time without fail, she is incredibly warm and welcoming. From the moment we arrived, she welcomed us back and remembered details from our last visit a year ago. So impressive and was a great start to our stay.

So, overall, the hotel gets a big thumbs up from me. The location is perfect. I am sure we will be back again one day for a 4th visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Wow! thanks for such a great review. It was really great to have you back again, and Lynn and Admire send thier best wishes.

Safe travels

Rey Franco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

we found the service very good and the staff most helpful and pleaseant, especially the lady that booked us in. Sorry cant remember her name. The Hotel is so conveniently situated to the water , the aquarium and the shopping mall. wonderful selection of restaurants to choose from.

Room Tip: Although a bit more the mountain facing rooms are superb. However ther is nothing wrong with the oth...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank keith g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Keith

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Victoria & Alfred Hotel, and look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Best regards
Rey Franco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We enjoyed the stay. Good rooms, friendly staff and an excellent breakfast. If you don't want to rent a car or you don't like to go to a restaurant for dinner by car it is a perfect place to discover Cape Town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Frank Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Frank

Thank you kindly for your review. Cape Town is certainly an amazing place to explore and we are delighted that you chose to stay at our beautiful hotel in the city, and enjoyed it.

Best regards
Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

One of the first hotels to be built in the Waterfront . If you want to be part of the vibrant tourist environment with activities like helicopter rides and boat trips within walking distance, this one is for you.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enzo k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Enzo

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It is really fantatsic to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

My very best
Rey Franco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Room lovely, decor rather dull. Very noisy housekeeping in corridor from 7.30. Breakfast service haphazard. Restaurant so dull it would be a poor choice. This is an hotel in a superb location that rests on its laurels and lacks effort. The decor overall is incredibly bland and unimaginative in such a lively and vibrant location, even a few vases of flowers would lift it. The parking was brilliant, as was the concierge service. No one bothered to explain the facilities on offer in the hotel. No, the credit card machines not working is not a joke! Really this whole operation needs to pull its socks up!

Room Tip: Didn't use pool or fitness centre so no comment. We had room 101 on a corner with superb views.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Mike and Anne

Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive reviews. Each point has been given absolute priority in terms of remedial action.

Sincerely
Rey Franco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We were in a very comfortable attic room with a view of Table Mountain and the waterfront. The bathroom was very modern and appeared to have been recently refurbished. We were booked in for bed and breakfast only so cannot recommend the dinner. Service was friendly and although slow at times it was always with a smile and apologies for keeping us waiting. I agree with others that the tables were never prepared for us and we always had to ask for cups or cutlery.
The hotel is very central in the bustling waterfront, however the pool facilities are across the road and for that reason we never visited them. They did find room for us to park our hire car in the shade. We would go back because it's so close to attractions but they do need to pay attention to their service.

Room Tip: We requested a twin room as I was travelling with my son. We were given a double room and waited so...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Chris

Thank you very much for the lovely review and the constructive feedback received. We look forward to welcoming you back, the next time you're in Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 111 in Cape Town Central
707 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,248 reviews
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#48 of 111 in Cape Town Central
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,055 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $191 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing