We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Commodore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Commodore
Ranked #43 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Recently we spent a few days in Cape Town for the Cape Argus Cycle Challenge. This was our third time for the cycle race and also the third time at the Commodore Hotel. Each visit has been really great but this time the Commodore really stood out for us! My uncle was entered in the race for the first time and although he lives in the Cape and didn't stay at the Hotel the staff went out of their way to make his first Argus special. My uncle is blind and rode the race with a friend on a tandem!

Not only did the Staff help us store his tandem until the race on Sunday but they had an early breakfast setting for the cyclists and had no problem with us bringing the family and supporters in at 4am to join us for a very early breakfast. Once the cyclists had gone off to the start the rest of us were made to feel very welcome in the lounge where we were provided with an endless supply of tea and coffee. The staff was amazing with their caring and encouragement.

Once my uncle and his friend had completed the race they came back to the Commodore for a shower and celebratory drinks! Where the manager came and congratulated my uncle on his race personally.

As a hotel the Commodore is very well situated, close to the V & A Waterfront. There are an abundance of things to do and see within walking distance. If you are wanting to go further a field the Concierge is more than willing to assist you with your arrangements. You are always welcomed with a smile and the porters are friendly and efficient whether it be fetching your car or getting the lift. The restaurant is well set up and the food is tasty and well presented. The rooms are very comfortable and we have always had enough space for my hubbies bike without feeling cramped.

All in all I would recommend the Commodore without reservation to anyone visiting Cape Town.

Room Tip: The suites have to best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    530
    148
    47
    22
See reviews for
148
473
78
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great hotel in a very good location especially close to The Waterfront. Rooms were good but cleaning was only average and I had to call cleaner back again to clean bathroom. Breakfast was only average and the choice was quite limited.
I got hassled by a drunk lady at the bar one night!

My experience was totally ruined after my watch was stolen from my room. This ruined my holiday and left a bad taste. Although most of my valuables were in the safe I left my watch out one day without thinking and it disappeared.
The management were reasonably proactive but no offer of compensation or price reduction was offered and no apology from anyone either! So BEWARE they have a thief amidst their staff, vigilence is required if you stay here.

Room Tip: Some rooms look out onto the wall of another building so ask for a room with at least some sort of v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The commodore is a very nice 4 star hotel. Situated very close to the waterfront (couple of hundred meters), this hotel is ideally situated for business and holiday travel. I stayed here for one night in March 2013 and found the experience to be very pleasant. The staff is professional and the room was what one would expect from a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrit777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I think the thing with this hotel is you have to know what you are getting. You are paying for the location. It's in a great safe area in the V&A dock. If you want to pay 4 or 5 times the price you will get an amazing hotel fully refurbished with the same location. For me this hotel has proven to be a good compromise on price offering great value.

The staff have all been friendly, there was a little bother checking into my room (which I could have done without at 9 pm after travelling for 26 hours) but staff were very apologetic. I changed rooms on day two to a top floor room with views of table mountain and the docks. Both rooms were the same aside the view.

The beds are comfy and furniture is fine and relatively new. If I owned this hotel I would invest in upgrading the bathrooms which by now seem about 10 - 15 years old and very dated.

I would also probably put wooden floors in the bedrooms at that would be it. But then they could and probably would charge 4 or 5 times what they do now!

Given that I stayed for 6 nights for less than $1000 AUD and had breakfast every day, friendly service and amazing views I would highly recommend this hotel. Worth noting that its best to approach the hotel direct for rates, even though the website is crap and you have to email to get a rate they are much cheaper than expedia etc.

That said if you have $500+ a night to spend burning a hole in your pocket, go elsewhere...

Room Tip: Ask for a room on level 5 or 6 facing Cable Mountain (odd numbered rooms )
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3eef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

With just a little improvement, this hotel would be brilliant. We arrived early from an overnight flight and had emailed ahead so that staff would be expecting this. We still had to wait for several hours before being taken to our room. Other guests arriving with us were accommodated much quicker and we were given no apologies/updates whilst we waited. It left us feeling very aggrieved after an exhausting journey. The room had a view over Table Mountain but would benefit from updating - a flat screen tv and separate shower would help. Housekeeping could be better - mini bar empty and short on towels/toiletries during our stay. BUT, excellent breakfasts and the waiting staff were friendly and helpful. V. good location and with more attention to detail, this would be a good hotel for tourists as well as business customers.

Room Tip: A higher floor with a view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RubynLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I had the pleasure of spending a few hours at the Commodore for a business meeting. The tasteful elegance welcomes you to a calm respite from the bustle of the city. Cosy spaces with comfortable seating creates pockets of space for quiet conversation. The staff were very helpful and friendly and most importantly not intrusive. I especially enjoyed the individually packaged biscuits served with the delicious coffee. The time spent there passed very quickly, a pleasure I look forward to repeating often.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChavonnesMUSEUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Commodore for five nights whilst visiting Cape Town. Great location for the V & A Waterfront.Rooms were spacious, very clean, no complaints at all, the only problem we came across was with the Wifi it wouldn't work on the 6th floor. would certainly recommend this hotel and would have no hesitation in staying again

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank June G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#42 of 106 in Cape Town Central
692 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 106 in Cape Town Central
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#21 of 106 in Cape Town Central
2,065 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commodore

Property: The Commodore
Address: Portwood Rd | Portswood Square, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#40 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commodore 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Victoria & Alfred waterfront; panoramic views of Table Mountain & the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commodore Hotel Cape Town Central
Commodore Hotel Cape Town
Commodore Cape Town
The Commodore Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing