We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confort et Charme !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trevoyan Guest House
Ranked #13 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Urs and Christophe were great! Their guesthouse has been described with many superlatives so we can only endorse what has been written. On the weekend of the Argos bikeride they saved us by finding us accomodation when all looked gloomy and we thought we were on the street! We will be back. Thank you for your hospitality again. Thankyou also to all your staff who were also very good and helpful. Great garden. Best Wishes, C and G from Dubai

Stayed: March 2012
Thank PiratesofStMalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevoyanSAN, Owner at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

Hi Clive
Thank you very much for your review. You are probably the only ones that have slept in three different rooms in three nights. So your judgement counts a lot.
We are happy that we could assist and that you liked it in Trevoyan.
Hope you do not have to many sandstorms over there in Dubai. Wishing you all the best.

Urs and Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 408 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2012

I have stayed at the Trevoyan on several occasions. It is the most wonderful place one can imagine. It is located in a safe area, Tamboerskloof, close to most major attractions.
The owners really make you feel like part of the family and any question you may have will be answered immediately. Any help needed will be available.
The rooms are spacious and really lovely. The neighbourhood is very quiet and so is the house itself.
A really beautiful pool with tables (for a nice drink) and chairs (to enjoy the sun) is right next to the house in a very beautiful garden.
There is no doubt here: Paradise cannot be better than this.

Room Tip: Sorry, fitness service doesn't want to stay empty. But until now, the fitness you can get is by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevoyanSAN, Owner at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Hi Anna

Yuhh! what can i say. Did not know that we are in paradise here every day. Sometimes other people have to open your eyes. Need to say that you are most probably right. Just looked at table mountain with the church in front and noticed that it is like in Austria or Switzerland with the difference that the temperature is much more pleasant.

See you soon again in Trevoyan I hope and in the meantime all the best

Urs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

After a three-day stay with friends at the end of March, we can highly recommend Trevoyan Guesthouse. The owners, Christoph and Urs, provided a warm welcome, delicious breakfasts (including fresh fruit, yogurt, home-made bread, juices, and eggs), as well as useful information about local restaurants and Cape Town sites. Our rooms were large, modern, and well appointed, and the shaded garden and pool added to our enjoyment. The location between Table Mountain and the Waterfront is ideal

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marshalutchlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevoyanSAN, Owner at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Hi all of you
Glad you are back well in New Jersey. Your feedback is highly appreciated and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Trevoyan.
If you experience the same as most South Africa visitors do we will meet again. In the meantime we wish you all the best.
Urs and Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed at the Trevoyan with friends for 3 nights from 28th March and it was a haven at the end of busy days sightseeing. The location is ideal between table mountain and the harbour and the shaded garden is a tranquil and relaxing feature. The rooms are well appointed, large and most importantly the beds are very comfortable! The breakfast is plentiful and well prepared. Christoph and Urs take it in turns to provide all the help and advice you need to make the most of a stay in and around Cape Town. All round the Trevoyan can be highly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C4HGittins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevoyanSAN, Owner at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Hello Mr and Mrs Gittins

Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate it. Wishing you all the best and as we wrote to your friends in New jersey: we are waiting for your next visit to Trevoyan.

Kind regards

Urs and Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We had fantastic four days in this lovely guesthouse with its beautiful rooms, great garden and pool and very helpful hosts and staff. Location is splendid - walking distance to the centre and easy to get out of the city or over to Camps Bay as well. Christof and Urs recommended the picnic concerts in the Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens - a really memorable experience!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gundi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevoyanSAN, Owner at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2012

Hi there Gundi
Welcome back in Belgium I hope - even so the chocolate there...!! lets not go there. Thank you for your positive review and we are glad that you had a good stay at Trevoyan.
We keep garden room 1ready for your next stay and may prepare a picnic basket for the next Kirstenbosch visit. Wishing you all the best.
Urs and Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We have stayed at Trevoyan 3 or 4 times now, and always thoroughly enjoy the experience. Urs and Christoph are great hosts - very friendly, helpful and thoughtful. The rooms are very comfortable with great beds, and the service and all the staff are great. The garden and pool are lovely to relax in after a morning's sightseeing.
Trevoyan is ideally placed to get to both the Waterfront area of Cape Town as well as Table Mountain and Camps Bay. It is very safe and there are lots of good restaurants fairly close by if you don't want to take the car or a taxi further afield. Urs and Christoph will advise on which restaurants are particularly good, and even recommend one particular taxi firm who are generally the most reliable in Cape Town with the best rates too.
We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Cape Town now.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s13andra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevoyanSAN, Owner at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

Hi Sandra and Ronnie

Thank you for the flowers (and the wine). In return we may assure you that you are always very welcome as guests. Nice to hear that you feel well at Trevoyan and will come back. Wishing you a splendid party for that big day to come and look forward to having you again after this journey.

Regards

Urs and Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Stayed with Urs & Christophe for 5 days from 24th Feb along with our friends. What excellent hosts. It was my husband & my first visit to South Africa and what a great start to our holiday. Our room was an excellent size with everything you could possibly need and it was a pleasure to return to the beautiful garden and swimming pool each afternoon. Breakfast was always very entertaining with Urs keeping us amused with his stories. Christophe tried very hard to obtain tickets for us to the rugby @ Newlands, but was not to be, so we had a great time watching the match in a bar at the waterfront. We all enjoyed the red & blue open top bus tours which we were able to pick up from close to Trevoyan. Our evenings at the waterfront were made especially enjoyable by Urs or Christophe arranging a taxi @ the exceptionally reasonable cost of £1 each. Thank you very much for very enjoyable time and we would like to visit again. Elaine & Trevor

Room Tip: Room 2 opens onto the garden and is very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine01202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevoyanSAN, Owner at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2012

A great thank you to you four rugbys. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Trevoyan. Really sorry that it did not work with the tickets. Assume the owner of your favourite place at the water front is missing you. Assume his turn over dropped quite a bit.
We are ready for your next visit and this time we shall order tickets in advance. Wishing you all the best. Urs and Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,440 reviews
Welgelegen
#11 of 156 in Cape Town Central
466 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthou...
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
278 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
651 reviews
Villa Costa Rose
#14 of 156 in Cape Town Central
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevoyan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevoyan Guest House

Address: 12 Gilmour Hill Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $137 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trevoyan Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the slopes of Table Mountain, stands the Trevoyan guesthouse, enjoy the beauty of Trevoyans charming garden, relax under a majestic oak tree and take a dip in our solar heated pool. For those who love the sun, soak it up on the sun-deck with stunning views of the city bowl, table mountain, signal hill, lions head and devils peak. Trevoyan guesthouse offers 4 luxurious en-suite double rooms, 1 junior suite and two suites with separate lounges. An opulent breakfast is served on our conservatory styled verandah. Wireless Internet facility throughout the house available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Trevoyan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trevoyan Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing