We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok room, good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel on St Georges
Ranked #72 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok room, good service”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed for 3 nights at this hotel on our first visit to Cape Town. The area is fairly central though seems to empty by 9pm. The staff were all very nice and helpful with booking tours and info about the town. The rooms are basic but has everything you need. Clean but nothing special as its an older hotel. Not a bad price for the room. The breakfast included was great. It was offered at a cafe close to the hotel which I didn't mind. No restaurant options for dinner or lunch there.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainforme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    203
    119
    25
    28
See reviews for
42
160
76
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, Manchester, England
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This was my second visit to this hotel, The service from all the staff is first class, any issues
or queries were dealt with immediatly with a positive outcome, Room was spacious and of a good standard, Breakfast is currently served at a cafe about a minutes walk away, It is a buffet breakfast with a good choice and a nice place to eat.

If I return to capetown I will stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This was the last hotel during our stay in South Africa. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a great location in the centre with restaurants within walking distance. Breakfast buffet is in the nearby mall, which is absolutely no problem. The choice of food is good. Rooms are ok, TV, a/c & safe.

The negative points is that the bath would need a renovation. It looks rather dirty and not very well maintained. In addition, the rooms are poorly sound-proofed, especially if your room is close the elevator. I don't want to hear every single guest coming home at night and leaving in the morning....

Room Tip: No room close to the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bebbi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İzmir
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We found this hotel via booking .com and liked .Brakfast is not inside the hotel but next to hotel there is a very good restaurant andthis is included which is so nice.Rooms are wide enough.The only problem is it was written that the shuttle from the airport is free but not ! Although taxi prices are not high they promised for shuttle but did not send.

Room Tip: the higher the rooms the noisy because of the wind
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AYSESIBEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We booked the hotel as part of a package so didn't really know what to expect. The location was fantastic! It's in the middle of everything and still maintains a peacefulness about it. The rooms do need a makeover, it's slightly outdated. However, they are very spacious and cleaned well. Long street is a road up and there's a club in the same building (at a different entrance) which was also great! The restaurant at the hotel was being renovated at the time so we were given breakfast vouchers at a lovely deli next door. They offer a valet service for your car which I think was a great touch. I've saved the best for the last...the staff, they really understand hospitality We felt so well taken of being 2 ladies travelling alone; the staff took extra care to ensure we were safe and always advised us of the best options. If it's touring or partying you in CPT for, then this is the perfect hotel to be at!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRIYANKA N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is an average hotel with a very good price and a location that simply couldn't get any better. If you want to stay in the city bowl itself, this hotel is good.

The service is average but effective.

On a Friday or Saturday you get the feeling that it's kind of like "one of those pay by the hour hotels" as you see some colourful characters entering and leaving.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerCza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Excellent service in this hotel made us to extend our stay. The room was clean, little bit older but nice, beds very comfortable. Excellent view of the Table Mountain (ask for a room with table mountain view). Air condition was working and WIFI for free and working without problems.
I also liked the wallet parking service (50ZAR/day but well worth it).
For the breakfast you get vouchers for the kitchen deli around the corner - very tasty and such a big portions...
I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cape Town. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mira G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
791 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#36 of 109 in Cape Town Central
580 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Tulbagh Hotel
The New Tulbagh Hotel
#98 of 109 in Cape Town Central
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#49 of 109 in Cape Town Central
817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fountains Hotel
Fountains Hotel
#82 of 109 in Cape Town Central
529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strand Tower Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel
#51 of 109 in Cape Town Central
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on St Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on St Georges

Property: Hotel on St Georges
Address: St Georges Mall | cnr Riebeek St, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on St Georges 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel on St. George’s is conveniently located on the foreshore, the major hub of Cape Town’s legal, financial and publishing district. This location enjoys the convenience of being a few minutes’ walk from Cape Town CBD, Cape Town International Convention Centre and the world renowned V&A Waterfront and 22 kilometers from Cape Town International Airport. The Hotel offers affordable accommodation as well as a trendy Nail Salon less than 2 minutes walking distance from the hotel backed by a professional and dedicated team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel on St Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Cape Town
St Georges Hotel Cape Town
Hotel St Georges
Hotel On St Georges Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing