We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location but a little bit dated”
Review of The Commodore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Commodore
Ranked #40 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel stay was due to a business trip in Cape Town and the surrounding area. The check-in on arrival was very efficient and the hotel colleague was friendly and happy to answer my barrage of questions! The room was adequately equipped with a very comfortable bed and furniture, although spotlessly clean, was looking a bit dated. The entire hotel could do with refreshing. My room looked out onto the central courtyard, offering a direct view into other people's hotel rooms - so be careful and draw your curtains at night!

Good points:

Truly good food and very fast and efficient room service
Very friendly and polite staff
Fast check-in
Good internet connection via Wi-Fi

Not so good points:

After paying the bill, the receptionist entered my credit card details into her computer claiming that it was for 'card identification' purposes in the event of any queries in the future. This was silly way of telling me she wanted the card details to bill me if anything happened after checking out.

All in all, I would probably stay in this hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

796 - 802 of 1,293 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

Have stayed here for a few single nights over the past 6 months and have really liked the hotel. The terrace and pool area is very pleasant, and the food and service have been good. The breakfast was particularly good. Rooms are fairly standard, but comfortable. The lobby and bar area are attractive and decorated in a colonial style. The proximity to the waterfront area, just 2-3 minutes walk, is the biggest plus of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed at the Commodore hotel for 10 nights in November 2012 and really enjoyed it. It's location to the V&A is probably it's best feature - just a short walk away and perfectly safe at night - the one and only time we got approached by a begger after a night out a security guard came out of no where and set them on their way. Secondly the hotel staff are friendly and attentive but generally not intrusive. Overall it is clean and has all the facilities you could want in a hotel and the rooms are more than adequate. The pool is small but enough to cool off in however at that time of the year be warned the water was freezing!

A few minor points - the breakfast buffet is ok (not amazing as other's have claimed), it gets really busy, you may have to wait for a seat and waiting for eggs (they cook them fresh) can be a traumatic experience, we found a small cafe in the V&A with amazing food called Vevo Telo which we would recommend highly for an amazing and cheap breakfast. Secondly beware of tipping, this can be very confusing as well - we left it to the last day to tip the porters but would advise against that as who ever you give the money to will pocket the lot and not divide it amoungst the others so would recommend if someone has done something exceptional for you tip them there and then if you can as you may not see them again and they will miss out. Also we got a sob story from one person around the back of the hotel wanting money which was uncomfortable.

We booked a shark dive through the hotel and would recommend hiring a car at the avis rentals in the V&A, cheaper to drive to the diving and quicker than getting the hotel pick up, amazing experience though and would highly recommend it.

Overall would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to stay in close proximity to the waterfront.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gold_Coast_Girl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

There are several hotels to choose from in Capetown, but if you are a tourist, and wish to be near the where much of the activity is - you would as I did choose, the Commodore at Portswood Square close to the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront. The hotel is big but during our three day stay here be did see several groups come and go. It appears popular for several tour groups.
The rooms are functional. We did have a view of the ocean since we were on the 6th floor. .
The breakfast spread is fairly big with a variety to choose from. You can ask for your eggs made to order and they do take trouble to cater to individual tastes. We did have dinner here, but I would not really recommend eating at the hotel.
Capetown is windiy, I did try the pool and the water was cold. Like most pools is South Africa, the pool is not deep about i metre in depth, so if you are a professional swimmer this is not the pool you would want to jump in . There is a gymnasium, as also a suana, for those wishing to use the facilities.
The best part of the hotel is its location, being situated close to Victoria and Alfred Ferry, where thre are several bars, the Victoria Malls, shops to hunt for souvenirs as also the place to board the ferry to Robben Island. Would certainly recommend the Commodore, for a tourist,

Room Tip: Choose a room faing the ocean, you will have to take the upper rooms. My room was 6002
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VoyageurIndien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a great hotel if you plan to spend a few days in Cape Town. The location is excellent - in walking distance to the Waterfront and easily accessible to all the major attractions. The rooms are spacious, clean with hot showers with strong water pressure. The breakfast is really good, with a great omelet stations. Also, they have great business center if you need internet access.
The staff is super friendly, especially Papi - the very kind gentleman that assisted me with my luggage. I highly recommend this hotel for your stay in the beautiful city of Cape Town!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Recently we spent a few days in Cape Town for the Cape Argus Cycle Challenge. This was our third time for the cycle race and also the third time at the Commodore Hotel. Each visit has been really great but this time the Commodore really stood out for us! My uncle was entered in the race for the first time and although he lives in the Cape and didn't stay at the Hotel the staff went out of their way to make his first Argus special. My uncle is blind and rode the race with a friend on a tandem!

Not only did the Staff help us store his tandem until the race on Sunday but they had an early breakfast setting for the cyclists and had no problem with us bringing the family and supporters in at 4am to join us for a very early breakfast. Once the cyclists had gone off to the start the rest of us were made to feel very welcome in the lounge where we were provided with an endless supply of tea and coffee. The staff was amazing with their caring and encouragement.

Once my uncle and his friend had completed the race they came back to the Commodore for a shower and celebratory drinks! Where the manager came and congratulated my uncle on his race personally.

As a hotel the Commodore is very well situated, close to the V & A Waterfront. There are an abundance of things to do and see within walking distance. If you are wanting to go further a field the Concierge is more than willing to assist you with your arrangements. You are always welcomed with a smile and the porters are friendly and efficient whether it be fetching your car or getting the lift. The restaurant is well set up and the food is tasty and well presented. The rooms are very comfortable and we have always had enough space for my hubbies bike without feeling cramped.

All in all I would recommend the Commodore without reservation to anyone visiting Cape Town.

Room Tip: The suites have to best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great hotel in a very good location especially close to The Waterfront. Rooms were good but cleaning was only average and I had to call cleaner back again to clean bathroom. Breakfast was only average and the choice was quite limited.
I got hassled by a drunk lady at the bar one night!

My experience was totally ruined after my watch was stolen from my room. This ruined my holiday and left a bad taste. Although most of my valuables were in the safe I left my watch out one day without thinking and it disappeared.
The management were reasonably proactive but no offer of compensation or price reduction was offered and no apology from anyone either! So BEWARE they have a thief amidst their staff, vigilence is required if you stay here.

Room Tip: Some rooms look out onto the wall of another building so ask for a room with at least some sort of v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
770 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#62 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,033 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commodore

Address: Portwood Rd | Portswood Square, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $205 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commodore 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Victoria & Alfred waterfront; panoramic views of Table Mountain & the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commodore Hotel Cape Town Central
Commodore Hotel Cape Town
Commodore Cape Town
The Commodore Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing