We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trevoyan Guest House
Ranked #17 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A real gem.”
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Nice and friendly and welcoming place. Urs and Christophe did everything to make us feel welcome. It was the middle of winter and we were the only guests - what a treat!! It felt as if we were staying in someone's home rather than an impersonal hotel. We loved it and found it a great location with Kloof and Long street within walking distance and a great view of table mountain (except when the cloud comes down of course!). Our room was very nicely furnished with everything we needed.Highly recommended - although ownership is about to change. Urs indicated that the new owner may upgrade the guesthouse.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekandArlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevoyanSAN, Owner at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Hi Derek

Really appreciate your review. You deserved special treatment like the morning fire in our lounge as it was real miserable with this nonstop rain. Even so you made all the important spots that have to be visited. We also appreciated the nice chats with you about 'les choses de la vie".
Hope for you that you get better weather up there. By the way yesterday was so hot and sunny here that i switched on the air con in my car. Don't believe??
All the best and kind regards

Urs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    67
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
52
255
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Walking distance to Long Street and many excellent restaurants !!
Very clean rooms.
Delicious breakfast with many options.
View of Table Mountain from the roof and certain rooms.
The owners Urs & Christoph were very friendly and informative.
This guest house has a variety of different rooms which can accommodate many types of travelers: families, couples and solo travelers.
Our group used three rooms... each one was great in its own way.
Overall Trevoyan is a terrific place to stay in a really great location with excellent staff !!!!!
I would 100% recommend this B&B to -anyone- traveling to Cape Town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Hi Jenell and all the others

Thank you so much for your review which we highly appreciate. Indeed the rooms differ quite a lot and I assume that our gatehouse, the so called budget room, gave the sleeping quality a point less as it is close to the gate. All the other rooms are really quite. Anyhow we hope that you have settled in again in beautiful California and wish you a pleasant summer from cool Cape Town.

Urs and Christoph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Allthough the great view over the Table Mountain fom the Trevoyan, Urs and Christophe advised us to do the Lions Head Mountain top. It was for the first time during our stay in S.A. that we got a good advise, far away from everything that travel offices allways advise.
On top, the accomodation at Trevoyan is supurb !!!! Clean rooms, nice and safe neighborhood, Excellent staff in the B&B. and so on...
Nevertheless, Urs advised us to do a visit to Robben Island, wich he could arrange via internet, but ..... it was beyond our stay that a boat took off, so we couldn't visit one of our goals.

Urs.... Try to keep in mind not to make promisses that you can not keep !!!!!

considering the accomodation.... it is hard to find a better place in S.A.
Keep up the good work guy's....

PS : if you are a smoker, mind the security camera's. They are very early activated

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie-rose d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevoyanSAN, Owner at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Hi Bart and Marie-Rose

No wonder that we get so many flowers from Rose (-Marie). Thank you for the roses. We appreciate all these compliments. Yea life is hard to be with a smoker that sneaks around the house and steps into the alarm sensors!!
Regarding Robben Island i strictly have to reject these allegations. lol means leave out lying. haha anyhow we will book the island early enough and not last minute as there is no special price for this also not for Belgiums.

You will be on the island at your next visit. all the best Urs and Christoph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Urs and Christophe were great! Their guesthouse has been described with many superlatives so we can only endorse what has been written. On the weekend of the Argos bikeride they saved us by finding us accomodation when all looked gloomy and we thought we were on the street! We will be back. Thank you for your hospitality again. Thankyou also to all your staff who were also very good and helpful. Great garden. Best Wishes, C and G from Dubai

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank PiratesofStMalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevoyanSAN, Owner at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Hi Clive
Thank you very much for your review. You are probably the only ones that have slept in three different rooms in three nights. So your judgement counts a lot.
We are happy that we could assist and that you liked it in Trevoyan.
Hope you do not have to many sandstorms over there in Dubai. Wishing you all the best.

Urs and Christoph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I have stayed at the Trevoyan on several occasions. It is the most wonderful place one can imagine. It is located in a safe area, Tamboerskloof, close to most major attractions.
The owners really make you feel like part of the family and any question you may have will be answered immediately. Any help needed will be available.
The rooms are spacious and really lovely. The neighbourhood is very quiet and so is the house itself.
A really beautiful pool with tables (for a nice drink) and chairs (to enjoy the sun) is right next to the house in a very beautiful garden.
There is no doubt here: Paradise cannot be better than this.

Room Tip: Sorry, fitness service doesn't want to stay empty. But until now, the fitness you can get is by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevoyanSAN, Owner at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Hi Anna

Yuhh! what can i say. Did not know that we are in paradise here every day. Sometimes other people have to open your eyes. Need to say that you are most probably right. Just looked at table mountain with the church in front and noticed that it is like in Austria or Switzerland with the difference that the temperature is much more pleasant.

See you soon again in Trevoyan I hope and in the meantime all the best

Urs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

After a three-day stay with friends at the end of March, we can highly recommend Trevoyan Guesthouse. The owners, Christoph and Urs, provided a warm welcome, delicious breakfasts (including fresh fruit, yogurt, home-made bread, juices, and eggs), as well as useful information about local restaurants and Cape Town sites. Our rooms were large, modern, and well appointed, and the shaded garden and pool added to our enjoyment. The location between Table Mountain and the Waterfront is ideal

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marshalutchlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevoyanSAN, Owner at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Hi all of you
Glad you are back well in New Jersey. Your feedback is highly appreciated and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Trevoyan.
If you experience the same as most South Africa visitors do we will meet again. In the meantime we wish you all the best.
Urs and Christoph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed at the Trevoyan with friends for 3 nights from 28th March and it was a haven at the end of busy days sightseeing. The location is ideal between table mountain and the harbour and the shaded garden is a tranquil and relaxing feature. The rooms are well appointed, large and most importantly the beds are very comfortable! The breakfast is plentiful and well prepared. Christoph and Urs take it in turns to provide all the help and advice you need to make the most of a stay in and around Cape Town. All round the Trevoyan can be highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C4HGittins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevoyanSAN, Owner at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Hello Mr and Mrs Gittins

Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate it. Wishing you all the best and as we wrote to your friends in New jersey: we are waiting for your next visit to Trevoyan.

Kind regards

Urs and Christoph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
An African Villa
#8 of 109 in Cape Town Central
994 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parker Cottage
#1 of 155 in Cape Town Central
1,019 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#2 of 155 in Cape Town Central
626 reviews
City Bowl
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthou...
#5 of 155 in Cape Town Central
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevoyan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevoyan Guest House

Property: Trevoyan Guest House
Address: 12 Gilmour Hill Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trevoyan Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the slopes of Table Mountain, stands the Trevoyan guesthouse, enjoy the beauty of Trevoyans charming garden, relax under a majestic oak tree and take a dip in our solar heated pool. For those who love the sun, soak it up on the sun-deck with stunning views of the city bowl, table mountain, signal hill, lions head and devils peak. Trevoyan guesthouse offers 4 luxurious en-suite double rooms, 1 junior suite and two suites with separate lounges. An opulent breakfast is served on our conservatory styled verandah. Wireless Internet facility throughout the house available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Trevoyan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trevoyan Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing