We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“V&A Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #27 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“V&A Cape Town”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Excellent stay at the V&A. The Hotel is ideally situated for visitors to the Waterfront area. The use of the pool facilities at the sister Hotel (Victoria) was ideal as we had done the Garden Route and just wanted a couple of relaxing days at the end of our Holiday.

Room Tip: Book on line and watch for good deals. We did and saved quite a lot on the "walk in" rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Christine

Thanks for the wonderful feedback, I'm very glad to hear that you've managed to make use of the facilities within our Waterfront portfolio and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    435
    132
    26
    23
See reviews for
212
777
74
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Wonderful location and views of Table Mountain. The only criticism I have is that the furniture needs to be overhauled and the bathrooms are very old and worn. Front desk and car valets were great and accommodating. I would recommend the V&A over paying much more for other hotels in the area especially if you are not planning on spending a lot of time in the room and at the hotel, as the pool and fitness center are across the road.

Room Tip: Pay extra for mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Tessa

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review in respect of your stay at the V&A Hotel. You'll be glad to know that we'll be redoing our bathrooms this year and we hope that you can enjoy our beautiful new bathrooms on your next visit. Thank you very much for the constructive feedback as this allows us to monitor our service levels to you, our guest.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hotel is very nice. Shopping right outside the door. On the waterfront in the marina. Right in the middle of Capetown, within walking of most anything you could want. Just a cab ride to anywhere. The rooms were very comfortable and the food and staff were great. I would definitely reccomend it to anyone travelling there. I would stay there again on my next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful--You can't choose wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank flyingblue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Good day

Thanks for the lovely review on the V&A Hotel. I'm happy to hear that you found the location of the hotel to be convenient and the staff friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

If you want a clean Hotel, with spacious rooms, quality decor, friendly staff and a fantastic restaurant and is perfectly situated in the centre of all the water front tourist attractions; then the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is the number one choice.

This was the most enjoyable, relaxed and comfortable accommodation we had the whole time we were in Africa. And some of the other places cost a whole lot more, yet did not deliver to the standard received in the V&A.

We will be back.

Charles
New Zealand

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Charles

Thanks for the complementary remarks received on your stay at the V&A Hotel. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Ending a two week trip to South Africa, three location vacation finishing at the luxurious V&A Hotel in the wonderful Waterfront area of Cape Town
We were returning to the V&A with our son & niece after we had spend New Year 2103 there. Beautiful location friendly staff in a seriously laid-back location
Food is wonderful. The only issue is that both stays were spoilt by 1 night of poor service in group hotels restaurants. They seem to suffer from lack of staff after New Year for 1 or 2 nights.
The Spa and pool facilities are wonderful and really allow you to relax after trekking on safari or after a trip up Table Mountain

Room Tip: Ask for Mountain facing rooms and wake up to a busy working harbour and Table Mountain splitting the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Brian

Thanks for the constructive feedback received on your stay at the V&A Hotel. I'm sorry to hear about the poor service received at the restaurants, this is certainly not acceptable as we aim to deliver only the highest standard of service. We hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to South Africa.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I have been in V&A hotel in the waterfront, Cape Town in Jan 2014 for 6 nights. I love the hotel location and the rooms size in addition to the clean & lovely decor and building. This will be me hotel when I visit Cape Town next times. I recommend to stay in this hotel for you.

Mesfer

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MESFER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Good day

Thanks for the wonderful review on the V&A Hotel and the great recommendation received. We can't wait to welcome you back next time!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Everyone at the hotel was extremely helpful. The front desk went above the usual to make my stay comfortable. Your location is the best. The bar could have had some better available South African wines. It would have been nice to have a later check out time especially because of late afternoon International flights.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GaryLD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Good day

Thank you for having taken the time to write this very helpful review on your stay at the V&A Hotel. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#21 of 106 in Cape Town Central
2,065 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
668 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,945 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#43 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Property: Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, South African Hotels, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing