We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trevoyan Guest House
Ranked #14 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Had a great 4 days here. The staff are super nice and helpful, the room spotless and breakfast delicious: can recommend the omelette with everything!
Nice touches like toiletries, cotton wool and a hair dryer make this place so much more than a b&b; and the location is excellent: walking distance to everything in town and a safe area with restaurants nearby to walk to in evening; would recommend to friends and would go back. A very chic boutique b&b. my only gripe would be the room; we went for the cheapest room: it was room 3; and it was right by the breakfast room and walk way so could get noisy. Would pay more for a better room if I went back as they are all good value.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flobie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 408 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

The room we had (luxury garden room) was fantastic, bed was really comfortable and the room had everything we needed. The staff were all really thoughtful and helpful - even when we were checking in late and checking out very early. The breakfast was great. It is in a good location with nice restaurants nearby - all in all a fantastic base to explore Cape Town from! We want to return in the summer to enjoy the garden!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank green_eyes_2787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I really liked this place, we had a wonderful room. It’s got a lovely vibe about it and the location was perfect.
We only stayed a night but I wished we’d stayed longer – the owners are brilliant and I’m compelled to write this review nearly a year on because they deserve high praise.
If you’re looking for the perfect little hotel in Cape Town then look no further.
Hope to return soon.

Room Tip: We had the garden suite I think...great room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Wonderfull place and very good welcome
The room= beautiful
The staff is very kind
And delicious breakfast
Perfect place to go to holidays
Nous vous conseillons ce guest house, un des meilleurs sur les 15 testés

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stefemrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great website. It stands head and shoulders above the rest and got us to make our booking.

Fortunately, the Guest House lived up to the photos and information on the website:

Great location (we used to live in Tamboerskloof so we're a little bias!), fast and efficient booking, and efficient welcome from night staff.

We stayed in one of the lovely garden-facing rooms. Quality furnishing. Quality linen. Quite pared down style (no artwork or unnecessary furniture) with walls painted bold-but-muted colour scheme (very much to my taste). Room had almost all of the 'essentials' (but maybe worth supplying both shampoo AND conditioner to guests who didn't remember to bring their own?). Guest house stationery is a nice touch.

Great cooked breakfast with lovely view of the mountain. Imagine it must be quite a treat to enjoy breakfast up on the roof terrace in the warmer months.

Thanks for the warm welcome and great decor advice, Dominique!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ros K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great host, fantastic place, stylish but warm. And relaxed atmosphere Super location, walking distance from center and very near the cable car to the peak. We loved it and will be back when in Cape Town again. Loved the lounge with its fireplace and honesty bar.
Julian & Emilie

Room Tip: Any room, we have seen most
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julianhkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We travelled troughout ZAF for a month and this ripoff b&b was the only mistake we made. We slept in a former garage(did not kmo's that imprint offcourse), next to an electronic fence and people walking in and out all the time. It gets freaky hot and they have no airco, only an "oversized blowdryer". They should not use their garage as a hotel room, this was the worst hotel/b&b expierence we had out of circa 100 accommodations in our lifetime. The owners are swiss and I have no. Idea why they enterend this business, they seem annoyed, very uninterested which is really weird in south africa because most b&b owner are really fun to talk with and have a passion for their business. These owners don't give Much about the b&b concept and most of the time we saw them hanging around in a restaurant nearby. Please avoid this establishment, you don't want to ruin your stay in Cape Town, there are way better options.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted_and_Chantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,441 reviews
Welgelegen
#10 of 156 in Cape Town Central
466 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthou...
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
278 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
651 reviews
Villa Costa Rose
#13 of 156 in Cape Town Central
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevoyan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevoyan Guest House

Address: 12 Gilmour Hill Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $137 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trevoyan Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the slopes of Table Mountain, stands the Trevoyan guesthouse, enjoy the beauty of Trevoyans charming garden, relax under a majestic oak tree and take a dip in our solar heated pool. For those who love the sun, soak it up on the sun-deck with stunning views of the city bowl, table mountain, signal hill, lions head and devils peak. Trevoyan guesthouse offers 4 luxurious en-suite double rooms, 1 junior suite and two suites with separate lounges. An opulent breakfast is served on our conservatory styled verandah. Wireless Internet facility throughout the house available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Trevoyan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trevoyan Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing