We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I am a Cape Town local, and I chose the V&A simply to have a celebratory night away from home. It was great -- the hotel is wonderful, the staff are friendly, there are many excellent dining options, and staying at the waterfront was really fun (complete with a sunrise mountain view in the morning!). We chose an attic room, and the sloped ceilings and tilt-to-open windows added good character.

The only complaint I have is that when we parked, the attendant ripped off a small piece of paper from the ticket and tossed it to the ground. We noticed that he did this with the car before us, and I was able to pick up the piece from our ticket before it blew away. If anyone from the hotel reads these reviews, please encourage your staff to not litter!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sickafoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Good day

Thank you very much for the lovely review and I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your celebratory night at the V&A Hotel. Thanks also for pointing out regarding the littering - that is certainly not acceptable and we will address this.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    451
    136
    26
    24
See reviews for
220
812
76
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I spent six days and five nights at the Victoria & Alfred in September. Our room was spacious, very clean and very comfortable with a wonderful view of the waterfront and Table Mountain. We had breakfast each morning at the V & A, which was very good as well. We also had dinner there one evening and enjoyed it tremendously. The best part in our view of this hotel was the staff. From the font desk, to the restaurant servers, to the cleaning staff, to the elevator attendants, we found them all to be friendly, courteous and supremely helpful. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WannaGoKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Good day

Thanks for the wonderful review on the V&A Hotel. I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the service to be good and the staff friendly. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
298 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Very comfortable hotel in excellent location in Cape Town South Africa .the hotel is clean ,good service ,and next to the mall.the hotel breakfast is nice and the service is good. Every thing is good in CT except safety it great in hotel but you have to take taxi from hotel and prearranged tours from hotel .it is dangerous city if u travel alone be carful....

Room Tip: Try to choose one at water front
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khalid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you indeed for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed the property and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Ticks all the right boxes. Location,big comfy beds, comprehensive breakfast buffet and spacious rooms. The staff are also attentive with special mention to Francois! Do book mountain side as the view is phenomenal and worth every extra penny.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you very much for the kind words. We are exceptionally delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our very best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Comfortable, clean and has a great location. Stayed with wife on December 2013 and recommend it for your itinerary in Cape Town. It sits in the Waterfront, close to Mall, Shops and many local attractions, everything on a walking distance.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GazzaneoR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you very much for the lovely review. We are certainly proud of our hotel and it was fantastic that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We recently stayed here for 4 nights, Loved the surroundings, sitting eating breakfast and dinner by the waterfront was sensational. The hotel gym and pool, located across the road at the Docks, was well equipped and all the staff friendly, Close to the hop on hop off starting point.Walked into town and spent qualuty time around the Waterfront area.

Room Tip: Large Junior suite was huge and well appointed,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lions1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us and thank you for the lovely review.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed here for one night on a work trip in November. The hotel has a great location in that you can walk around the Waterfront. My room was on top floor and it had an angled sky light but no window to really look at the view. The room was comfortable but nothing special. The only meal I had in the hotel was breakfast which was fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller4047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,686 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,997 reviews
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#45 of 109 in Cape Town Central
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Property: Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing