We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Trevoyan Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
An African Villa(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Cape Cadogan(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
More Quarters Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Milner(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hippo Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fritz Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lady Hamilton Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveler rating
340
75
9
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
75
9
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjean louistable mountainlovely guesthousegarden poolb benjoy cape townenjoyed our stayrooftop terracetownship tourbreakfasts were greatquiet streetcoffee machinea great place to staycamps bayrooms are spaciousbreakfast roomconvenient location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 430 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our Honeymoon in September 2012. Trevoyan was a great start to our trip. It was very easy to find and the gated parking was also appreciated. Despite us arriving earlier than the check-in time there was no problem getting into our room. We stayed in the garden suite which was very spacious, we thought it needed freshening up but the owners (who had just taken the place over) were planning to do just that after our stay.

Unfortunately the weather wasn't warm enough to take advantage of the pool but we enjoyed relaxing in the lounge. The breakfasts were great and set us up well for the day, I was particulalry impressedf with the coffee machine!

The location is great, easy to get to table mountain and out to Cape Point and only a 10 minute cab ride to the V&A but the highlight for us was being able to walk out to two great restaurants which were less than 5 minutes away.

Overall a perfect place to explore Cape Town from.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mr_and_Mrs_Hilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Trevoyan was sold last year so while we had stayed here before it was the first time for us to meet the new owners and compare with our previous visits. As mentioned by others the location of this B&B in Tamberskloof is great, and the lovely garden provides a quiet oasis in the middle of Cape Town. The new owners have now done a lot of work to renovate and upgrade the rooms and pool area; they also improved the breakfast significantly, and added a honesty bar. So from that perspective the Trevoyan is even better than it was before and we really enjoyed our stay. That said, the former owners were more approachable and it was generally more fun talking and socializing with them (not a criticism, more an observation). All in all this is a wonderful B&B, well managed and very comfortable. Still highly recommended.

Room Tip: The garden suites (5 and 6) are great and our favorites; but the luxury garden rooms (1 and 7) are very nice, too. The rooms in the main house (2,3 and 4) are smaller but offer very good value for money.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank polartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our stay at the Trevoyan was a great start to our trip around South Africa. It's very well located a short walk from the Company Gardens and the main nightlife drag. You'll also find yourself a few hundred yards from a number of very highly rated restaurants (although whether they deserve their ratings is a different matter....). Despite its central location, the guesthouse is incredibly peaceful, as a consequence both of its being set back from major roads and a pervading calm ambience. The swimming pool is a real boon and catches the sun. You can contemplate Table Mountain from the pool and wonder how (in our case) you managed to climb it just a few hours earlier. Parking is available on the guesthouse premises and we always managed to get a space.

Well done to the staff and owners for creating such a hospitable environment.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mutandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at the Trevoyan Guest House. Dominque, who runs it, is charming and efficient. I loved the decor (smart but not pretentious with elements of African chic) and it is totally spotless. I enjoyed the Charlotte Rhys products in the bathroom. The staff are friendly and helpful but don't hover. Breakfast is delicious - fresh and well presented. I spent a day by the pool and felt like a totally different person by the time I left - heavenly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the “Garden suite” for 3 nights in November 2012 and we enjoyed our stay very much.

Breakfast was delicious and the pool a blessing on a hot day after a trip up Table Mountain.

While we were very comfortable there were a few minor details that could be improved on, such as the water that leaked out onto the floor when taking a shower, the bedside table lamp that didn't work and the lack of a side table on one side of the sofa so that I had nowhere to put my drink when watching telly, but, these were really only very minor annoyances that didn't detract from the great location (safe, walking distance to restaurants and shops), general security, cleanliness and comfort of the guest house and room.

The owners were reasonably approachable though the house staff were superb and a credit to the business.

We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KTH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews