We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of The Commodore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Commodore
Ranked #40 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The location is AWESOME... easy walk to the Aquarium... the V&A Waterfront (shops, bars, restaurants).... I felt very safe within the areas of the hotel and V&A Waterfront...
The hotel was very cool... kinda British Empire meets 2014..... Great staff (esp the bar staff... very friendly).... Nice big, clean rooms...
Breakfast was awesome.... just about anything you could want.... Also did two late lunches in the bar... bar food, but very tasty.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClemsonTiger1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

663 - 669 of 1,294 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for four nights as a base to visit Cape Town and the area. The location was perfect for V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain and local tours. Service of the staff, housekeeping, concierge, and restaurant was excellent. The facility was quiet, clean, attractive (comfortably elegant). The food was excellent starting with the breakfast buffet and on to dinner, offering traditional as well as local fare. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srbeau645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

From arriving to leaving great service. Foyer is impressive with a special mention for the duty manager on 24th May (sorry forgotten his name) and the block that was put on my credit card! Bar and restaurant staff very friendly (which is always nice when you're travelling on your own). Rooms well presented and very comfy especially loved the chocolates or individually boxed fruit tea-bags on the turn down service. Extra adapter plugs supplied and very help concierge can't fault it except for the strange noises in the night (snoring guest in adjoining room or lift mechanism - I'm still not sure!) Very close 5-10 mins to V & A waterfront and a great recommendation from my travel agent - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at The Commodore for a few nights in May 2014. We picked the hotel because it was cheap and well located. The location is excellent - just a few minutes walk to the V&A Waterfront where there are tons of shops and restaurants.

We found the staff to be friendly (especially the parking valets) and the free buffet breakfast was pretty good. The breakfast has a mix of hot and cold foods. We found out on our last day that you can get toast if you ask your server - weird they don't have a toaster out. We did not have dinner at the restaurant because there were so many great restaurants within walking distance (our favourite was Mondiall).

The room was pretty basic and outdated and the shower needs an upgrade (water gets everywhere!), as other reviewers have mentioned. We stayed at another Legacy hotel in Joburg on our trip (the Michaelangelo) and it was a few stars ahead of this one. But for the great price and location, we would consider staying at The Commodore again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Scuttle_hole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Myself and a friend stayed here for 10 nights lately. We had a brilliant time and the hotel met expectation. Most of the staff were lovely (not all reception staff were!) and the room and facilities were up-to-standard. Breakfast was really nice and the lunches and dinners were really reasonably priced and delicious! The only things we'd improve were the shower- this was just in the bath and the screen was not sufficient in stopping the water from going all over the floor and there were no movies to buy on the tv. Would definitely stay again- the area was very safe and very close to everything!

Room Tip: We faced the road and it was quite noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolaellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed here for a week & found the staff to be amazing, going out of their way to help us out. For example, we went surfing each day & a staff member dried them for us each night. The car valets were very friendly & didn't mind that we constantly came in & out of the hotel.
Breakfast was great, plenty of variety.
One minor problem was that one night the water in the bathroom was brown & it didn't clear up until the next morning after we complained a few times that night.
Location is perfect, within walking distance to the waterfront and a 5 minute drive to Table Mountain, Lions Head & 10 mins to Camp Bay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed here with a group for 3 days and didn't think the hotel was super.
CONS: The bathroom was VERY outdated and when you took a shower it couldn't drain fast enough so you sat in a few inches of water, gross. Also they gouge you on exchange rate if you want to exchange money. Also if you ask for 2 beds, be warned that they are separated by about 1 inch- so you are sleeping VERY close to your roommate. Might as well have been one bed.
PROS:I got sick while I was there and the guest relations team had the doctor there in less than 30 minutes. Also, the breakfast is very good and the bar has reasonable prices.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank jfisch2286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
771 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 110 in Cape Town Central
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,033 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commodore

Address: Portwood Rd | Portswood Square, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $208 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commodore 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Victoria & Alfred waterfront; panoramic views of Table Mountain & the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commodore Hotel Cape Town Central
Commodore Hotel Cape Town
Commodore Cape Town
The Commodore Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing