We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would recommend it to everybody”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #24 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Wonderful location, friendly and helpful staff (except one unfortunate exception on one morning in the breakfast room), excellent breakfast - great rooms and a perfect view.
I can recommend this hotel to anybody and everybody who wants to go to Cape Town. Perfect starting point! Extremely safe environment, breakfast while looking at the harbour and Table mountain.
Nothing I would change here!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Dominique

Thanks for the wonderful review on the V&A Hotel and OYO Restaurant. I'm very happy to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,540)
There are newer reviews for Victoria & Alfred Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

792 - 798 of 1,540 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for four nights and had a great time.
A great location and had parking, which was a necessity, as the waterfront is a busy area.
Our room was modern in design and kept very clean.
Good wifi service, which we could get from our room, no needing to sit in the lobby to use it, like some hotels.
The breakfast was brilliant, there's a huge selection and the service is very good.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank BexterL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Good day

Thanks for the lovely review on your stay at the V&A Hotel. I'm very glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is probably the only hotel which is really located at the famous Waterfront (and offering a good price / performance), what a fantastic location. The view out of our room at the harbour and Table Mountain on the background is unforgettable. Besides the location they serve excellent food in the restaurant for Lunch & Dinner, nice menu with interesting variety of dishes. The staff is very kind and helpfull. Been here a couple of times in the past 7 years for business, but had now 5 lovely days with my wife for holidays. We will come back. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lex1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Lex

Thanks for the lovely review on the V&A Hotel. I'm very glad to hear that you've returned time & time again and that you find the location convenient. Your complementary remarks regarding the staff, service and OYO Restaurant are greatly appreciated.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and I returned to the Victoria & Alfred Hotel for our fifth wedding anniversary, having stayed here five years previously when we got married in Cape Town. Our room was lovely, and the view of Table Mountain spectacular. The staff were helpful and friendly in the hotel. However, we were a little disappointed by the Oyo Restaurant and felt it's level of service had slipped since the previous visit, so we only had the included breakfasts there and went elsewhere for other meals. Fortunately the hotel is located close to many restaurants at the Victoria Wharf Centre. I would recommend for any booking ensure you have a mountain view - it is worth the extra cost. Avoid the small, windowless rooms on level 3 as they would be cheap for good reason. The hotel now has a relationship with a small boutique hotel across the road, the Queen Victoria Hotel, in which the spa, gym and pool are located; these facilities are very nice. Overall we were very happy, but would suggest the hotel pay more attention to detail in the Oyo Restaurant to bring it back up to form.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the mountain view rooms - very much worth it.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LordGaladar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Good day

Thank you very much for the lovely and detailed feedback on the V&A Hotel as well as OYO Restaurant. Your feedback is much appreciated as this allows me to monitor our service levels to guests. Thank you very much, we hope to welcome you back on your 10 year wedding anniversary!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Great place, excellent position for visiting Cape Town, safe and clean neighbourhood, very confortable rooms, very kind personnel, beautiful view, complete breakfast (although a rooms facing the main entrance a bit noisy during day time).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FDM_SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Good day

Your complementary remarks regarding the staff, services and facilities are greatly appreciated - thank you very much for having taken the time to write this review.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I so enjoyed my stay at the V&A. I would of given it five stars if my room didn't have a few issures like a soft spot in the floor (room 321). Location was great for the harbor and table mountain view. Breakfast buffet for me was to die for. I thought the staff help was very curtious. I always felt safe.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the harbor on the 3rd floor!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear Eric

Thanks for the lovely feedback on your stay at the V&A Hotel. I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to South Africa.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We staid 3 nights at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, very central location with large variety of restaurants , Ferry to Robben Island, Hop-on/off sightseeingbus, Aquarium next. Large spacy room with great view. Internet was a bit poor, but it was free. Comfortable bed. Some noise from outside construction work nearby, but started first at 09 am. Did not visit Fitness and swimmingpool, so therefore given it an average on rating.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear Elin

Thanks for the lovely feedback on the V&A Hotel. I'm very happy to hear that the location was so convenient for you and that you've managed to make use of the lovely tourist attractions surrounding the hotel. We hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 111 in Cape Town Central
707 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,248 reviews
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#48 of 111 in Cape Town Central
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,055 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#42 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $192 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing