We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a really good time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel on St Georges
Ranked #72 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Kent, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had a really good time”
Reviewed September 6, 2009

This hotel was briliant. Although a little dated it was absolutely spotless. The rooms are a good size and so are the bathrooms. Although you have to pay for the valet parking it works extremely well and isn't very expensive. The staff are good. Its very central so it is easy to walk where you want during the day. Breakfast was brilliant but evening buffet could have been better. Would have liked more than 2 coffees and teas in the room but I drink so much tea. Just brilliant for exploring all round Cape Town and surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank picky1kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    203
    119
    25
    28
See reviews for
42
160
76
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2009

It took us forever to check in and when we got to the room found the bathroom some what dingy, so much so that we waited until we got to our second hotel room the next day to shower. Great value for money though, especially when booked online, and also the hotel is situated in a great central location and many parts of the central city are easily walkable.

Free breakfast the next morning wasn't all that applealing either. I'd say this hotel is worth a stay but maybe just for a few days if you're spending a longer time in Cape Town then you may look into other places after one night if not entirely satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MunahW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We had 2 nights there as part of the deal with a cruise from Fremantle, Australia.
We caught a taxi from V and A Waterfront for 20 Rand. We arrived at 11 am but there was no problem checking into our room on the 8th Floor, looking out to Table Mountain The hotel is showing its age . the noisy lifts are a bit of a worry, but this adds to the quaint atmosphere. The included breakfast downstairs in the restaurant is was excellent , after taking my coffee outside to have with a smoke I found out you can smoke at the bar in the restaurant. The black slate outside the lift must be the shiniest the world. Every time we went in our out there was a person scrubbing it !
The Business Centre on the 5th floor has internet access - sort of. Access is expensive, the PCs were old Dells with fuzzy CRT monitors.I had to get someone from downstairs to set up an internet connection and enter the code I had bought, only to find the PCs do not have an accessible USB port so I could not email my photos - which was the object of the exercise.!
Our first night there was Sunday , no open eating eating establishments were visible in the street so we walked past the station to Mc Donalds which we had noticed on the way in. After 28 days on a cruise junk food was delicious.
We later discovered that walking that part of town at night was not such a great idea but we got there and back safely.
The adjacent St George Mall is a great shopping area, during the day it is filled with souvenir, travel equipment, fruit and other stalls. The first restaurant on the right going up the mall is excellent. A simple toasted sandwich came with salad and chips - for half the price we would pay in Australia. Look for the special breakfast on the blackboard ,
available only until 10.30.
There are numerous Public Security Officers on the streets during the day, they dispelled our security fears and are very helpfull with directions.
We had not researched our destination well, we had to buy some warmer clothes, this was when we discovered most things in South Africa are at least 30% cheaper than Australia.
We have taken to carrying some sachets of instant Cappuccino whenever we travel, we always like more than the one cup of coffee provided in hotel rooms .
I negotiated an internet rate for one night a week later. We were staying with relos but wanted too stay in town the night before catching the Premier Classe overnight train to Johannesburg the next day. The friendly valet guys provide a shuttle to the station for a very reasonable 20 Rand.
If we get back to Capetown we will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodj34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2009

I found an offer for the Hotel St George’s for around £30 per night and as I very much like the sister hotel (Ritz in Green Point), I thought I give it a try. I was staying in one of the corner rooms on the 9th floor, which is really super spacious and nicely arranged although the interior is rather dark. Everything in the room worked without any problems, the room was cleaned every day, and the breakfast buffet is okay. Staff at reception were friendly and helpful although at times they could not find the guy in charge of the wireless internet vouchers. The air condition was slightly annoying since it seems to connect several rooms and so I could listen to conversations of other hotel guests in the room below or above. It is important to know that the St George’s Hotel is not necessarily in the safest area in Cape Town. It is fine walking to the CTICC or other venues at day but at nighttime I would not venture out on foot. All in all, I would prefer the St George’s over the Fountains Hotel, which is located in the same block and has similar rates.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2009

I had the most horrible experience at st georges hotel; I used to at times leave my wallet in the room during breakfast at the restaurant downstairs; the housekeeping staff had opened my wallet; noted down details of my international credit cards and after I had left, made unauthorised and illegal transactions using the card at merchants around the hotel; total spend in such manner was USD 1500 in three days time; luckily citibank did not find me liable for these charges as I had the card in my possession and these transactions happened after I had left Cape Town back to India but the experience was horrible; also the staff used to creep me out, especially the reception and front desk staff; only the restaurant staff very nice and friendly; so BE VERY CAREFUL WHEN YOU STAY AT THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bala040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2009

Very good central location, clean room and excellent breakfast.
Easy walk to most Cape Town locations, food and entertainment areas, with exception of
V & A (however, one visit is enough).
Parking is by valet, but simple and reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnhicue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2009

I stayed overnight while transiting through Cape Town for 4 years in a row. The rooms are grossly outdated, but cheap. It was fine for one person looking for an inexpensive night. When checking out after my last visit I was advised that the credit card machine was broken. The clerk said she needed to make a copy of my credit card in case there were any "incidentals". Should have known better but agreed. Next month there is a charge for airline tickets in S. Africa which I did not make. The only time that particular credit card was used was at that hotel! The card company did not charge me but it was still a hassle. Numerous complaint letters and emails were sent without one single response! That was the last time I'll ever stay there.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kellirAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#46 of 109 in Cape Town Central
791 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#38 of 109 in Cape Town Central
580 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Tulbagh Hotel
The New Tulbagh Hotel
#98 of 109 in Cape Town Central
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fountains Hotel
Fountains Hotel
#83 of 109 in Cape Town Central
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strand Tower Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel
#50 of 109 in Cape Town Central
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on St Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on St Georges

Property: Hotel on St Georges
Address: St Georges Mall | cnr Riebeek St, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on St Georges 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel on St. George’s is conveniently located on the foreshore, the major hub of Cape Town’s legal, financial and publishing district. This location enjoys the convenience of being a few minutes’ walk from Cape Town CBD, Cape Town International Convention Centre and the world renowned V&A Waterfront and 22 kilometers from Cape Town International Airport. The Hotel offers affordable accommodation as well as a trendy Nail Salon less than 2 minutes walking distance from the hotel backed by a professional and dedicated team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel on St Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Cape Town
St Georges Hotel Cape Town
Hotel St Georges
Hotel On St Georges Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing