We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #59 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Townhouse Hotel for 4 nights in October 2011. It is not a 5-star luxury hotel, but the rooms were very nice, clean, and modern. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicious. Like others have said, the hotel was walking distance to the District Six museum and Long Street. We felt comfortable enough walking to Long Street in the evening but would usually take a cab back to the hotel later at night. The hotel was also near a hop on/off bus stop. Because the hotel is in a business district, the area around the hotel was a little dead on the weekends. But that was OK with us. We had a car the first night we were there and had to pay a small fee to park in their garage. Overall, the hotel was great and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thompsonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    199
    52
    11
    3
See reviews for
35
136
50
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Only stayed for one night, but was impressed with the rooms and great breakfast.

A great hotel for those travelling to Cape Town for business.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

The Townhouse offers a boutique-hotel feel and service for a reasonable price in a convenient location -- that is, if you want the city-centre attractions like the museums and galleries. It's not too great for other tourist attractions like the beaches and the mountain, but taxis are available and reasonably-priced. The area immediately around the hotel is a bit gritty, and probably not to be explored at night, but I never felt unsafe. The rooms are very comfortable and fully equipped with everything you could want (the minibar is unstocked, but will be stocked upon request). My room, an economy single, had no bath, which didn't bother me -- and the shower is great. Parking in an adjacent parking garage is convenient, though costs an extra R45 a day. Breakfast is extensive and tasty, enough to set you up for the day. Service was friendly and efficient. I left a parcel of books in the foyer, and the duty manager took the trouble to trace me and keep the parcel for me to collect. All in all, a no-hassle, comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snoqualmie, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for five nights. Everything was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and accommodating. It's walking distance to District Six Museum and the Cape Town city tour bus. It's a bit off the beaten "tourist" path, but I like that in a hotel. Breakfast was included and you could choose between a plentiful buffet or order a hot breakfast. Excellent deal! I would highly recommend this Cape Town hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

*Now, I have to say before beginning to write this, we did not choose or pay for this hotel. It was a competition win, so I will try my best to be impartial and fair. I believe the staff did not know we were here under these conditions however, so I don't think we received any preferential treatment.*

We drove to the hotel from the airport with our rental car, it was very easy to find, the car park easy to use (while relatively cheap) and great first impressions.

The staff at the desk were very helpful and welcoming, and one member helped us with our bags up to our junior suite on the first floor.

ROOM: The room we stayed in was amazing, large, clean, well decorated and just what we needed. It had reasonable tea and coffee facilities in the room, and we got a box of chocolates to welcome us, along with cookie top-ups each day(!!!). As we arrived soon after breakfast, the staff also made an effort (without asking) to put together some fruit from the buffet for us to enjoy, it's the little things that matter.
The bathroom was nice and trendy, soaps and shower gel's were great, and the temperature always right.
We had a balcony connected to the room which was a good addition but the views were disappointing. I could see one small corner of Table Mountain, lots of trees and plenty of road, but hey-ho, we weren't in the hotel for its views.

FOOD: The food I would say makes this hotel special, the breakfasts were vast, tasty and the hot food was presented very well, along with a great taste! The waiting staff were great fun, always there to help and we had some interesting chats with them.

As for it's evening counterpart, TREES restaurant was a little gem, the food was exquisite, the beer was cheap, and presentation was immaculate. We ate in this restaurant twice (despite only being in SA for 6 nights) because of its convenience and more importantly its food!! The only draw back with breakfast/dinner must be the repetitive music that's played in the background, sure it's fine once, but if you are reading this Townhouse Hotel, please invest 99p in just one more chill-out CD, i still find myself singing those repetitive droning numbers 2 weeks later.

OTHER: Business centre OK, Gound-level Bar was nice and chilled and general feel of the hotel was nice. Only other notable point is the reception staff's knowledge of the local area and attractions. They struggled between 3 of them to suggest a nice restaurant in the city that wasn't the only one around the corner, among other vague responses to my more specific questions.

Overall, a great stay, we were thoroughly happy with our time here, and would gladly recommend this to anyone visiting this wonderful city!

I'm giving this hotel a very good

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billyboychrisd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottburgh, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

The city centre location of this hotel is great. Not much at night within walking distance but a short cab ride is easier than getting the hired car out of the useful parking garage next door. Parking fee is a reasonable R45 per day. The breakfast buffet is superb, the pastries glorious and the eggs done to perfection. The staff are welcoming and really pleasant, the beds are awesomely comfortable! During the day there are lots of places on interest all within a few minutes walk, including the Houses Of Parliament.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better, more quiet and also ask for a mountain view facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerllish
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

On checking in we mentioned our special occasion, but were still given a tiny room and no special treatment. Bathroom so small that you banged your head on towel rail when came out of shower. asked for late check out and staff made a big deal of it and eventually agreed to 1200 rather than 1100!! Wifi Internet didnt work at all in room. Excellent restaurant with top class food.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerlish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
970 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#38 of 109 in Cape Town Central
221 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#52 of 109 in Cape Town Central
350 reviews
Strand Tower Hotel
#53 of 109 in Cape Town Central
656 reviews
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#64 of 109 in Cape Town Central
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Property: Townhouse Hotel
Address: 60 Corporation Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#54 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#55 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Cape Town, this Premier 107 roomed four star classified hotel offers the best of modern amenities, including a business centre and secure covered parking. All rooms boast Free high speed internet access. The Townhouse Hotel is a attractive 12 story hotel and is close to the historic South African Parliament Buildings. Other historical and scenic attractions such as Robben Island, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the Table Mountain Cableway are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Townhouse Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing