We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff - Thank Jeremy Floris”
Review of The Commodore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Commodore
Ranked #42 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Staff - Thank Jeremy Floris”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

When it comes to Audio Visual one often experiences headaches - especially when it is a last minute requests with doctors for a conference.

This morning we had such a request for a projector - and within ten minutes Jeremy and his staff had us all sorted out. I've been in this game for 15 years and seldomly get this kind of service. Friendly, fast, proffesional and gracious.

So thanks very much Jeremy -you saved the day!

Kind regards

Luke
Owner - Optivote SA

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    554
    154
    47
    23
See reviews for
157
496
83
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
160 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Big hotel, situated just at the V&A waterfront, lively center, 5 minutes’ walk from 'den anker' – Belgian restaurant and beer bar… but be sure to check out Long Street, if you’re looking for a good night out.
super helpful, friendly staff. rooms somehow dated but good value for money

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VK019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

On the plus side the Commodore Hotel (and it's owned-by-the-same-group neighbour the Portswood Hotel) are well located an easy walk away from Capetowns Waterfront. The Commodore goes for a nautical theme in its common rooms and pretty much gets away with it. There's a pleasant bar serving locally brewed beer (which isn't as common as you'd expect in Capetown hotels) and a reasonable restaurant although the latter lacks a bit of ambiance. Perhaps the nicest part of the hotel is the centre courtyard garden near the pool which is great for breakfast or an evening drink. There's also a fair gym with one of each of a number of machines and a set of free weights.

Where the hotel falls down though, at least based on my experience of the 5th floor, is the rooms. They feel very dated and the carpet and fittings are significantly worn in places. The furniture was functional but again quite old. The whole floor smelt of smoke when I arrived and my [non-smoking] room was worse. It turned out the smell was from the curtains which open on to a small balcony and which a succession of guests had obviously enjoyed a few thousand cigarettes the smoke from which was absorbed by the curtains. To be fair the hotel did provide an air freshening device for me but they really need to dry clean the curtains to really address the problem.

The air conditioning is of the American "individual in room unit" kind. Once the staff got mine to work it did its job but these machines are noisy and not a good choice if you're a light sleeper.

Finally this hotel is amazingly popular with large groups which can change the atmosphere in an instant and something to be aware of. It is well located but not a hotel that I'm ever going to consider a favourite.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby S.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed for a week on business. The location is excellent, just a block off the waterfront with easy access to the Red Bus and city bus services, which will take you anywhere you need to go. The staff was also excellent and always willing to help.

My room was comfortable, but a bit dated (particularly the bathroom) and small. I did have a great view of Table Mountain though.

The included breakfast buffet was very good, albeit a little crowded on the mornings when large tour groups were there, which was 4 of the 7 mornings I was there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanderMerwe, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and feedback on your recent stay at the Commodore Hotel, V&A Waterfront, Cape Town.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us during your business trip to the Mother City. Thank you also for your constructive criticism regarding the rooms. We have embarked on quite a few projects all around the Hotel, in an attempt to improve the overall experience at our Hotel. We are therefore confident that with your next visits, over the next couple of months, you will be pleased with the improvements.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Japie van der Merwe
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Five stars (may be four stars) hotel is in VA water front area. The hotel location is convenient near the harbor, shopping center, restaurants, and red bus city tour. A park is not far too, about 20 min walk. Once reached the park, the other end of the park is the ocean. It is nice to walk along the ocean side walk. The rooms are of five stars standards and modern style relatively large. The Check-in and checkout is easy without any hassle. The breakfast is excellent with variety of choices. Staff is very friendly and speaks good English.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PANAM-Air
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanderMerwe, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued feedback and kind words. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Japie van der Merwe
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I recently stayed The Commodore in Cape Town. Great location very close to the Harbor. Friendly staff top to bottom, clean rooms and there was free wifi in the rooms. I would gladly recommend this hotel to family and friends. The view from the balcony was great. We had a great view of Table Mountain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muneer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanderMerwe, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us at the Commodore Hotel, V&A Waterfront, Cape Town.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Japie van der Merwe
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

hotel is completely dissappointing.we were in honeymoon and they gave us the most noisy and bad view room when we said it to hotel managet she said she cant do anything! Thanks for such a terrible hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gunesisikci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanderMerwe, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the delay in responding.

It is however very difficult to respond to such regretful feedback afterwards as i was not aware of your concerns during your stay. I can however assure you that we always try and go "all out" for guests on honeymoon and apologise if you did not feel this way.

Please contact me next time you are in Cape Town as we would appreciate another opportunity to host you as our valued guest and provide you with the service that we are so proud of.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours Sincerely,

Japie van der Merwe
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#45 of 109 in Cape Town Central
719 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#60 of 109 in Cape Town Central
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,689 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commodore

Property: The Commodore
Address: Portwood Rd | Portswood Square, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commodore 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Victoria & Alfred waterfront; panoramic views of Table Mountain & the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commodore Hotel Cape Town Central
Commodore Hotel Cape Town
Commodore Cape Town
The Commodore Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing