We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of The Commodore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Commodore
Ranked #43 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Nice hotel with nice room(s). Good food, and close to city center. Waterfront was only 3 minutes walk away with all fasilities. On waterfront the food was great, and cheap. All from seafood restaurants to the best beef.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanderMerwe, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your positive experience at the Commodore Hotel, V&A Waterfront, Cape Town. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Hotel and also our beautiful City.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Japie van der Merwe
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

887 - 893 of 1,316 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

This Hotel was a great base for our stay in Cape Town. Our room faced onto the Mountain which was very good. The staff were very friendly and alwasy wiiling to help. Booking tours was very easy through the tarvel desk. The hotel is about a five minute walk from teh V&A waterfront which is good for dining out in the evening. It was very safe to walk from the hotel to dinner at night.
The hotel is dated but very clean. Breakfast is very good especially if included in your room rate. I would definitley stay here again.

Room Tip: As for a room that looks towards the mountain but higher than the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaffaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanderMerwe, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your positive experience at the Commodore Hotel, V&A Waterfront, Cape Town. It is always a pleasure to receive such kind words and I will be sure to share them with the rest of the Team.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Japie van der Merwe
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I couldn't access my room for half an hour due to a faulty lock; then had to put up with constant interruptions while maintenance tried to fix it, including unannounced entry while trying to use the bathroom. Staff showed no understanding. Toilet didn't flush. Kettle broken. Minibar empty. Shower leaks all over bathroom floor. Air conditioning noisy and ineffective. Walls paper thin so that every sound in adjoining rooms heard loudly. Will never stay at hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erkimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanderMerwe, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to explain your very unfortunately experience at The Commodore Hotel. Such feedback we are certainly not proud of and would like the opportunity to welcome you back and restore your faith in us, as we do pride ourselves in the level of service we deliver.

We were not made aware of your bad experiences whilst in house and as a result I am having difficulties trying to track your reservation down.

I would appreciate it if you could contact us, so that I can get more details from you and resolve the matter soonest.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely,

Japie van der Merwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This hotel was great value for money and we had a room with a small balcony that overlooked table mountain which was great.

The hotel is a little tired but it had everything we needed and it is certainly worth getting a room with the view.

The location is very close to the restaurants and shops - just a short walk down the road which felt pretty safe at all times.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of table mountain - well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn3777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanderMerwe, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback on your recent stay at the Commodore Hotel, V&A Waterfront, Cape Town.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to wecloming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,

Japie van der Merwe
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Having stayed 11 nights at this hotel as a base for our holiday I can thoughly recommend it. Excellent breakfast (and coffee) seems to be the universal comment. The restaurant also served excellent food in nice surroundings which was cheaper than the V&A waterfront. The tea and coffee in the lounge was great, especially in front of the fire; it was the South African winter.Staff were so friendly and the manager was very attentive and nothing was too much trouble.
For proximity to the waterfront, two oceans aquarium, hop on hop off bus ect it couldn't be in a better position and we had a stunning view of Table Mountain from our bedroom window.
All our trips were superb, the only blot being Robben Island which dispite the weather conditions being good was constantly cancelled and our experience showed it poorly run with many disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanderMerwe, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at the Commodore Hotel, V&A Waterfront, Cape Town. We will as always pass on the positive feedback to the Team.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved our City. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Yours Sincerely,

Japie van der Merwe
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My grandma would have loved this hotel. However, she passed away about 25 years ago.
Likes: proximity to the V&A Waterfront, very friendly staff, excellent breakfast but ignore the filthy coffee and tea (instead ask for an excellent espresso or hot water - tea bags are available), large rooms, in-room safe deposit box easily takes 2 laptops and my photo gear, large new TV set, in-room coffee and tea making facilities.
Dislikes: flimsy balcony doors that cannot deal with cold and strong winds, outdated bathroom styled in the late 70s with a narrow bathtub (no separate shower), often painfully slow Internet connection, mediocre seats in the room, huge pool is outside so inappropriate for winter use, bit overpriced.

Room Tip: If it's windy, the rooms that overlook the waterfront can be chilly because the balcony doors ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_Cage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanderMerwe, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and detailed experience at The Commodore Hotel, V&A Waterfront, Cape Town. Your feedback really assists us in knowing our guests and what they like and dislike about our Hotel.

We have embarked on quite a few projects to enhance the overall experience at our Hotels in the Waterfront and I am sure during the next few months, you will be pleasantly surprised with the improvements.

We pride ourselves in delivering the highest level of service to all our guests and I trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Japie van der Merwe
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Unless you have an unlimited bank account that allows you to stay at the Table Bay or Cape Grace Hotels, you can't pick a better spot than The Commodore in terms of being close to the V&A Waterfront.

It's a two-minute walk and also has unobscured views of Table Mountain if you have a room at the back of hotel.

The food is very good and the bar is very homely, with a log fire and comfortable sofas from which to watch the sport on TV.

The only downside is that the rooms now look slightly tired and in need of modernising, but that is purely a aesthetic issue -- there is no problem with comfort or space.

But if you like wall-mounted plasmas and wet rooms, you need to be somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you want a view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Euro327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanderMerwe, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at The Commodore Hotel, in the V&A Waterfront, Cape Town. Your feedback will go along way in assisting with our staff training and motivation programs in place and also knowing what our guests enjoy about our beautiful Hotel.

We have embarked on various projects to improve the overall experience at the Commodore Hotel and I am sure with your next visit, you will notice a great improvement .

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Commodore Hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,

Japie van der Merwe
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,577 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,046 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 110 in Cape Town Central
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commodore

Address: Portwood Rd | Portswood Square, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#40 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $203 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commodore 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Victoria & Alfred waterfront; panoramic views of Table Mountain & the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commodore Hotel Cape Town Central
Commodore Hotel Cape Town
Commodore Cape Town
The Commodore Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing