We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #24 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We spent three nights in the V & A in a room with a mountain view. It was my first stay at this hotel and I would certainly return there. The hotel is situated in the midst of the V & A waterfront and close to many restaurants. The breakfast buffet was probably the best I have ever eaten. The staff were excellent. It is in my opinion a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hexthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,105 - 1,111 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

Cape Town was my first destination on a three-city tour of South Africa and I picked this hotel for its waterfront location. It was a great stay. My room was bright, beautifully furnished and comfortable with an excellent shower (I had just spent a day flying, so this was important!). Check-in staff were terrific, as were the folks who helped me arrange two excellent tours. The hotel is located on the busy Cape Town waterfront where there are tons of restaurants and shops within a few minutes walk. I felt safe at all times, and the hotel was an oasis after each day of exploring and touring. It was an easy 20 - 30 minute walk to the central business district, and about a 10 - 15 minute walk to a busy commercial street with excellent shops, restaurants and services. You may recognize the terrace from a scene at the end of the movie Blood Diamond. An extra treat was seeing seals checking visitors out at the harbourside of the hotel. A visit to Table Mountain is a must, and it was about a 10-minute cab ride away. I can't wait to visit Cape Town again, and look forward to staying at the V&A when I return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeymaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at the V&A in November for our first trip to South Africa and Cape Town. The location is superb right on the Waterfront wiht easy access to shops and a huge choice of restauarnts at night and also great as a base for our sight seeing trips. The view as you come out of the waterfront entrance is jaw dropping as you are right on the water's edge with Table Mountain as the back drop. This is the view we had every morning as we sat outdoors on the terrace eating our breakfast. The breakfast choice is huge including oysters, smoked salmon and champagne if you want it and with a great range of freshly squeezed juices of which strawberry became my firm favourite. The hotel was originally a wharehouse and the refurbishment is really tasteful leaving really big bedrooms. We had a paizza view which wasn't great and if I had known we would have paid a bit extra for the mountain view. We stayed for a week and on our last day did not have anything planned so took advantage of the great weather and sat at the pool area which is just the other side of the road and is a really peaceful oasis. The service especially from the waiting staff was not outstanding but was not untypical of service levels we came across in a number of places in South Africa. That being said I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel if you are in cape Town

Room Tip: Go for a mountain view it is outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Team P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I *love* this hotel. Everything from the relaxed, friendly atmosphere, great service, excellent breakfast with an accompanying view of Table Mountain over the harbour is very special.

Rooms are spacious, beds are very, very comfortable and it's all on a scale which is human and is executed with a subtly laid back style.

Great location on the Waterfront too. Sure there are more swanky hotels like Cape Grace and more hip B&B's and more traditional places like the Mount Nelson but none for me hits the spot like the V&A. Keep it up!

Room Tip: Table Mountain view rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel was only a stopover for one night in Cape Town on our way to Hermanus. We specifically asked for a hotel at the V&A so that we could shop before our transfer just after lunch and we needed a triple room. We arrived late, just before midnight, and after a fairly slow check in we went to our room just one floor above the reception area. It was quite large and comfortable and looked out onto the parking lot and the rest of the V&A shopping area. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. We took our complimentary breakfast on the patio overlooking the marina area. The quality of the food and amount of choices was very good. I would stay here again if you want the V&A location without the costs of the One & Only or Cape Grace.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcianluanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our introduction to South Africa could not have been better. The V&A has an outstanding location with many good restaurants, shopping and attractions within very secure walking distance. Our room was only one floor above reception with a picture window view of the harbor and Table Mountain. Complimentary breakfast was a sumptious buffet including raw oysters on the half shell and champagne. We also dined in the hotel's restaurant Oyo two nights and found the food reasonably priced and quite good. Service both at reception and in restaurant was very good. Concierge was helpful booking restaurants in the waterfront area for us. We hope to return!

Room Tip: Rooms on harbor side have great views of Table Mountain and the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KakiTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Very conveniently located, beautiful views and onsite secure parking available.

The rooms were very comfortable with all expected facilities and amenities and we had no issue with the standard of housekeeping.

Friendly and well trained staff and a superb breakfast selection.

Many other dining options and shopping within walking distance.

I would be happy to recommend this property.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#16 of 112 in Cape Town Central
752 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,143 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#43 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,379 reviews
1.3 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $217 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, South African Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing