We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, loft rooms comfortable, good rate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #25 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were on a business trip for 3 days to Cape Town. We had a number of options of where to stay.
I know the V&A Hotel from years of being a US tour operator but since moving to Asia 6 years ago, had not stayed at the property.

The staff were most accommodating, our rooms were well appointed, maintained and comfortable.

Location is second to non and we will most certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bangkokian213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Good day

Thank you very much for your lovely review on your recent stay at the Victoria & Alfred Hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed the experience and hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

997 - 1,003 of 1,580 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

There can be no higher praise than to rate this hotel as faultless. Even to the extent of a call from the manager after I had room service to check that the food and service were up to standard. This was my first stay and to be referred to by name is a rare experience.From the lift attendant through to the manager, everyone was unfailingly polite and helpful. Cape Town is a fantastic city and my stay at the Victoria and Alfred made it perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Table Mountain are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Brenda

Thank you very much for this raving review on the Victoria & Alfred Hotel. Your complimentary remarks regarding our staff and services are sincerely appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Victoria & Alfred Hotel when next you visit Cape Town.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I arrived on a Friday evening after a long week working in Jo'burg. The reception staff were friendly and throughout my 5 day stay were very helpful. I booked all my excursions at the tourist help desk in reception and again they were great with advice as to what to do, and when, in my short stay, that I think I managed to see almost everything I wanted to whilst I was in Cape Town (small hick-up with Obama being in town the same weekend - so nothing the hotel could do there!)

The location is fab. You are a short walk, a couple of minutes, from great places to eat and to many of the tourist spots.

Breakfast was great. With the view to take into account and the choice of food - I was blown away.

I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay again if I am lucky enough to come to Cape Town again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbour and Table Mountain. You wake up each day to a phenomenal view. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RKPNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Good day

Thanks for your wonderful review on the Victoria & Alfred Hotel. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our staff could book all the Cape Town excursions for you. Hope to welcome you back again soon to visit the places you couldn't when Obama was here!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed one night and enjoyed it. The food is very good and the staff have been trained to greet clients by name - there is no "room service" when dialling in-room dining - you are greeted by name - this is a first in all the hotels I have stayed at.

I was in a loft room that is a bit cramped as the ceiling tilts down by 45 degrees and you need to watch your head - other than that the experience was super and if I return to Cape Town I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KrugerToKalahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Good day

Thank you for having taken the time to write such a lovely review on your recent stay at the Victoria & Alfred Hotel. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed for my partners 40th and I have not 1 bad point!!!
Everything about this hotel was brilliant!!!!
Rooms breakfast service complimentary birthday champagne location were all perfect!!!
We both loved it and would certainly visit again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weston036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Good day

Thanks for the very positive review on your recent stay at the V&A Hotel. It is always great to hear such wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Don't look any further. This is a great place to stay. The rooms are outstanding, the staff friendly and helpful and the breakfasts beyond description. The location on the waterfront s first class. It's made our holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dogberry1258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Good day

Thanks for your lovely review on the Victoria & Alfred Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your complimentary remarks regarding our staff and services.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We spent one night in the Victoria and Alfred hotel and found the location outstanding. We had only 24 hours in Cape Town and being in the harbour area we were able to get to Robben Island, Table Mountain and great shopping and eating establishments.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Swaume on reception went out of her way to help us but all staff were great.
breakfast was sumptuous and the setting overlooking the harbour was fabulous. Our room was spacious and comfortable and despite the close proximity to night life was very quiet.
This was a lovely hotel to end our stay in South Africa.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warri66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Good day

Thank you very much for your review on your recent stay at the Victoria & Alfred Hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and that the local was ideal for your 24 hours in Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town hotels
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town
2,331 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#41 of 110 in Cape Town
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#42 of 110 in Cape Town
784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town
#29 Business Hotel in Cape Town
Price Range: $218 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing