We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Views from this Hotel”
Review of The Ritz Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz Cape Town
Ranked #95 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views from this Hotel”
Reviewed September 28, 2009

First time in Cape Town therefore was a little anxious about going and what the standard the hotel would be at, especially for how cheap it was! Three of us shared a room on the 6th floor of this tall hotel.The reception area was freezing cold when we got there!! They left all the doors open and I had no idea how they could work with it being so cold in there. The staff were friendly on arrival even though we arrived late at night.
Rooms:
We paid for a triple. The room was basic and massive great big windows looking out to the back mountains. Rooms a bit cold but you can change the temp. Beds average. The room cost us £25 each for 4 nights so we didnt complain!!!
Amenitites:
The swimming pool was being refurbed when we arrived. So it should be in a good state now. We didnt try any other amenities but the bar on the top floor (just go for the views and a glass of southern Cape Wine). The bar on the bottom floor was close to reception and therefore freezing! The bar snacks in this hotel was a little bowl of salted popcorn (different!!)
Location:
This hotel is fairly close to the airport, a short 15-20 min taxi ride (watch the taxi drivers apparently they can spot your Englishness from a mile off and charge you massive rates). The hotel had some good restaurants close to it. ALso you MUST try the revolving restaurant. The food is good, brilliant ambience with a friendly piano man! Great puds (try the chocolate fondue). In town we visited a lovely restaurant called The Africa Cafe (must eat at!). The hotel is also close (within walking distance to the beach and longer walk to the V&A waterfront - where there are endless restaurants). One tip.....when we arrived we were advised to get taxi's places because areas of cape town are rough!
They can organise trips for you from the hotel however I would recommend doing this online beforehand as you save lots more mney this way!
Overall:
If your looking for cheap and cheerful this is a good bet. Comfortable and friendly. Good food in restaurant. However, if going in winter....take your scarf for the bar / reception areas. (see my photos in my photo section on Cape Town)

  • Liked — The Views
  • Disliked — The cold!!!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyBxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    233
    204
    106
    128
See reviews for
124
262
94
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

Stayed at the Ritz Sept 5th ( 5 days) & Sept 16th (5 days) with a drive on the Garden Route in between. Found the staff to be friendly, pleasant, and if you had a request and they could not carry it out they would find somebody who could. The bar staff were great (Collin), Reception pleasant and informative, cleaning staff did a good job, and the Restarant Staff on Top Floor excetional (had 3 meals there the food was excellent, and the Restaurant Manager went out of his way to explain Game dishes etc.)

As previous comments have stated , yes the rooms were dated and a bit run down, but we found our room to be big and airy with all the essentials in them working ok.

The Location was ideal , a short Taxi ride to the waterfront at night-time (let the Hotel book the Taxis for you). A short step and you are in seapoint-greenpoint(lovely daylight walks) If you want a Hotel somewhere just to put your head down after all the sightseeing in and around Cape Town with a good breakfast a clean room and a good Restaurant, given what we paid, yes I would recommend the Ritz-you pay for what you get-Good value for Money

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudolph181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2009

On arrival at the hotel the staff were friendly and helpful.

The hotel itself is very old, according to one of the staff it is over 40 years old. The hotel is showing signs of age and this is clearly evident in the fabric and structure of the building. For many nights the hotel was fully booked but clearly the large revenue being generated is not being spent on refurbishment in the more important areas.

Sea Point and Three Anchors Bay is not the most attractive of locations but I would consider it to be completely safe. It is easy to acces from the airport and the exceptional V&A waterfront is literally a 2-3 minute drive away with fantastic restaurants and shopping opportunities.

The Rooms: We had two economy rooms for 10 nights, bedding was very clean and rooms were always kept tidy. The bathrooms however are a different story altogether.
These rooms are tired and neglected, tiling had been replaced with tiling of a completely different colour. Sealant is old and mouldy and the decor was very dark, here a complete overhaul is required.

Noise is easily heard from out in the passageways and adjacent rooms, if you want peace and quiet-forget it!

The carpets on the second floor leading to our room were dirty and worn, large stains were evident and had been there for some time. No attempts were made to clean this up either.

The breakfast is vast and takes place in a large and very noisy restaurant on the first floor next to the swimming pool deck. The pool area is smart , attractive and well maintained. Breakfast itself is vast, with much choice but there is evidence of some foods being put out well past its best, we did not enjoy it at all.

We had an unfortunate incident at the hotel (suicide) which we caught part of, check out the cracked tile to the right of the entrance to the pool and visible from the hot food servery. That combined with the poor state of the hotel and associated distress, we moved down to Hermanus for three days to get a break.

The restaurant on the top floor serves excellent food, the meat and fish is cooked to perfection. The ostrich colonial style was exceptional.

Overall: The only highlights are the rotaing restaurant on the 22nd floor and the pool area. If you want a budget break with the most basic accommodation then you will get it. It is extremely close to the new world cup stadium being built and construction is going on all around you, roads are very congested at present. Table mountain is very close by as well. You will get what you pay for so be careful what you wish for with the Ritz.

I could not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMSmithCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purley
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

We stayed in the Ritz for 2 nights in August and 7 nights in September.
The hotel was clean, the staff were friendly and very helpful and the breakfasts were great - buffet style with plenty of choice. The hotel in my view was great value.
Only problem we had was when a storm (strong winds and driving rain) hit Cape Town and we found that two of the windows in our room didn't fit properly - a maintenance guy came to our room immediately to try and solve the problem, but when he couldn't solve it, we were offerred another room, so problem resolved.
The rooms do vary - some only have a shower, others have bath and shower and rooms have either double or twin beds, so make sure you ask for what you want.
Location suited us for this trip - but just be aware that Main Road near the Green Point stadium is currently a building site as well as a red light district, so may be best to avoid walking that route at night! Taxis were easy to get.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusyPPurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

the hotels rates were attractive, the rooms were tired and needed a lift. however the buffet breakfast was terribly good. On the downside the room service took two hours, and ended up giving me and my spouse food poisoning!!!! not a recommended hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelic046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Dublin,Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

We stayed here for a week and booked online at hotels.com. The price attracted us really and we thought well we wouldn't be spending a lot of time there so what the heck. The place is just very tired and could do with upgrading. The sink in our room was cracked, the electrics were dowright dangerous especially with a toddler in the place and the walls paper thin! The breakfast was good and as many people have said the staff were hit and miss depending on who you got. The other half was spitting feathers when he went into the bar and asked for a jug of tap water and they wanted R10! This is cheap and not very cheerful. Try the B&Bs!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dublinmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2009

great location near V&A waterfront great views from higher floors. for the price charged it is a very good choice. rooms small and dated but if using only for sleeping it is all you need. buffet breakfast has a very good variety. the evening buffet has a good selection and priced fair. if you are returning from a day of active sightseeing the buffet is a good choice. staff was friendly and helpful. when return to capetown will stay at ritz again even if it is a little old.. building tallest in area so easy to find.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lspeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#59 of 109 in Cape Town Central
372 reviews
Winchester Mansions
#27 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,047 reviews
The One 8 Hotel
#45 of 109 in Cape Town Central
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cascades on the Promenade
#42 of 109 in Cape Town Central
385 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#39 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,280 reviews
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#40 of 109 in Cape Town Central
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz Cape Town

Property: The Ritz Cape Town
Address: Corner Main & Camberwell Roads | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Cape Town Ritz Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ritz Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off Sea Point's vibrant promenade and a short distance from the beach and the V&A Waterfront lies the landmark Ritz. Iconic and rich in history with magnificent views of the ocean and city, The Ritz has held it's prideful place for 45 years. Inspired by exclusive and design driven accessible luxury, The Ritz is being reconstructed to unveil unparalleled luxury. Opening Early 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Ritz
The Ritz Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing