We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guest house in Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trevoyan Guest House
Ranked #13 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here in mid September and thouroughly enjoyed it. It has a relaxed atmosphere and is located in a good location. Dominique arranged a walking tour of Langa a local township accompanied by local inhabitants(much better than driving through gawping at people through a van window) We highly recommend this as it left us with great memories of the people of Cape town especially the joyous and affectionate children - you must go to the Happy Feet dance centre. There are many great restaurants within walking distance and our trip to Robben isalnd was sorted out for us as well. The dog Freda will remind you of the dog on the show Frasier - be prepared to be stared out

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 408 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at the Trevoyan in mid September. This upmarket guesthouse has just been taken over by Dominique who has already redecorated some of the rooms, installed decking by the pool, and is landscaping the garden, all to a high standard.
The guesthouse is situated in a quiet street, on the slopes of Table mountain, within easy walking distance of some good restaurants. The rooms are clean and attractive. Breakfast is enjoyable and coffee and tea are available at all times.
The atmosphere of the guesthouse is relaxed and friendly. Dominique is extremely helpful and aided us in the initial organising of taxis, confirming of flights via her pc etc. Freda, her dog, is a star attraction for all animal lovers and the staff were also keen to please. We will happily return.
P.S. If you use pay as you go mobiles you will probably need to buy a SA sims card at the V&A
as our British ones weren't accepted due to new SA rules.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a good standard but are individal in size. We stayed in 5 which was great, bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank safariman2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Trevoyan is a real find. A late 19th century mansion converted into a modern guest house located in a very walkable Cape Town neighborhood. The host is very charming and helped us orient ourselves to the city and sights (her little dog is a real charmer too!). The Garden Suite was spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CosmoTopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This was a lovely, warm, welcoming oasis in Cape Town. Well located - a comfortable walk to the central part of the City; located in a safe neighbourhood. We felt safe walking to local restaurants after dark. Our hosts were gracious, knowledgeable and helpful, directing us to a range of restaurants and sights to see. The accommodations were spotless and spacious - crisp cotton sheets, fluffy towels, large rooms. Breakfast was tasty and elegantly served on a sunny terrace. Secure parking within the facility. Beautiful grounds, pool and sun deck.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Thank you Urs and Christophe for making us feel so welcome! We really appreciated the great conversation about Cape Town and your life there over the years since coming from Switzerland, and thoroughly enjoyed "industry" the laughs Urs! The Garden Suite was ideal for us (separate living from bedroom so my husband could watch TV while I slept!) Great advice re local dining and tours - especially our wonderful Township tour - really helped us make the most of our last few days in Cape Town - a wonderful treat after self catering due to budget reasons Trevoyan was great value with all the little luxuries! Beautiful gardens and views - would love to visit again in Summer!
Wishing you the best of luck into the future!

Room Tip: Garden Suite has closable door bewteen lounge and bedroom and well equipped kitchette. Ideal for a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UpUpandAway70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Nice and friendly and welcoming place. Urs and Christophe did everything to make us feel welcome. It was the middle of winter and we were the only guests - what a treat!! It felt as if we were staying in someone's home rather than an impersonal hotel. We loved it and found it a great location with Kloof and Long street within walking distance and a great view of table mountain (except when the cloud comes down of course!). Our room was very nicely furnished with everything we needed.Highly recommended - although ownership is about to change. Urs indicated that the new owner may upgrade the guesthouse.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank DerekandArlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevoyanSAN, Owner at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Hi Derek

Really appreciate your review. You deserved special treatment like the morning fire in our lounge as it was real miserable with this nonstop rain. Even so you made all the important spots that have to be visited. We also appreciated the nice chats with you about 'les choses de la vie".
Hope for you that you get better weather up there. By the way yesterday was so hot and sunny here that i switched on the air con in my car. Don't believe??
All the best and kind regards

Urs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Walking distance to Long Street and many excellent restaurants !!
Very clean rooms.
Delicious breakfast with many options.
View of Table Mountain from the roof and certain rooms.
The owners Urs & Christoph were very friendly and informative.
This guest house has a variety of different rooms which can accommodate many types of travelers: families, couples and solo travelers.
Our group used three rooms... each one was great in its own way.
Overall Trevoyan is a terrific place to stay in a really great location with excellent staff !!!!!
I would 100% recommend this B&B to -anyone- traveling to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Hi Jenell and all the others

Thank you so much for your review which we highly appreciate. Indeed the rooms differ quite a lot and I assume that our gatehouse, the so called budget room, gave the sleeping quality a point less as it is close to the gate. All the other rooms are really quite. Anyhow we hope that you have settled in again in beautiful California and wish you a pleasant summer from cool Cape Town.

Urs and Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,440 reviews
Welgelegen
#11 of 156 in Cape Town Central
466 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthou...
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
278 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
651 reviews
Villa Costa Rose
#14 of 156 in Cape Town Central
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevoyan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevoyan Guest House

Address: 12 Gilmour Hill Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $137 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trevoyan Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the slopes of Table Mountain, stands the Trevoyan guesthouse, enjoy the beauty of Trevoyans charming garden, relax under a majestic oak tree and take a dip in our solar heated pool. For those who love the sun, soak it up on the sun-deck with stunning views of the city bowl, table mountain, signal hill, lions head and devils peak. Trevoyan guesthouse offers 4 luxurious en-suite double rooms, 1 junior suite and two suites with separate lounges. An opulent breakfast is served on our conservatory styled verandah. Wireless Internet facility throughout the house available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Trevoyan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trevoyan Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing