We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trevoyan Guest House
Ranked #13 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2012

If you are looking for a special place in Capetown you should check Trevoyan Guest House. In this elegant Victorian villa you will find elegant, esthetically decorated rooms. We stayed in the Garden Room 7 which is a lovely room with an impressive antique fireplace. The Trevoyan offers also a nice pool from where you can enjoy mountain views. We also appreciated the central location, the breakfast and the insider tips from the friendly owners. Trevoyan is definitely a good choice!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk-Daniela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevoyanSAN, Manager at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

Hi there Daniela and Dirk -
Thank you very much for your compliments. We are glad you found Trevoyan most pleasant and would probably want to come again. :-) What a wonderful coincidence you knew Gianni and Cristina from Swellendam, via an italian Island !!!! enabling us to get to know each other as well and enjoy your company. Wishing you both well until we shall meet hopefully again in beautiful Cape Town or elsewhere on this planet! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 408 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed here, in Garden Suite 5, over the Christmas holiday for five days and had a wonderful time. The hosts Christoph and Urs are so pleasant, and downright hysterical if you get them going on the right topic. The suite is great if you want to spend a night in, cooking for yourself, or not, as there were plenty of great restaurants right around the corner. The courtyard area is really nice, and the pictures I've seen don't quite do it justice. A really great place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevoyanSAN, Manager at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

Hi there! Thanks for this.....hope you arrived well back in Chicago IL? We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us - even though we can go positively hysterical if touching the right topic!!! Ha, ha, ha. We agree if the weather plays its part, Garden Suite, Room 5 with its private patio and direct access to pool and garden is a winner! :-) Hope you got not too disturbed by our party people from Switzerland who also took advantage of our beautiful, large garden around the pool.
Wishing both of you a belated Happy New Year and many returns to our beautiful South Africa and Cape Town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We had a great stay at the Trevoyan. The breakfasts were delicious and well presented. The rooms were elegant - very nicely displayed local art on the walls - and the hosts were very, very helpful and knowledgable. If we are ever back in Cape Town we will come here.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TobyOliverM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Trevoyan Guest House is a great place to stay in Cape Town. Centrally located, immaculate rooms and a great host.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevoyanSAN, Owner at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2011

Vivien - Thanks for the great review. Glad you enjoyed your stay @Trevoyan 'nailing' it by making the point that location comes out tops if you like to stay central.Trevoyan being in a residential, quiet location and in the CBD at the same time is what makes it great oasis in a bustlin world class city!
Thanks again and all the best to both of you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

excellent value for money, we stayed 5 nights. location was great for walking into the city or to restaurants at night. the owner was very helpful with great recommendations of places to go and eat. definitely recommend Trevoyan.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEFF L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevoyanSAN, Owner at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

Dear Jeff -
Thank you very much for your positive comments. The pleasure t o have had Linda, Debra, Mark and yourself here as our guests is absolutely on our side. Wishing you well and many happy returns to South Africa and hopefully Cape Town.
Christoph @ Trevoyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We had a fantastic stay here. We were on our honeymoon and this was the first impression we had of Cape Town and South Africa.

The guest house is very well run and managed. Breakfast was excellent each day. Christophe was quick to recommend supurb places to eat and visit. He called ahead on a number of occasions to check availability of museums and tours etc. We can recommend booking ahead (by about 2 weeks) for Robben Island and Millers Thumb as great place that is close to Trevoyan for lunch or dinner.

Trevoyan, to us, was in a very safe part of Cape Town and we had no qualms about walking out to the many resturants and bars that are in the local area. The walk down to Company Gardens, Mount Nelson Hotel (for afternoon tea!) and to the town centre is also very easy.

We left some items behind and Christophe forwarded on a parcel without charge. This was done without any hassle and with a note thanking us for staying with him.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LJFlood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrevoyanSAN, Owner at Trevoyan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

Dear Elizabeth and Liam -
Thank you so much for your feedback. Glad to hear you were successfully re-united with the lost item :-). Hope many wonderful moments therewith could be banned on camera, in your minds and hearts.
Wishing you both well on your journey as a married couple.. Who knows, maybe one day you want to refresh your happy honeymoon memories and come back.?!
Cheers!
Christoph @ Trevoyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

This was a fantastic find! We stayed in the Garden Room and it was fabulous! Breakfast was served on the terrace with a view of Table Mountain and evening spent cooling off in the warm pool. Everything was fabulous, very clean, very friendly, non intruisve yet attentive personnel. Great access to the Kloof Streets restraunt and bars all within walking distance even after dark. We would certainly recommend Yindees Thai restaraunt for dinner which is only 5 mins walk away....best Thai ever tasted, even compared to those in Thailand!!!!!!!. Christoph the Trevoyan owner is fabulous and VERY accomodating. GREAT place would highly recommend to anyone wanting to enjoy Cape Town in style!

Room Tip: A wonderful oasis within a buzzing city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenandCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,441 reviews
Welgelegen
#11 of 156 in Cape Town Central
466 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthou...
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
278 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
651 reviews
Villa Costa Rose
#14 of 156 in Cape Town Central
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevoyan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevoyan Guest House

Address: 12 Gilmour Hill Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $137 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trevoyan Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the slopes of Table Mountain, stands the Trevoyan guesthouse, enjoy the beauty of Trevoyans charming garden, relax under a majestic oak tree and take a dip in our solar heated pool. For those who love the sun, soak it up on the sun-deck with stunning views of the city bowl, table mountain, signal hill, lions head and devils peak. Trevoyan guesthouse offers 4 luxurious en-suite double rooms, 1 junior suite and two suites with separate lounges. An opulent breakfast is served on our conservatory styled verandah. Wireless Internet facility throughout the house available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Trevoyan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trevoyan Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing