We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel on St Georges
Ranked #73 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The rooms need a refurb, though are comfortable and clean, the staff and management are what make the property. Walking distance to many of Cape Towns points of interest. Views from my room were priceless, you can sit and what the happenings for ages. They have a planned refurb scheduled and cannot wait to see the final poduct. Thank you all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountain - higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    200
    119
    25
    29
See reviews for
41
160
76
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peachland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were originally booked to Inn on the Square but do to problems with A/C they moved us to this hotel. This is an older hotel and it looks worn. Our room did us well as we were upgraded to a one bedroom. Slept well and enjoyed the sitting area to watch TV.
They only have one internet computer in the lobby so good luck with that.
The bathroom was okay but old - still has a old Bday in it with a sign above it saying "don't use this". They are putting off their hotel as "heritage". I say its just old.
We asked for a late check-out and although the desk said no problem, we were told after that it would cost us $120 (USD)!!!!! Are you kidding?? Anyways they held our luggage and we went out for the day.
This place is within walking distance to the market (about 10 - 15 minutes)
A hotel good for passing through.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potchefstroom, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Visited the hotel in December 2011. Although well situated this Hotel is in urgent need of renovation. The rooms are old and weathered with the old box type tv's in the rooms. The wind noise in the room is very bothersome. Aircon out of order. The most shocking was the bathroom which had permanent stains in the bath tub and basin. The bath had a yellow stained curtain for those brave enough to test the shower. Would not recommend this establishment to any travelers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaacoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Nice hotel with friendly staff.
In bad need of renovation, not that many facilities.

As a place to sleep whilst attending a conference it was ok, and good value for money for being in Cape Town.

Breakfast was a bit boring.

The location was good, it took about 20 min to walk down to waterfront and just a few min to walk to Long Street and all the restaurants there. However, the blocks surrounding the hotel is a business area which is quite deserted at night.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mariamikaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The St George's Hotel is very central in Cape Town, but is in bad need of renovation. The hotel does not look like the photos as portrayed on the website, the photos were obviously taken a long time ago!! The hotel had no facilities at all.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 54Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

we had a very good stay.a friendly stuff, clean rooms and a very comfortable bed. The elevators doors are closing very quick so we must rush to enter/exit them. There is a very nice club on the 31st floor of the building and from there you have a fantastic views of Cape town by the night. We had two restaurants for breakfast available.
Breakfast was ok, the stuff was always friendly. Think i come back...............male 47 yers old.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Adriano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

First the good: Hotel on St. George's is a solid 3* hotel, in a central Cape Town location, just off Long Street and a 6-minute walk from the CITCC convention centre. My room was clean, the very reasonable room rate included full breakfast, staff were friendly and helpful and mattress was comfortable and as new.

The bad: Cape Town is prone to high winds day and night. Depending on the positioning of buildings and which way a room faces, its windows experience high buffeting, which is what I suffered for two out of my three nights. Given that this is not a new building, the fittings of its glazing were not great, so the constant noise of a gale blowing was not great.

Worse: The walls of my hotel room were THIN. So thin that I could hear just about every word spoken next door, which is bad.

Even worse, however, was the noise of my neighbours' amorous lovemaking in the night, which was loud and protracted enough to wake me at 4am. I am normally a very deep sleeper, so this takes some doing. While I would never begrudge any couple the joys of orgasmic conjugation and wanting to let the world know about it, the decibel levels were off the scale.

For noise reasons, I would look elsewhere before re-booking St. George's, though another room (not #910), on another floor on another side of the building, may have resulted in a more restful stay.

Room Tip: Avoid R910 and any other room on that side of the building, as high winds may spoil your night rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbsentParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#37 of 109 in Cape Town Central
576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#46 of 109 in Cape Town Central
776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#79 of 109 in Cape Town Central
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AHA Inn on the Square
AHA Inn on the Square
#66 of 109 in Cape Town Central
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fountains Hotel
Fountains Hotel
#81 of 109 in Cape Town Central
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on St Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on St Georges

Property: Hotel on St Georges
Address: St Georges Mall | cnr Riebeek St, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on St Georges 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel on St. George’s is conveniently located on the foreshore, the major hub of Cape Town’s legal, financial and publishing district. This location enjoys the convenience of being a few minutes’ walk from Cape Town CBD, Cape Town International Convention Centre and the world renowned V&A Waterfront and 22 kilometers from Cape Town International Airport. The Hotel offers affordable accommodation as well as a trendy Nail Salon less than 2 minutes walking distance from the hotel backed by a professional and dedicated team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel on St Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Cape Town
St Georges Hotel Cape Town
Hotel St Georges
Hotel On St Georges Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing