We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trevoyan Guest House
Ranked #17 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Trevoyan is indeed, as many have said, a comfortable place, in a very good location in Cape Town. Despite of a mistake from booking.com, they were able to accommodate us in the bedroom type we chose and we had a pleasant and relaxing time. The breakfast is really good, the room very cozy and quiet, location good and the common areas inviting. Wifi worked ok, very nice tips from the owners, nice people around. Will stay there next time in Cape Town for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rosana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTrevoyans, Owner at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Rosana,

big hello from Cape Town to Berlin. It was a pleasure for us to help you with the right room category. Great to read that your stay with us was a pleasant one and we could assist you with helpful tips. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

All the best
Eddie & Dominique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    67
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
51
255
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bad Oeynhausen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
457 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 581 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

A good located guesthouse with outside parking (street) for discovering cape town. Nice and informative hosts, good breakfast (fruits, fresh baked bread, different kinds of cheese and jam, all kinds of eggs to order), friendly staff. Our rooms (big sleeping room, separated bathroom, seperated toilette) was very clean and not too hot during our stay. We enjoyed the four days at this elegant and very well decorated guesthouse not far away from the center of cape town, sitting and relaxing in the shadow of an old oaktree in the garden with table mountain view. For us was it a good address for staying in cape town the next time.
Thanks to Dominique, Eddy and Frida (little nice dog).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olaf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTrevoyans, Owner at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Olaf,

how nice to read from you on Tripadvisor and thank you for all your compliments. It was a great pleasure to have you here as our guests and to make your stay an unforgetable one.

C U soon in CPT
Dominique & Eddie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We booked this hotel for 3 nights, but ended up staying only 2 as we couldn’t stand another night here. The room was sold to us as a “luxury room”, but it has no a/c, we had to ask for a fan, there is no ventilation in the room without this. We couldn’t open our windows (room and bathroom) as our windows looked out on the communal patio seating area, where people sat and smoke. The room was sold to us with “satellite TV”, but there are only 3 channels! We were told there is free parking inside the gate, but when we got there, we had to park on the street. We booked this on a travel website, and the owner told us he’s not responsible for what these website say about his property – he was very aggressive when we complained about this. No apologies offered, and no attempt to rectify the false advertising of his property. The room looks like a 3-star hotel.

Room Tip: Speak directly to them to ensure you get exactly what you want, and get it in writing. The owners ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTrevoyans, Owner at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Gerald614,

we are very sorry to read that your stay at our guest house was not as positive as you expected and apologize for any inconvenience.

Please let us know on which travel website you did the booking. We will get in touch with them immediatley in order to correct misleading information about a/c in the rooms or free parking inside the gate. But we hope that the R200 discount did cover possible parking fees for your stay with us.

We are also very sorry that we did not learn about your problem with satellite TV while you were staying with us, because we do offer this service.

Our satellite TV system provides SABC 1, 2, 3 and eTV - a DSTV printed program is in each room. We will gladly assist with providing overseas news channels, movie channels or sports channels. Please contact our staff and note, that you cannot get channels by retuning the TV set in your room.

It is not my character nor was it my intention to be aggresiv to you. If you got this impression I do apologize for this.

Thank you for sharing your expierence with us, it will help to improve our service for our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2014

very comfortable, friendly, tranquil place to stay perfectly located. lovely décor/ ambience and great hosts. great breakfast and compared to alternatives in the city, priced realistically .....we will be back....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tim I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTrevoyans, Inhaber at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Hello Tim,

thank you for your positive review. It is very important for us that you had a great time at our Trevoyan Guesthouse. We always try to give our best in terms of service and quality. Value for money is what we want to deliver to our guests. Looks like we could make you happy. See you soon again…

All the best from Dominique & Eddie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Trevoyan Guest House for 3 nights in Feb 2014.
Following the positive points:
- very nicely furnished and spacious room
- very kind hosts
- night check-in possible (we arrived 2am night)
- quiet and safe area close to city center
- delicious breakfast on the terrace
Following the negative points:
- no car parking on the premises

Overall an excellent stay, we really enjoyed it. Therefore recommend it.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DoDa_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTrevoyans, Inhaber at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Gruezi Zürich,

and many thanks for your reassurance that we are offering and delivering great value for your money - this is exactly what we strive for.

We are sorry that we cannot offer car parking on the premises, but there are plenty of parking spaces around the guesthouses in our safe neighborhood Tamboerskloof. We also always recommend to our guests to save the money for the car rental as long as you stay in Cape Town with us. A lot of restaurants, bars and point of interests are in walking distance and other destinations can be reached with an inexpensive taxi ride. A pick-up from the airport can be organized.

All the best
Eddie & Dominique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2014

nice guesthouse, safe and good neighborhood, restaurants, bars, shops on kloof street area in walking distance (only a few minutes). nice and caring hosts. rooms are nice decorated and equipped, clean. nice garden with pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTrevoyans, Inhaber at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Peter,

Thank you for your positive review and your nice words. Happy guests are the foundation of our lovely guesthouse and we hope that we will be able to make you happy again in the near future.

All the best
Eddie & Dominique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay there. We knew things had changed, we knew the previous owners had sold, and in such cases one is always sceptical at first. We needn't be! The new owners have brought Trevoyan to yet another level, with all the rooms completely and tastefully redecorated. It has now this cosiness, this warmth, this "olde worlde" kind of charm it did not have the first time round, with terracotta colours, rugged carpets, wooden flooring, even the pool is nicer now with its wooden deck! Some of the personnel is still there, and each one of them is as friendly as ever. As for the new owners, we only had the chance to speak with Dominique (and her cute little dog :0) ) and she is really friendly and helpful. Breakfast is as great as it ever was, with lots of home-made stuff. We will gladly go back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Swisscheese_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTrevoyans, Inhaber at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Google Translation
Herzliche Gruesse nach Zürich

und vielen Dank fuer das Kompliment, dass wir das Trevoyan nach unserer Uebernahme auf ein neues Niveau gebracht haben. Wir haben all unser Herzblut in die Renovierung eingebracht und wuenschen uns noch viele wiederkehrende Gaeste, die aehnlich wir ihr vom neuen Trevoyan begeistert sind. Wir sehen uns dann hoffentlich bald beim dritten Mal im Trevoyan Guesthouse.

Eure Dominique, Eddie & Frida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
991 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parker Cottage
#1 of 155 in Cape Town Central
1,019 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#2 of 155 in Cape Town Central
625 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 155 in Cape Town Central
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevoyan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevoyan Guest House

Property: Trevoyan Guest House
Address: 12 Gilmour Hill Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trevoyan Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the slopes of Table Mountain, stands the Trevoyan guesthouse, enjoy the beauty of Trevoyans charming garden, relax under a majestic oak tree and take a dip in our solar heated pool. For those who love the sun, soak it up on the sun-deck with stunning views of the city bowl, table mountain, signal hill, lions head and devils peak. Trevoyan guesthouse offers 4 luxurious en-suite double rooms, 1 junior suite and two suites with separate lounges. An opulent breakfast is served on our conservatory styled verandah. Wireless Internet facility throughout the house available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Trevoyan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trevoyan Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing