We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (445)
Filter reviews
445 results
Traveler rating
354
76
9
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
76
9
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jean louis table mountain lovely guesthouse garden pool enjoy cape town enjoyed our stay township tour rooftop terrace breakfasts were great coffee machine quiet street camps bay rooms are spacious convenient location a short taxi ride great place to stay honesty bar
Filter
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 445 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This was a lovely, warm, welcoming oasis in Cape Town. Well located - a comfortable walk to the central part of the City; located in a safe neighbourhood. We felt safe walking to local restaurants after dark. Our hosts were gracious, knowledgeable and helpful, directing us to a range of restaurants and sights to see. The accommodations were spotless and spacious - crisp cotton sheets, fluffy towels, large rooms. Breakfast was tasty and elegantly served on a sunny terrace. Secure parking within the facility. Beautiful grounds, pool and sun deck.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Thank you Urs and Christophe for making us feel so welcome! We really appreciated the great conversation about Cape Town and your life there over the years since coming from Switzerland, and thoroughly enjoyed "industry" the laughs Urs! The Garden Suite was ideal for us (separate living from bedroom so my husband could watch TV while I slept!) Great advice re local dining and tours - especially our wonderful Township tour - really helped us make the most of our last few days in Cape Town - a wonderful treat after self catering due to budget reasons Trevoyan was great value with all the little luxuries! Beautiful gardens and views - would love to visit again in Summer!
Wishing you the best of luck into the future!

Room tip: Garden Suite has closable door bewteen lounge and bedroom and well equipped kitchette. Ideal for a longer stay.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UpUpandAway70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Nice and friendly and welcoming place. Urs and Christophe did everything to make us feel welcome. It was the middle of winter and we were the only guests - what a treat!! It felt as if we were staying in someone's home rather than an impersonal hotel. We loved it and found it a great location with Kloof and Long street within walking distance and a great view of table mountain (except when the cloud comes down of course!). Our room was very nicely furnished with everything we needed.Highly recommended - although ownership is about to change. Urs indicated that the new owner may upgrade the guesthouse.

Date of stay: July 2012
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank DerekandArlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevoyanSAN, Owner at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Hi Derek

Really appreciate your review. You deserved special treatment like the morning fire in our lounge as it was real miserable with this nonstop rain. Even so you made all the important spots that have to be visited. We also appreciated the nice chats with you about 'les choses de la vie".
Hope for you that you get better weather up there. By the way yesterday was so hot and sunny here that i switched on the air con in my car. Don't believe??
All the best and kind regards

Urs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Walking distance to Long Street and many excellent restaurants !!
Very clean rooms.
Delicious breakfast with many options.
View of Table Mountain from the roof and certain rooms.
The owners Urs & Christoph were very friendly and informative.
This guest house has a variety of different rooms which can accommodate many types of travelers: families, couples and solo travelers.
Our group used three rooms... each one was great in its own way.
Overall Trevoyan is a terrific place to stay in a really great location with excellent staff !!!!!
I would 100% recommend this B&B to -anyone- traveling to Cape Town.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Hi Jenell and all the others

Thank you so much for your review which we highly appreciate. Indeed the rooms differ quite a lot and I assume that our gatehouse, the so called budget room, gave the sleeping quality a point less as it is close to the gate. All the other rooms are really quite. Anyhow we hope that you have settled in again in beautiful California and wish you a pleasant summer from cool Cape Town.

Urs and Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Allthough the great view over the Table Mountain fom the Trevoyan, Urs and Christophe advised us to do the Lions Head Mountain top. It was for the first time during our stay in S.A. that we got a good advise, far away from everything that travel offices allways advise.
On top, the accomodation at Trevoyan is supurb !!!! Clean rooms, nice and safe neighborhood, Excellent staff in the B&B. and so on...
Nevertheless, Urs advised us to do a visit to Robben Island, wich he could arrange via internet, but ..... it was beyond our stay that a boat took off, so we couldn't visit one of our goals.

Urs.... Try to keep in mind not to make promisses that you can not keep !!!!!

considering the accomodation.... it is hard to find a better place in S.A.
Keep up the good work guy's....

PS : if you are a smoker, mind the security camera's. They are very early activated

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie-rose d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevoyanSAN, Owner at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Hi Bart and Marie-Rose

No wonder that we get so many flowers from Rose (-Marie). Thank you for the roses. We appreciate all these compliments. Yea life is hard to be with a smoker that sneaks around the house and steps into the alarm sensors!!
Regarding Robben Island i strictly have to reject these allegations. lol means leave out lying. haha anyhow we will book the island early enough and not last minute as there is no special price for this also not for Belgiums.

You will be on the island at your next visit. all the best Urs and Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews