We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On second thoughts, maybe one CAN polish a Richard” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Commodore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Commodore
Ranked #41 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“On second thoughts, maybe one CAN polish a Richard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

My latest stay was for nearly a week; again on my own, on business. I actually really enjoyed it this time. Maybe it's because September is off-season; the hotel's quieter and there's no need to use the deafening aircon. I'm also pretty sure I got a bigger room.

My longer stay also meant I got a bit more engaged with the hotel; trying the restaurant for dinner, the bar in the evening and the gym. All were good and the bar/restaurant/minibar prices are sensible.

By and large I'd stick by my previous review. However, whilst the physical aspects of the hotel infrastructure are underwhelming, there are plenty of people here doing a great job at making your stay enjoyable. The housekeeping's excellent, the bar/restaurant staff are cheerful and it's impossible to walk through the lobby without being wished good morning/afternoon. Oh, and free WiFi too - a bigs thumbs up for Legacy for living in the 21st century.

I think I'm starting to really like the Commodore. It might not be the best hotel in Cape Town, but I'd be surprised if there are many that are better value. I'm certainly going to stick with it for now.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oolon_Colluphid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanderMerwe, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay and most importantly, commenting on the positive experience you had this time around. The service you experienced is what we are proud of and we are delighted to know that we will see you again.

With regards to the physical aspects of the Hotel, we have embarked on quite a few projects over the next few months that will add to the overall experience at our Hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact me during your next visit and I will gladly tell you all about it.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Japie van der Merwe
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    516
    143
    45
    20
See reviews for
142
460
76
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Nice full service hotel, with an english feel to it (woodworks/ fireplace). We enjoyed the lounge, a good breakfast and there's a pretty good fitness room+ pool (too cold in September).
It takes a short 5mins walk to go to the waterfront. During daytime that is totally fine. We walked there at night time- which I wouldn't repeat if I was travelling single.

Our room on the streetside was a bit noisy (traffic outside)- I would recommand to ask for a room facing the seaside or facing table mountain.

Room Tip: Our room was a little small yet OK. The streetside however was a somewhat noisy (traffic outside)- I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmaria v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanderMerwe, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at the Commodore Hotel, V&A Waterfront, Cape Town.

We are delighted to hear that your overall experience was positive and we trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Japie van der Merwe
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Nice hotel with nice room(s). Good food, and close to city center. Waterfront was only 3 minutes walk away with all fasilities. On waterfront the food was great, and cheap. All from seafood restaurants to the best beef.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanderMerwe, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your positive experience at the Commodore Hotel, V&A Waterfront, Cape Town. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Hotel and also our beautiful City.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Japie van der Merwe
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This Hotel was a great base for our stay in Cape Town. Our room faced onto the Mountain which was very good. The staff were very friendly and alwasy wiiling to help. Booking tours was very easy through the tarvel desk. The hotel is about a five minute walk from teh V&A waterfront which is good for dining out in the evening. It was very safe to walk from the hotel to dinner at night.
The hotel is dated but very clean. Breakfast is very good especially if included in your room rate. I would definitley stay here again.

Room Tip: As for a room that looks towards the mountain but higher than the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaffaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanderMerwe, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your positive experience at the Commodore Hotel, V&A Waterfront, Cape Town. It is always a pleasure to receive such kind words and I will be sure to share them with the rest of the Team.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Japie van der Merwe
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I couldn't access my room for half an hour due to a faulty lock; then had to put up with constant interruptions while maintenance tried to fix it, including unannounced entry while trying to use the bathroom. Staff showed no understanding. Toilet didn't flush. Kettle broken. Minibar empty. Shower leaks all over bathroom floor. Air conditioning noisy and ineffective. Walls paper thin so that every sound in adjoining rooms heard loudly. Will never stay at hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erkimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanderMerwe, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to explain your very unfortunately experience at The Commodore Hotel. Such feedback we are certainly not proud of and would like the opportunity to welcome you back and restore your faith in us, as we do pride ourselves in the level of service we deliver.

We were not made aware of your bad experiences whilst in house and as a result I am having difficulties trying to track your reservation down.

I would appreciate it if you could contact us, so that I can get more details from you and resolve the matter soonest.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely,

Japie van der Merwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

This hotel was great value for money and we had a room with a small balcony that overlooked table mountain which was great.

The hotel is a little tired but it had everything we needed and it is certainly worth getting a room with the view.

The location is very close to the restaurants and shops - just a short walk down the road which felt pretty safe at all times.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of table mountain - well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn3777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanderMerwe, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback on your recent stay at the Commodore Hotel, V&A Waterfront, Cape Town.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to wecloming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,

Japie van der Merwe
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Having stayed 11 nights at this hotel as a base for our holiday I can thoughly recommend it. Excellent breakfast (and coffee) seems to be the universal comment. The restaurant also served excellent food in nice surroundings which was cheaper than the V&A waterfront. The tea and coffee in the lounge was great, especially in front of the fire; it was the South African winter.Staff were so friendly and the manager was very attentive and nothing was too much trouble.
For proximity to the waterfront, two oceans aquarium, hop on hop off bus ect it couldn't be in a better position and we had a stunning view of Table Mountain from our bedroom window.
All our trips were superb, the only blot being Robben Island which dispite the weather conditions being good was constantly cancelled and our experience showed it poorly run with many disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanderMerwe, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at the Commodore Hotel, V&A Waterfront, Cape Town. We will as always pass on the positive feedback to the Team.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved our City. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Yours Sincerely,

Japie van der Merwe
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#42 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#58 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,032 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commodore

Property: The Commodore
Address: Portwood Rd | Portswood Square, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commodore 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Victoria & Alfred waterfront; panoramic views of Table Mountain & the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commodore Hotel Cape Town Central
Commodore Hotel Cape Town
Commodore Cape Town
The Commodore Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing