We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and Relaxing with Excellent Service”
Review of The Commodore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Commodore
Ranked #44 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Sakon Nakhon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Elegant and Relaxing with Excellent Service”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I spent one night at the Commodore while on a business trip. It was an excellent stay after very long overseas flight. The hotel is a bit dated but well maintained and elegantly decorated. It is very quiet; I slept well and heard no noise from adjoining rooms or hallways. The staff were professional and very pleasant...every last one of them. They even laughed at my jokes!
The food in the restaurant was good. The service was excellent. Room service was very fast, much faster than average. The breakfast buffet was delicious and there was a wide array to choose from; definitely a better than average breakfast buffet.
It was the professional and very helpful attitude of the hotel staff that made the biggest impression on me. I will definitely return to the Commodore when in Cape town again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SakonShawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    569
    158
    47
    24
See reviews for
164
509
84
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel at the end of a cruise, the public rooms have a lovely nautical theme. It is very conveniently situated for acces to the vibrant waterfront area but is an oasis of peace and tranquility. The courtyard is a lovely place to have a great breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the ladies on the tour desk who arranged some great tours for us to the wine district and to the Cape. When the taxi to the airport which we had prebooked via our travel agent didn't arrive she got us one in less than 5 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMOGtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I wrote a review previously about this hotel that it was old and average but with a good location.

However that was before I discovered that $200 were stolen from the safe box of my room. 4 of my friends in other rooms had money and stuff (sunglasses) stolen from their safes as well.

This is unacceptable in any hotel. What makes the Commodore worse is that the management team has not been responsive to any of my husband's email asking them to investigate the matter. Outrageous!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank basmaberti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanderMerwe, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are truly sorry that you feel the way you do about the Commodore Hotel. I assure you in no way do negate from dealing with any reported incident as we regard such matters as very serious and despite the regrettably impression you have of us, we do have your interest at heart at all times.

I personally deal with all incident reports at the Commodore Hotel and I am not aware of any such reports as you described below. Could your husband please contact me directly as it is important to us that the matter is dealt with properly.

Furthermore, the statement you made about "things" going missing from the safes in our rooms, is not true and not based on facts, in any way. We offer electronic safes in every room that can only be opened by a unique pin code entered by you. Any discrepancies can be investigated through a log report printed from the memory of the electronic lock. This printout shows every single entry, attempted entry, failed entry and override, and according to my records no such investigations have taken place for a very long time.

If you need any assistance with any pending matter that you feel we have not dealt with appropriately, please call me or send us a mail at commodore@legacyhotels.com and I will respond to you immediately.
I assure you of our best intentions at all times.
Yours Sincerely,

Japie van der Merwe
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Very convenient walk to the V&A Waterfront complex filled with shops, restaurants, craft market, & entertainment. Only 3.5 kms from Green Market Sq in city centre by taxi. Rooms, with balcony, on higher floors facing east have views of Table Mountain & Waterfront West Quay. Excellent comfort in rooms with all amenities. Very good spread for breakfast with a nice courtyard available. Friendly staff all round with prompt service, efficient front desk, & valet service for rental cars. Easy walk to Oceans Aquarium & Red or Blue Bus Tours. Table Mountain cable car & Signal Hill hill about 20 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Humouresque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2013

It is a good choice because it is walking distance to the University of Cape Town Graduate School. It is also walking distance to Waterfront, a tourist hub. The staff is nice and accomodating. Their breakfast selection is the usual but I dont think their breads are fresh.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel itself isn´t bad and the location is great, just 3 minutes walking distance from the Waterfront.
However there are a couples of issues. First of all, my sister was in a non-smoking floor with 2 children and the guests next door kept smoking making the corridor and the rooms next to it really filled with tabaco fumes. First the reception lady was quite rude saying it wasn´t true and then finally admitting that it was hard for them to do something. After speaking to management, although nice, nothing was solved. The guests kept smoking and we kept being bothered by it.

The worst thing that happen was that a 100USD were stolen from my room. We put it in a wallett, when for breakfast and when we came back they had looked inside our wallet, and put in a "security envelope". However, they have to look inside the wallet to do this, which in my opinion is highly questionable and not at all pleasing. And when we opened the envelope the rands were all there but the 100 USD missing. We talked to management that said they would look into it. We tried to get a response... however 2 days later and check-out time, they said they would contact us by e-mail on the that same day. it´s been 2 days and still no e-mail and no money..!! Very poorly handeled.

Room Tip: Choose higher floored room for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana Mikaela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanderMerwe, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is with regret that we read your comment and referral to an unsolved, reported incident. We will have no choice but to respond accordingly.

The procedure that has been put in place, when placing all your valuables in an envelope / bag, is there for your protection as well as my staff’s. The room attendants are not comfortable with servicing guest rooms when cash is exposed and left all over the room, like with your case. I don’t think guests always understand what we as hotel employees go through when accused of stealing.

After receiving your report, 4 of our team members (including management) were subjected to intensive investigation, including polygraph tests, and all 4 staff members showed no deception indicated.

Furthermore, we have signage, documentation and various other notices and disclaimers in the Hotel, urging guests to make use of the electronic safes provided. You did not make use of this facility. The Commodore Hotel and its employees and/or any of its or its holding Company’s representatives cannot accept any responsibility for any loss or damage of any sort whatsoever, especially if the provided safety measures are not being utilized.

I assure you in no way did we try and violate your privacy or upset you in any way. We only had good intentions and your interest at heart, at all times.

Regarding the smoking on your floor, please accept our sincerest apologies. We are in the process of changing the Hotel to completely smoke – free environment however the process is quite lengthy and also costly. I trust this will be done and finalised within the 6 months.

As per our recent communication, should you wish to discuss this matter any further you are more than welcome to contact me directly as you already have all my details.

Yours Sincerely,

Japie van der Merwe
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights instead of 7 nights when We visited Cape Town. Only reason we booked here was because its part of the Legacy group. Sad to mention the service and ambience of the hotel lets down the whole Legacy group. Rooms are very small and VERY old fashioned. We also found cockroaches in the room. They really need to upgrade. Location wise it's perfect as its a short walk to the Waterfront mall. please upgrade.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nabskk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#58 of 109 in Cape Town Central
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,498 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commodore

Property: The Commodore
Address: Portwood Rd | Portswood Square, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commodore 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Victoria & Alfred waterfront; panoramic views of Table Mountain & the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commodore Hotel Cape Town Central
Commodore Hotel Cape Town
Commodore Cape Town
The Commodore Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing