We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (445)
Filter reviews
445 results
Traveler rating
354
76
9
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
76
9
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jean louis table mountain lovely guesthouse garden pool enjoy cape town enjoyed our stay township tour rooftop terrace breakfasts were great coffee machine quiet street camps bay rooms are spacious convenient location a short taxi ride great place to stay honesty bar
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 445 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at the Trevoyan in mid September. This upmarket guesthouse has just been taken over by Dominique who has already redecorated some of the rooms, installed decking by the pool, and is landscaping the garden, all to a high standard.
The guesthouse is situated in a quiet street, on the slopes of Table mountain, within easy walking distance of some good restaurants. The rooms are clean and attractive. Breakfast is enjoyable and coffee and tea are available at all times.
The atmosphere of the guesthouse is relaxed and friendly. Dominique is extremely helpful and aided us in the initial organising of taxis, confirming of flights via her pc etc. Freda, her dog, is a star attraction for all animal lovers and the staff were also keen to please. We will happily return.
P.S. If you use pay as you go mobiles you will probably need to buy a SA sims card at the V&A
as our British ones weren't accepted due to new SA rules.

Room tip: All the rooms are of a good standard but are individal in size. We stayed in 5 which was great, being next to the garden, and our friends stayed in 7 last year which they really rated.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank safariman2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Trevoyan is a real find. A late 19th century mansion converted into a modern guest house located in a very walkable Cape Town neighborhood. The host is very charming and helped us orient ourselves to the city and sights (her little dog is a real charmer too!). The Garden Suite was spacious and comfortable.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CosmoTopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This was a lovely, warm, welcoming oasis in Cape Town. Well located - a comfortable walk to the central part of the City; located in a safe neighbourhood. We felt safe walking to local restaurants after dark. Our hosts were gracious, knowledgeable and helpful, directing us to a range of restaurants and sights to see. The accommodations were spotless and spacious - crisp cotton sheets, fluffy towels, large rooms. Breakfast was tasty and elegantly served on a sunny terrace. Secure parking within the facility. Beautiful grounds, pool and sun deck.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Thank you Urs and Christophe for making us feel so welcome! We really appreciated the great conversation about Cape Town and your life there over the years since coming from Switzerland, and thoroughly enjoyed "industry" the laughs Urs! The Garden Suite was ideal for us (separate living from bedroom so my husband could watch TV while I slept!) Great advice re local dining and tours - especially our wonderful Township tour - really helped us make the most of our last few days in Cape Town - a wonderful treat after self catering due to budget reasons Trevoyan was great value with all the little luxuries! Beautiful gardens and views - would love to visit again in Summer!
Wishing you the best of luck into the future!

Room tip: Garden Suite has closable door bewteen lounge and bedroom and well equipped kitchette. Ideal for a longer stay.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UpUpandAway70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Nice and friendly and welcoming place. Urs and Christophe did everything to make us feel welcome. It was the middle of winter and we were the only guests - what a treat!! It felt as if we were staying in someone's home rather than an impersonal hotel. We loved it and found it a great location with Kloof and Long street within walking distance and a great view of table mountain (except when the cloud comes down of course!). Our room was very nicely furnished with everything we needed.Highly recommended - although ownership is about to change. Urs indicated that the new owner may upgrade the guesthouse.

Date of stay: July 2012
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank DerekandArlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevoyanSAN, Owner at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Hi Derek

Really appreciate your review. You deserved special treatment like the morning fire in our lounge as it was real miserable with this nonstop rain. Even so you made all the important spots that have to be visited. We also appreciated the nice chats with you about 'les choses de la vie".
Hope for you that you get better weather up there. By the way yesterday was so hot and sunny here that i switched on the air con in my car. Don't believe??
All the best and kind regards

Urs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews