We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel on St Georges
Ranked #75 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Safe, clean, convenient! Everything one can expect on a budget. Special mention must be made of the professional, friendly staff who contributed to a very pleasant 4 day stay in CT! The valet parking is well worth the cost at R50 per day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MGounden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 467 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and wished I had stayed there from the beginning of my trip to Cape Town. The location is excellent, very safe, very close to Waterfront, Convention center and shops. I could walk around without feeling unsafe at any time. There's a market nearby for South African souvenirs like place mats, throw pillow covers and home stuff. Pick n Pay, Shoprite, McDonald, KFC, Woolworth etc are just 3 - 5 minute walk. I found the staff very friendly, helpful and professional. The lobby is neat and nice. The room was clean, adequate in size, warm and cozy. I had an amazing view of table mountain and could take pictures showing the clouds coming down like a table cloth in the evenings and mornings. The bed was comfortable and the linens were good. The buffet breakfast with fruits and juices was hot very good. The elevators are okay but could do with some renovation.
I certainly will recommend this hotel to any one or group of people. Expect me anytime I come to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Higher floors with Table mountain views are excellent. Was in Room 817
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank star_angel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Always remember what you paid when reviewing a hotel. This hotel gives exceptional value for what you pay. We needed to be close to the station as our train left early for Johannesburg. The hotel is cosmetically renovated that gives a satisfying visual and quality experience. Our room (although not huge and a view onto the neighbouring building) was comfortable and good equipped. It had very good quality bed and linen. The bathroom was clean and provided in all our needs.
The location of the hotel is good (across the road from the station) and in town. A very good breakfast was served in a trendy café next door. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will stay here again when we are looking for value for money accommodation.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the station's side to have a view from your window. Most rooms face onto t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kobus69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel on St Georges over the weekend with a Groupon voucher. While I am of the view that Cape Town is exhobitantly expensive to be prohibitive to local tourism, if you have to pay the big bucks, you expect great service and quallity accommodation.

The lobby and reception area is nice, there is a valet service for parking but you have to pay separately for parking. Parking should come with the accommodation.

The lift needs to be serviced as the doors open while the lift is still moving.

There is a really nice Spar and Pick n Pay express if you need just up the road. The Hotel does not have its own restaurant.

All round, I wouldn't go back or recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The room was so very basic with the bathroom in serious need of renovation. The tiles were chipped a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank nev n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The location was very good, the friendly staff, good breakfast and clean rooms
I liked the free wireless internet all over the hotel. I enjoyed the breakfast at Deli and I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel and whenever I will come back to Cape Town I wish to have the same stay there

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Hassan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The two best things about this hotel is (1) its affordability and (2) its location. As many other reviewers have said though: you get what you pay for. The hotel rooms have the basics. But the basics are basic and that's about it.

The reception staff were welcoming on arrival and the check in process was easy. We were shown to our room and helped with our bags. The room had a good(ish) view. Comfortable bed, but terrible pillows. The TV set was from the 1980s, but at least there were a few DSTV channels.

There are coffee making facilities in the room, but there is no restaurant on site. The hotel relies on nearby restaurants to look after it's guests eating requirements. Water is sold at reception (no mini bar) and breakfast (which is next door) attracts an extra charge, but there is a delivery service to your room door.

There is no on site parking, but the hotel offers a secure valet service (again, at an extra charge).

All in all, not bad, but certainly not great.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Located in the heart of the city, not far from Long Street and the Green Market Square. The staff are very helpful. The room was comfortable enough and the breakfast included at the cafe next door was good. Overall, decent value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lydia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town hotels
Parliament Hotel
#39 of 110 in Cape Town
603 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
#106 of 110 in Cape Town
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on St Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on St Georges

Address: St Georges Mall | cnr Riebeek St, Cape Town 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town
Price Range: $60 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on St Georges 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel on St. George’s is conveniently located on the foreshore, the major hub of Cape Town’s legal, financial and publishing district. This location enjoys the convenience of being a few minutes’ walk from Cape Town CBD, Cape Town International Convention Centre and the world renowned V&A Waterfront and 22 kilometers from Cape Town International Airport. The Hotel offers affordable accommodation as well as a trendy Nail Salon less than 2 minutes walking distance from the hotel backed by a professional and dedicated team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel on St Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Cape Town
St Georges Hotel Cape Town
Hotel St Georges
Hotel On St Georges Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing