We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Start of our African adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Start of our African adventure”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed in the V&A for 4 days at the start of our African holiday. We found it to be an excellent hotel in an ideal location as a base to explore Cape Town. The staff were fery friendly and gave superb service. The room was clean comfortable and spacious. Whilst we never used the restaurant for our evening meals (due to a wish to try all the other restaurants in the area). We did have breakfast there and found the quality and choices available excellent.
We would have no hesitation in staying here again or recommending the V&A to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Phil-Bram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Good day

Your complimentary remarks regarding the food, service and facilities are greatly appreciated, thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to South Africa.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    451
    136
    26
    24
See reviews for
220
813
76
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights (belated honeymoon) and it was fantastic. We had an attic style room on the top floor with amazing views of Table Mountain. The room was very spacious and clean, the bathroom was also very spacious and the shower had a bench to sit on if you needed to contemplate life while the showerhead was on massage. The staff was incredibly friendly and were so accomodating. Breakfast...was amazing as well. The choices we had... plus Hot Chocolate was included! The only thing was WiFi didn't seem to work in our room but I saw it as a plus. It stopped my husband from logging on and reading work emails so we only logged on while we were eating breakfast or waiting for transport. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chickidee82016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Good day

Thanks for the stunning review! Your complimentary remarks regarding the facilities and services as well as the breakfast are greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you back upon your return to Cape Town.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed in the hotel last year and went back this year to celebrate our anniversary. It is a gross place to stay with lots to offer on the waterfront. Great time and made better with the use of a hire car to do the wine farms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Karen

Thanks for the wonderful review. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the V&A Hotel and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for four days and my experience in the hotel was excellent. The architecture is very historical with nice furnitures. Room is very spacious and clean, which is cleaned everyday. Hotel staff are very friendly and accomodating. MY most favorite is the breakfast. You a a wide variety to choose from. You have an option of ordering hot breakfast which are all delicious. Juices are freshly squeezed. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jongmd1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Good day

Thanks for the lovely review on the V&A Hotel. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as the buffet breakfast and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to South Africa.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is fantastic. We had 3 nights here and we loved it. The view from our room was of Table Mountain which you can't beat. The room size was exceptional.
The staff were accommodating & friendly. I would recommend to anyone as it's a winner on every level

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JVR_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Good day

Thank you very much for the lovely review, I'm very happy to hear that you've enjoyed your stay!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the V&A Hotel for 1 night in November 2013 when we passed through Cape Town on our way home from St Helena. We arrived at the hotel before 8am and our room wasn't ready so we were asked to take a seat in the lovely breakfast area and had a coffee and a glass of bucks fizz while we waited. We were also given codes in order to make use of the hotel's wifi system if we wanted. We weren't kept waiting too long and when our room was ready we were shown up to it.

It was a large, spacious room, Spotlessly clean and with everything you'd expect in a nice hotel. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom large with good toiletries.

All the staff we interacted with were friendly and attentive.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Emma

Thanks for having taken the time to write a review in respect of your recent stay at the V&A Hotel. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel staff were so helpful in getting the room ready for your early check-in. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Just returned from 5 nights at the Victoria and Alfred, fabulous location, wonderful Felicity from guest services arranged all the restaurants we wanted to go to, even getting the same room we has last year as we had requested, the staff were as before very friendly and attentive especially in the restaurant.

Unfortunately during this stay we had some 2000 Rand stolen from our sons room, from two different places, so the thief obviously had plenty of time to do through all the bags, for all we know the same was done to our room but we keep everything in the safe.

We called the duty manager and filled out a report, every day we asked what was happening but to be honest we felt we were just receiving platitudes.

We had not read the Tripadvisor report showing that another of the members had had the same thing happen to them.

A lovely hotel with in general excellent staff, but there are no cameras in the corridors, which would immediately eliminate the stealing problem, as they would see who went into the room; even while we were waiting outside our sons room, we watched a maid open a room and another man went in and came out a couple of minutes later.

I feel that a lack of security investment spoils what would otherwise be a perfect hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 1st floor, and if possible with a Table Mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GME928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Good day

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this lovely review on your stay at the V&A Hotel. I will certainly pass thanks on to Felicity who arranged your day activities. With regard to the theft, we're currently investigating and will be in direct contact with you.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,161 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,690 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,998 reviews
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#45 of 109 in Cape Town Central
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Property: Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing